We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go again, which we will!”
Review of Bettyhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bettyhill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bettyhill
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go again, which we will!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed there last week and we may have been their last guests of the season, but we were treated like valued friends returning again :).

The hotel views, rooms and furnishings are at a very high standard, nice and well maintained and the service from the teams fantastic.

We had dinner in their pub restaurant and it was extremely good, and their full breakfasts are amazing to overlook the beach/sea divine.

Can't say enough nice about the property and can guarantee I'll be back there soon when next in the area without question!

Room Tip: Book well in advance and ask for a view room….
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S6blr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    77
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
39
142
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redcar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying here for three nights in early September. We were allocated an excellent, spacious room with a view to die for. The breakfasts were superb; in the dining room with that view again. Had a meal in the dining room, one night and had a bar meal on another: both were excellent. The hotel is currently owned by a lovely family, who obviously love their place in the North Highlands. They have been extremely busy renovating it and are doing a great job. It is a lovely place to stay in a stunningly beautiful location. We will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front will all have superb views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Whilst touring north Scotland I called at this Hotel without a reservation. I was given a very warm welcome by Carl and Gabby, and I was even invited to put my bike in a large tent behind the Hotel. Nice room with an excellent view over the bay. Very comfortable clean bed and a good shower too. Great food and great hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dave1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed five nights with friends and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room and bathroom were spacious, comfortable and clean. Our room overlooked the bay which was a wonderful sight to wake up to. The owners are always around and are pleasant and extremely helpful. The food was straight-forward and of a very good standard. A starter of Prawns with chilli and lime mayo was fantastic, as was Calvados apples with Black Pudding. Steak pie, lasagne, and fish and chips didn't disappoint. It is my understanding that they will soon be offering a more sophisticated menu in the Eilean Neave Restaurant, while continuing to offer the current menu. The young chef is talented and enthusiastic, so I can only believe it will be a success.
A great location just across from the bay, and there is a very well stocked shop and petrol station in the village.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eljin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My Husband and I stay here as part of our whistle stop tour of the Highlands. The scenery around the hotel was breathtaking. The room was cosey and had a lovely view. The staff within the hotel were very polite, helpful and attentive. Food was very nice, only negative - could do with a greater selection on the menu perhaps. Overall a pleasant stay. Would come back again.

Room Tip: Lovely area to visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

After a long day travelling around Scotland, we were greeted by a friendly hostess who showed us to our room. We arrived late but we were still able to have a meal - the staff were very accommodating. The food was great and at a great price. The room was great and comfortable and breakfast in the morning was delicious. The lady who owned the hotel is an asset to the hotel. Very lovely lady. Her son who served us at the bar was also very helpful and friendly. You get the impression that they are willing to do anything to make your stay comfortable! Brilliant place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amandacgurney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, UK
Level Contributor
172 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Overall positive, friendly staff and recently refurbished (in parts at least). Nice room and comfy beds.

Bar area fine but the menu is rather uninspiring plus there is an issue with service which I did discuss with the owner who I think is frustrated by this. I did get grumpy about waiting 25 mins for a couple of lumps of ice cream and was then told off by the bar man because I complained to the waitress. Not the end of the world but this left me feeling negative which was a shame.

But it's a great location and very handy and welcoming for cyclists so there you have it

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichardW99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bettyhill
7.7 mi away
The Tongue Hotel
The Tongue Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tongue
328 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ben Loyal Hotel
Ben Loyal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tongue
346 reviews
11.2 mi away
Melvich Hotel
Melvich Hotel
#4 of 9 in Thurso
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
293 reviews
0.7 mi away
Farr Bay Inn
Farr Bay Inn
#2 of 3 in Bettyhill
66 reviews
8.1 mi away
Strathy Inn
Strathy Inn
#1 of 2 in Strathy
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bettyhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bettyhill Hotel

Property: Bettyhill Hotel
Address: Bettyhill | Nr Thurso, Bettyhill KW14 7SP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Bettyhill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bettyhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bettyhill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bettyhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bettyhill Hotel Ltd
Ltd Hotel Bettyhill
Bettyhill Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing