We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm welcome, friendly staff, excellent food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greyhound Coaching Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Greyhound Coaching Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lutterworth
Certificate of Excellence
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, friendly staff, excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

On our arrival we were made very welcome by Melody. I have special dietry needs and Will Smith the chef came to my table and discussed choice of food and how I would like it cooked. Needless to say my meal was perfect. Breakfast was ccoked to order in a very relaxed and quiet atmosphere.
The rooms are comfortable and well furnished. If you are an early to bed person the smokers in the courtyard can be heard from the room

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    94
    25
    14
    11
See reviews for
44
83
15
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2010

Stayed for one night and ate in the restaurant.

Felt the room was tired and cramped, the bed had seen better days.

The bar was insufferably hot but the staff were wonderful and welcoming.

Our meal was outstanding and the breakfast was top notch. We would return for the food.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vituperant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

We got married at the Greyhound on 31st July 2010 and the whole day went Brilliantly. Charlotte the wedding Co-ordinator for the Greyhound was fantastic, nothing was too much trouble and she made sure that the day ran smoothly. All our guests had a wonderful day and everybody commented on what a lovely place it was for a wedding and how good the food and service was. The photos taken in the courtyard of the hotel have turned out really well, with loads of colour. We were lucky with the weather, but even luckier that we found the Greyhound in which to host our wonderful day.
Thank you Charlotte and all the staff of the Greyhound for making our day so special.
From Tina and Richard Gerrard

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bugsysbabys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

We used this hotel as a base to stop prior to visiting Silverstone British Grand Prix and we were certainly not disappointed with the facilities, services and food. The courtyard was an array of flowers in tubs/hanging baskets and very picturesque. The rooms were cosy, clean and comfortable. The restaurant that we used (The Vault - Italian) in the cellar had a lovely setting and the food was outstanding and best of all the price for 3 course meal was only £12.50! As we were leaving early we asked if it was possible to have our breakfast earlier than scheduled - a big thank you to the manager who accommodated us with this request. The interior of the hotel is quaint and a pleasure to visit. We would certainly stay there again and recommend to anyone wishing to stay in that area. :-)

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 40something042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

Stayed 2 nights for our son's wedding nearby. Had a wonderful weekend.
Excellent food, particularly enjoyed the Italian menu.
Staff very helpful (we had a large family group including a guest with mobility problems). Charming, comfortable rooms. Loved the courtyard area, beautiful baskets and relaxed atmosphere - had some photos taken there on the way to the wedding which turned out very well.
Will definitely return as a couple for a restful break, although most of the 24 family & friends who sat down together for breakfast on the sunday want to return as well and want me to organise a reunion! One has even asked about bringing the dog (arrangements can be made).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pattyanne_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

I don't know whether we had the spare room for our stay (the room behind reception) but it started badly when greeted with a corridor full of pictures, curtain rails and needing to step over a Vax to be able to get into our room. This was finally moved after asking twice at reception and the corridor was an absolute fire hazard.

The room itself fared little better, it was smelly and dirty. There was an old discarded plaster and packet of tablets behind my bedside table. The bathroom had cobwebs under the sink and was generally grubby. The shower did not work properly and took and age to drain. To be fair there was a notice explaining the complicated routine of letting the shower run for one minute before flushing the toilet to get it to work.

Breakfast however was reasonable and the staff were cheerful. However, when checking out and passing on how we felt the room was, we were told that housekeeping would be informed but no apology was offered.

All in all, it was a very disppointing stay and I only hope the rooms lining the courtyard area are far superior to what we stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bagginsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreyhoundLutterworth, Owner at Greyhound Coaching Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2010
There is always at least one time when you slip up. We have no option but to apologise for the corridor to the room being cluttered. It should not have been cluttered but in mitigation, we are in the process of re-decorating the whole hotel and there are signs up in the hotel to this effect. Inevitably, tradesmen will leave stuff where they should not! An apology should have been offered on check-out and our views on a lack of apology have been made known.

With regard to the cleanliness of the room, I can definitely say that it was re-decorated within the past four weeks (including having triple glazing put in) and ‘new’ period furniture put in. The housekeeping staff have received a copy of the report. Regarding the plumbing which was mentioned, there have been periodic problems in this area and a specialist engineer has now been to fix this (22nd July 2010).

The hotel was full that weekend and it is interesting to note that two other guests posted favorable views. Naturally, we do not like to receive unfavorable reviews, but nevertheless, much of what was said was justified. All of the highlighted problems are or have been attended to. Thank you for bringing these to our attention

Robert Eggleston
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2010

This is an ancient coaching inn. It has a lovely plant filled courtyard. The room was good. We had to go up some old outside stone steps. The outside stone steps might be a problem in winter, but it was fine for us. Room had lots of genuine antique furniture. Very nice, and in keeping with the hotel. Quite a change from flat-pack! We had a cable connection to internet. The bed was large (king size) with super quality egyptian cotton sheets, and a good en-suite (with dire warnings not to steal the shampoo!!!!).

Had a meal in the basement restaurant - there was a wedding going on upstairs. The vaulted ceiling and the mirrors gave the room an appearance of both length and cosiness. Tthe food was ecellent.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidlandin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lutterworth
1.5 mi away
Kilworth House Hotel
Kilworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Kilworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ullesthorpe Court Hotel & Golf Club
5.0 mi away
Brownsover Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
The Three Swans Hotel
The Three Swans Hotel
#2 of 5 in Market Harborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Rugby North (M6 Jct1) Hotel
12.3 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greyhound Coaching Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greyhound Coaching Inn

Property: Greyhound Coaching Inn
Address: Market Street, Lutterworth LE17 4BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Lutterworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lutterworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greyhound Coaching Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Greyhound Coaching Inn and Hotel is a charming and traditional 18th Century coaching inn located in the south Leicestershire town of Lutterworth. A family-owned hotel, The Greyhound Hotel has been sympathetically restored by Robert Eggleston to provide an easy-going charm and welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Greyhound Coaching Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greyhound Coaching Hotel Lutterworth
Greyhound Coaching Inn Lutterworth, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing