We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scourie Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scourie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Scourie Guest House
Ranked #1 of 5 Scourie B&B and Inns
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Having travelled and stayed in many fine places in Scotland over the years our stay for three nights with Ken and Madeline I would consider as being the most enjoyable, and I would recommend their guest house to anyone travelling in this beautiful, wild part of the world. Their guest house is not on the existing main road through Scourie, but in the one-time village main road opposite the little store/post office., and so is very quiet there. Ken and Madeline are, similar to nearly all Scottish hosts,being extremely affable ,pleasant, and helpful, and I would endorse the innumerous other comments regarding the quality of the meals on offer there, both at breakfast time and in the evening. No visit there would be complete without enjoying an evening meal, which will likely stay in your memory for longer than your recollection of Handa Island, Smoo Cave, Cape Wrath or even Skara Brae. The room in which we stayed on the first floor, was very comfortable,and with a view of the sea, with tea making , biscuits and bottled water all readily available. Nearby , a fifteen minute walk away, is the most northerly palm tree in the world, and the village of Scourie is in a lovely setting.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    21
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
66
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Scourie Guest House for one night in June 2012.

The guest house is very well situated in the village and it is an easy walk down to the shops in the village and places to eat in the evening.

When we arrived, Ken was very polite and welcomed us before showing us through to our room which was the ensuite double downstairs. We weren't staying for dinner but Ken was able to give us some good recommendations for places to eat locally and he was very helpful.

The room that we were in (room #1 on the ground floor) was very well appointed. There was a small fridge in the room which was a really thoughtful thing to have and not something that we found elsewhere. The room had a TV and there was some home baking which was a nice touch. However, the room was the smallest that we stayed in on our trip round Scotland and the bathroom was incredibly small - you couldn't move around in it at all.

The room also had a few signs in it that we thought were rather unwelcoming in their tone. One asked guests to keep the noise down (which is a very reasonable thing to ask) but then went on to say "We ask that you respect our furniture and furnishings reminding you, that this is our house which we have chosen to share with you" - the tone implying that they didn't have to and we should be grateful. Given we were paying quite a lot for the room (similar if not slightly more to other places that we had stayed in) it really rubbed us up the wrong way!

There was another sign on the bathroom door asking guests not to wash clothes in the bathroom and stating that instead, you could pay to use the washing machine but "at a time convenient to us" i.e. at a time convenient to Ken and his wife. We're not sure why washing a few bits and pieces in the sink is such a bad thing, and again the tone of the message just left us feeling a bit unwelcome and in the way.

Before heading out to dinner, Ken asked us to specify what we would like for breakfast the next morning. This is pretty normal for B&Bs so wasn't a problem but we were then told that we could only have breakfast between 7.30 and 8.30 the next morning. We'd had to be up at 6am to catch the 7.45am ferry from Orkney that morning so we had been looking forward to having a bit of a lie in and not having breakfast until 9 or so given check out wasn't until 10am. However, that wasn't too be...

As it turned out, it was probably just as well we didn't have too late a breakfast booked as we were woken up quite early by noise so we would have been waiting in our room for quite a while. The room wasn't well soundproofed so when we went to bed in the evening we heard noises from the room upstairs when they were moving around and again in the morning when they got up. The coffee machine was in the hall immediately outside our room as well and it was very loud, so when breakfast started in the morning and someone ordered coffee, there was no way we were sleeping through it!

When we headed out to breakfast Ken was very nice to chat to and breakfast was well cooked - the poached eggs were really well done.

Overall, we had a mixed experience at the Scourie Guest House. Ken was a very polite and helpful host to chat to, breakfast was good and the room had a fridge. However, the size of the room and the lack of soundproofing meant that we didn't get a very good nights sleep. In addition to this, the tone of some of the signs in the room left us feeling a bit unwelcome and in the way.

Room Tip: We would recommend that you avoid room number 1 on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank WickedWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We happened across the Scourie Guest House whilst exploring the NW coast and were delighted with the find. Just off the main street of Scourie, the guest house is within walking distance of the local shop, pub and beach. We had a double room with en suite which was very comfortable and well appointed and even had freshly baked shortbread on arrival. Although we didn't avail of the evening meal or packed lunches that are offered (require pre booking) the breakfast was the best ever! Ken & Madeline were excellent and attentive hosts.
A treasured find that we wholeheartedly recommend - we will return when next in that part of Scotland.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stromness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed with Ken for two nights during a weeks tour of the NW Highlands in May. This little guest house is well situated in the village within walking distance of the local and a short drive to places of interest.
Our room was well appointed, clean and comfortable with fresh homebakes daily. The breakfasts were excellent with porridge to die for (with bananas and cream!) and a perfectly cooked bacon and egg with all the trimmings.
Ken was very helpful with advice on what to see and do, even booking our boat trip for us to see the waterfall of Eas a'chua Aluinn on Loch Glencoul.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orkneycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Stayed here with our nearly-two-year-old on our way round the coast from Ullapool to Thurso. Very warm welcome from the owners who offered us the choice of two rooms. We chose the double on the ground floor as this offered more space for our travel cot. The room was cosy and a little dated but with a comfortable bed and spotlessly clean throughout.

The owners were very happy to welcome our little boy and were well prepared having recently entertained their grand-children for a week! They brought out a toddler-sized chair for him to sit in and a singing dog which he found very amusing. The following morning they were happy to provide some warm milk for him and a fantastic old high chair that he could just about squeeze into.

After putting the little one to bed we sat down for dinner in the conservatory, from where we got a great view of a classic wet Scottish evening. Fortunately the meal more than made up for this with course after course of beautifully prepared and presented food. When we thought it was all over we retired to the lounge to be offered yet more hand-made cakes! An excellent meal and most unexpected in such an out-of-the-way spot.

Overall an excellent stay and highly recommend that you have the dinner too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Satsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Having had some late bookings I had to give up my room to my clients on my tour in a local hotel, but managed to find Ken's b&b. The only room available was a twin non ensuite, but the bathroom was bang opposite. The only downside was having to queue at busy times for the bathroom. The room itself was clean and airy with tea making facilities but nothing more, I.e. tv for catching the weather forecast. However free wifi from 7am- 10pm meant I could browse the net.

Service was good as were the breakfast- only minor criticism are the questions at breakfast- tea/coffee toast with, before, with or after breakfast- too early to make decisions :) . I guess, having seen the domestic kitchen timing and preparation to feed everyone is key. The car park is a little tight but then again I was in a people carrier.

Great atmosphere here, guests from around Europe engaged in conversation during breakfast in the two conservatories. Very warm friendly welcoming place and great value- if you don't mind sharing the bathroom, which was always spotless when I went in.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy_GoneBirding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

We literally knocked on the door one eve after a long days travelling. We were met by Ken, who was so welcoming and helpful and accommodatingl.
We think they even gave us their dinner as they were'nt expecting us and no where was open in the village was open to eat at. The food was amazing!!!! Everything was homemade it was fantastic. Ken and Madeline were wonderful. The room was very clean and cosy. Ken even kindly rang us to tell us we left our flask at theirs. would highly recommend this homely place.
Hope you are both well Ken and Madeline!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lopudlover83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scourie
7.7 mi away
Rhiconich Hotel
Rhiconich Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rhiconich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
14.3 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
24.1 mi away
Summer Isles Hotel
Summer Isles Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achiltibuie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Overscaig House Hotel
14.2 mi away
Park House B & B
Park House B & B
#7 of 10 in Lochinver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
20.9 mi away
Mackay's Rooms
Mackay's Rooms
#1 of 11 in Durness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scourie Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scourie Guest House

Property: Scourie Guest House
Address: 55 Scourie Village | Scourie, Scourie IV27 4TE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Scourie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Scourie
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Scourie Guest House Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing