We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but felt rushed and unimportant.”

Dunton Bassett Arms
Ranked #18 of 48 Restaurants in Lutterworth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
1 review
“Good food but felt rushed and unimportant.”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We have used the DBA for Chinese food in the past and always been happy, and food wise this occasion was no different....BUT we arrived on time but were kept waiting for our table. The food order was taken quickly but we waiting a long time for the food to arrive (about
40 mins). When it did arrive it was very good, one of the best Hot and Sour soups I've had followed by tasty main courses with good portions, the wait for the food was forgiven but as we were letting our food settle and thinking about coffees or sweets our bill was unceremoniously slammed down on the table and we were told the table was needed, basically we were told to clear off. We will not be treated like this and despite the good food this is not the only good Chinese around Leicester, Tastes at Meridian is great and we are treated with respect so sorry DBA our night was ruined so we won't be back.

Helpful?
Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    22
    11
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
leicester
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food as always”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

As always the food was great.. Service not always with a smile and the service for drinks is usually very slow. However, this time drinks service was ok ( but we were not drinking fast and i had a bottle of wine!) Service was ok it was timely and unoffensive, but you will never get a have a nice day out of the guys here but its ok because thats just the way it is and the food is great !!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pluvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Nice food, hard seats”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Never been before but it was recommended. It was easy to find and there was plenty of parking at the back.

The DBA is quite a nice place; a dedicated dining room with the music from the bar only barely audible. We were seated at the window, and I could have done with a little more space behind me. We had been warned about the hard seating (my parents take cushions in - the shame) and didn't find it too problematic.

We too went on a Sunday evening, just a family foursome. The waitress cleaned the table as we sat at it, wiping some of the detritus into my lap. In fact if we had any issue at all, it was with the service, which we found a little on the slow side.

We had the A4 meal for four, a water, a cider, a bottle of Zinfandel, two toffee ice-creams and a Chinese tea. This cost us £68. I thought that wasn't bad value at all. Okay; there wasn't huge amounts, but there was certainly enough, and generally it was excellent, with the chicken satay starter a particular highlight.

As usual, EE/T-Mobile signal was non-existent inside the substantial building, and we didn't spot any wi-fi available.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JesOakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Ok Chinese”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We went on a Sunday evening for my daughters birthday, 7 of us in total, we had a mixture of starters and mains between us. All ok, not fantastic but as I said ok. Main problem was taste, a couple of dishes were a bit bland and don't expect big portions, for a main it's about £7.50, i'm not a big eater but I cleaned my portion in no time. For 7 the bill was £90, but £40 of that was drinks so I suppose it wasn't bag value.

No sign of any drunks or under age drinking, but it was a Sunday evening.

Conclusion - All ok, better than the Bull in Cosby.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeMatrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The Chinese side of this pub is great, excellent food. But when we went for a drink in the bar afterwards we were surrounded by underage drunks using fowl language, and the barstaff didnt bat an eyelid, obviously normal behaviour.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunton Bassett Arms also viewed

Lutterworth, Leicestershire
Lutterworth, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Lutterworth, Leicestershire
 
Gilmorton, Leicestershire
Lutterworth, Leicestershire
 

Been to Dunton Bassett Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing