We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Dads 90th Tea Party” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Back in Time For Tea

Back in Time For Tea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $21
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Traditional tea room set in the forties, with a war time feel. Dripping on toast or bread. Home made cakes. Savouries. Soup. So much more, so why not drop in and enjoy a moment with us......
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My Dads 90th Tea Party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We recently celebrated my Dads 90th Birthday here with my mum and all of their 6 children and partners. The staff went above and beyond, to make this day as special as possible for my Dad.
It brought back many memories for both him and my mum. The warmest welcome ever and the afternoon tea was absolutely delicious. I cannot recommend it enough. It feels so welcoming.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    13
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great little cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

A real little find. This 1940's inspired cafe is great. There is even a parachute on the ceiling. Tea and coffee reasonably priced and with free top ups as well which is something maybe bigger chains could think about! The people who run it are friendly and welcoming.i will definitely go back when I am passing and would be a great place to take older relatives. It is open Thursday to Sunday.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Anita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fascinating tea shop, transported back in time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Great tea and chocolate/ caramel cake, lovely atmosphere. Very friendly owners who clearly love their enterprise and have lovingly created their own little bit of WW2 history. Have your tea surrounded by memorabilia from a by-gone age, under a canopy made from parachute silk.
Lots of reminders of your Grandma's home! Give it a try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a quaint tea room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Love this war themed tea room , the staff are so welcoming and generous too ... Hats off for a fab experience .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Priti63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
391 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“What a little treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

I had seen signs dotted around and decided to give this cafe a go for afternoon tea. What a delight. It was like going back in time and walking into my gran's lounge. The proprietor and his mum working behind the counter were charm itself. They served us with spam, jam, cucumber and corned beef sarnies with three types of cake and endless tea. For afters we had tinned fruit and evaporated milk. You could have dripping on toast too! I felt like I was 10 again. Lots of memorabilia dotted around completes the 1940s experience with Vera Lynn and friends to serenade you. Watch out for the air raid warning and dive under the table

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back in Time For Tea also viewed

Lutterworth, Leicestershire
Lutterworth, Leicestershire
 
Lutterworth, Leicestershire
Lutterworth, Leicestershire
 

Been to Back in Time For Tea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing