We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful memories of Prom meal for Year 6 children”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Greyhound Coaching Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lutterworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Being a teacher ,and parent of a child attending the prom I thought the Greyhound put on a special and memorable event. The surroundings, particularly the courtyard,looked spectacular for the red carpet photos. The room for the meal was decorated nicely( school colours!) and the meal was served promptly to 40+ hungry children. The staff were very helpful, food delicious and everyone has a brilliant evening. Parents were also able to enjoy a relaxing drink or meal downstairs. What a great venue for such an occasion.Thankyou!

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaylover041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 312 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2010

We had a simply perfect evening at The Greyhound. They accommodated our party, including special dietry requirements and even rolled out the red carpet for our pupils. This was a Graduation Meal to be proud of and all the parents were totally grateful. Mr Smith and the serving staff made the children feel welcome and grown up and it will be a night to remember for a very long time. The garden area was just lovely too.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teacherh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

Year 6 had a ball at their end of year prom. The venue, food and staff were all fantastic. The children were made to feel special and important. Many thanks to all at The Greyhound

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

This is a well run Coaching Inn. It is not a hotel... The rooms are clean and well furnished in keeping with the coaching inn image. Beautiful courtyard with abundance of flowering tubs. The staff are excellent, friendly and polite. The restaurants and food are first class. This being our second stay here "Robert" and his team made us more than welcome and we would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjandkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

I've stayed at the Greyhound on a number of occasions in the past 12 months and always seek this hotel out when in the area.

Each room is slightly different in size and shape (due to the building being over 200 years old) but has consistency and offers the right balance of comfort (bathrooms with baths in most rooms) as well as new technology (DAB radio and Freeview channels in all rooms).

The stairs creak and there's plenty of ups and downs to get to some rooms, but that's only to be expected from a unique residence like this!

All in all, a fantastic stay, topped off by a fantastic offering of hot and cold breakfast choices to start the day well.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHA1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

I stayed in the Greyhound Coaching Inn for one Saturday night with my husband and two year old daughter and we couldn't really fault anything. Staff were friendly and attentive.....even the other guests were fantastic! The Greyhound just had a great feel about it which I can't remember experiencing in any other hotel anywhere else in this country.

We booked a family room which surprisingly comprised of 2 seperate rooms - perfect for getting our toddler off to sleep whilst allowing us to relax in front of the telly in our own little seperate room with a bottle of wine (room 16). It wasn't the biggest of rooms but for a short stay it was ideal. My only critisism of the room was that the bed did seem to slope a little -but that didn't stop me having a good night sleep.

The restaurant was fully booked so we ate in the public bar which served the same menu as the restaurant. They also also offer a childrens menu. The food was excellent and VERY good value. Breakfast was again very tasty.

I would certainly recommend the Greyhhound Coaching Inn to anyone and I look forward to staying there again in hopefully, the not to distant future.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haggis126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

My husband and I and our two dogs spent two nights at The Greyhound whilst travelling down to the South Coast and back home a week later. The inn is very comfortable and welcoming, decorated with prints and bric a brac but not overly so. I think its a family run enterprise judging by the level of friendly service. The dogs were made a fuss of, always a good sign in our eyes. The food was very good, both breakfast and evening meal and the accommodation was freshly painted and on the ground floor. The courtyard was lovely, full of flowers and would be good to sit out in on a summers night. One quibble, the only car parking is a council run car park which had to be paid for.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lutterworth
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Ullesthorpe Court Hotel & Golf Club
3.6 mi away
Kilworth House Hotel
Kilworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Kilworth
1,021 reviews
19.5 mi away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#3 of 12 in Loughborough
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Sysonby Knoll Hotel (Best Western)
17.4 mi away
Rothley Court
Rothley Court
#1 of 1 in Rothley
674 reviews
4.9 mi away
Brownsover Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greyhound Coaching Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greyhound Coaching Inn

Address: Market Street, Lutterworth LE17 4BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Lutterworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lutterworth
Price Range: $93 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greyhound Coaching Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Greyhound Coaching Inn and Hotel is a charming and traditional 18th Century coaching inn located in the south Leicestershire town of Lutterworth. A family-owned hotel, The Greyhound Hotel has been sympathetically restored by Robert Eggleston to provide an easy-going charm and welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Greyhound Coaching Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greyhound Coaching Hotel Lutterworth
Greyhound Coaching Inn Lutterworth, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing