We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Extremely Good Hotel.”
Review of Scourie Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Scourie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Scourie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scourie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This was my fourth visit to he Scourie Hotel, I stayed for 5 nights in a single room at the end of June. As on previous visits there were large numbers of guests who visit this hotel regularly, this is no surprise in such a well run hotel.
First impressions are always important, the this hotel looks welcoming by virtue of a high standard of external decoration, and well tended gardens. Inside the extensive lounges are equally welcoming, and well furnished with comfortable armchairs and settees. There are two very pleasant bars, one at the rear used mainly by locals, and the residents bar adjacent to the lounge area. A very good selection of high quality beers and cider are on offer.
Most visitors seem to book dinner bed and breakfast, and this is not surprising as the 4 course table d'hote menu is excellent in quality and choice, and remarkably good value. The wine list is extensive and moderately priced.
So it is predictable that so many customers return, I will certainly be back next year.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 157 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed for a weekend recently and had a fantastic break.

Staff were friendly, warm and could not do enough for us. Thanks to Patrick for lending us his fly box too.

The food and wine just hit the spot following a day on the lochs

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billy12380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

This hotel is in Scourie village a great base for any fishing and walking holiday. The hotel is traditionally appointed and the rooms are simple but have everything you need. The owners and all staff are very helpful polite and are responsive to requests. Breakfasts in the dining room are excellent as is the four course evening meal. You can request pack lunches for day trips which is a very nice touch. You will be greatful for the great food at night as options for miles are limited. The hotel has a very snug lounge and there is an attached public bar. Many people come here for the excellent brown trout and salmon fishing and the hotel is geared for this, if you are not a fisher person and just like the out doors its great too. There are no tvs here and this is great too as it forces you to slow down and entertain yourself. Reading, conversation, board games etc. This hotel knows what it wants to be and it achieves it in spades. Love it.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

This is the sixth time we have stayed at Scourie Hotel in recent years but our experience of it goes back over 40 years. If you are a fly fisherman and you want a really helpful, friendly and good accommodation look no further. Food is very good, lots of choice and perfect quantities after a day strolling the hills or drifting the Sutherland Lochs. A homely place for people and pets!

Room Tip: We like the annex with its own outside door, our friends liked the chalet but we don't really mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Golly_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Scourie is the place to go for those looking to fish and walk in beautiful Highland scenery. Nowhere else will you find the after dinner conversations held at this hotel - no tvs, radio or "gadgets" ensures a warm, comfortable and very sociable evening by the fire with a dram or two and sharing stories of the day's events. Would recommend calling ahead to book the lobster platter which for a small supplement can be provided (depending on season) and is well worth the wait. Generally the food is very tasty and sufficient portions after a day's walking. Patrick and Judy your hosts could not be more welcoming and will furnish you will all the information and advice you will need to make the most of your stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crawford T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

I suspect like myself most people use this hotel as a one night stop over in the highlands. Scourie itself has nothing going for it but the hotel was a nice surprise. The staff were welcoming and the service very good. As there are no tvs in the rooms,guests mingle in the lounges and play games etc, it was a nice change. The food was surprisingly good too with a nice menu. All in all a stop over that was a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrekker66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

I've been coming to this hotel since 2001 and made about 7 trips. In the spring & summer season the hotels guests are mainly fishermen & women enjoying the many hill lochs in the surrounding area. You could say the rooms are basic (no TV is a bonus I think), but they have everything you need including plenty of hot water and I've never failed to have a good nights sleep as they are plenty comfortable.
There are two major highlights to the hotel. The first thing that grabs your attention is the lounge area when you first arrive. This defines comfort and looks terrific, neither chintzy or overly modern, it just suits the hotel perfectly. At night this is the focal point of the hotel and you'll find pretty much all the guests relaxing here and chatting about their days fishing exploits. The adjacent bar is well stocked and has many of the finest fish caught mounted as trophies for all to see.
The second but equally excellent asset at the Scourie hotel is the dining room and the menu it serves. After a day on the hills you might simply want to stuff yourself with carbs but that implulse is gently avoided by the amazing menu. Sure it's not a massive menu but it changes daily and there is always something to tempt you. And after 4 courses I've never been left feeling hungry. Oh yes and the wine list is... extensive!
Facilities which inlcude an excellent drying room are good for what you need and I'd recommend using the packed lunch service - I used to cart around vast supplies of my own food which slowly went off in the car but in reality the lunches are just as good value and are of course fresh.
A further bonus is the great breakfast you can have and if you have caught a good fish the day before they'll fry it up in oatmeal for breakfast - just for you!
If you are there to fish you'll have a great time, it's tough walking but the hotel will provide detailed maps of the beats and plenty of the guests have been before so can give good advice.
You can also take your dog(s) I took mine for the first time last year and he bunked with me in the room. Many other guests take dogs and either stow them in their cars overnight or have them in the rooms too. However this isn't a problem in the hotel as mostly the dogs are too tired for capers in the evening and are very well behaved.

Room Tip: Ask for room with bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RichardRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scourie
0 mi away
The Drumbeg Hotel
The Drumbeg Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumbeg
88 reviews
0 mi away
Bettyhill Hotel
Bettyhill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bettyhill
357 reviews
0 mi away
The Tongue Hotel
The Tongue Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tongue
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
185 reviews
0 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
405 reviews
0 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scourie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scourie Hotel

Address: | Lairg, Scourie IV27 4SX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Scourie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scourie
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Family run Fishing hotel in the highlands. Perfect Stop for anyone doing the North Coast 500. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Scourie Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing