We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful little hotel in very small town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boutique Hotel O Poejo
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful little hotel in very small town”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is a simple, yet tastefully decorated, clean (tiled floors) in Marvao. The hotel is operated by a very friendly family. Rooms have twin beds, hot showers in modern bathroom and little balconies. There is a restaurant in the hotel but it was only open for breakfast when we were there. The "town" is very, very small and has no restaurants - we drove about 10-15 minutes to the "other side of Marvo castle" to a very nice, upscale restaurant. There is a small grocery store in town.

Marvao castle is definitely worth a visit. Admission is free. Parking is outside of the castle walls.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose2364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    16
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
23
26
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hotel is located in a quiet and peaceful village named Santo António das Areias, only 5 km from Marvão. The hotel is elegantly decorated with old pieces from the village`s factory. The rooms are confortable, cosy and elegant.

The service is very personal, at arrival we have informations about what to do and what to visit in the surroundings and some tips about restaurants.

The breakfast is very tasty with homemade cakes and gems.

Room Tip: The Double Rooms are very Romantic and elegant, excellent for romance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

You'd better book any other hotel in Marvao directly (here you are in a small village, in the middle of nowhere). Price is much too high for the location and for the tiny room (not even a cupboard or a drawer available....). Airco not functioning correctly. Moreover we had booked a half board as the hotel site recommended the excellent local cooking. We were informed on arrival about the illness of the cook.. which may occur.. and were sent with a meal voucher to a real low cost restaurant 7km from there, where people watch TV while eating. I ordered chicken and nearly only received bones... When looking on the menu of that "restaurant' we calculated that we had eaten for 15 EUR each... while our half board booking in the 4* O Poejo was for the equivalent of 30 EUR each. This is simply unacceptable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stroobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This hotel is in the main street of the small town of Santo Antonio de Areias about 5 km from the hilltop walled town of Marvao. It has been built by the owners of the nearby fruit bottling and preserving company. Spread around the hotel is a facsinating array of old equipment from the the fruit business - weighing machines, mixers, pots and pans. The public areas are roomy and airy.
The bedroom was of reasonable size and was well appointed and comfortable. We had a door opening on to a small balcony which would be perfect for relaxing in the Summer. A small niggle was the safe which we could not get to work, but I am sure if we had been staying longer this would have been a simple fix for the maintenance man.
The hotel has a restaurant but when we visited was not open for dinner. St Antonio is short of restaurants so we went by taxi to a nearby village with a restaurant recommended by the extremely helpful and obliging front desk manager. She was also able to recommend places such at Estremores to visit which had not been on our original schedule.
The breakfast was a very good buffet with a wide selection of home made and local items. It was supervised by a helpful lady who made sure that (for instance) we got hot water for tea freshly from the steam-machine and not from the more common hot water thermos.
We paid £62 (~€75) for double B&B which was towards the lower end of the range of what we paid during this holiday in Portugal. It represented excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsHelpful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

A stylish small hotel where you are sure to receive a warm welcome from the owners which is a great way to begin your stay in this wonderful region of Portugal. Well located to visit the delights this area has to offer. Very stylish and comfortable rooms, great local cuisine. Nothing is too much trouble, the owners have provided all the information you will need to make the most of your stay. We will certainly repeat the experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DewiPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2011

The hotel is beautiful and the rooms was a touch small but are wonderfully appointed and the bed was excellent!
The staff was very friendly and informative: very helpful and professional. We were looking for a hotel very accessible to the sites of Marvao. Location perfect: there are some nice coffee shops and super markets within a walking distance: brother´s bar with a simpatic staff.

Room Tip: Every day we used the indoor pool of the village with a garden: no-fuss, noise and a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2010

I stayed in the hotel for a couple of nights with friends, all with school aged children. The hotel is reasonably clean and the location good as a starting point for country walks and car trips around the beautifull scenery and vilages. However, the very limited service (for example, no afternoon drinks served for "large groups", in our cas 14 pax, ) and the unfriendly manager outweights all that's been said above. I suggest other hotels in the vicinity.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TravellerLisbon2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOPoejo, Director at Boutique Hotel O Poejo, responded to this review, April 9, 2010
The staff of The Boutique Hotel O Poejo has a duty to ensure the best welfare of ALL guests during their stay. We take pride in that.
This includes groups stay of 6 adults and 8 children = 14:
But concern ourselves when the children - without an adult supervising - disturbing the welfare of other guests in the public zones, after warnings from other guests, run on all floors and hallways, eat snacks and crisps in areas not suitable for that purpose ( library ) after warnings; sit on the backrest of the chairs by placing his feet on the seats, running in the breakfast room between the tables of other guests, spilling milk, chocolate and cereals
Our staff is happy to fix, clean and maintain our space in perfect condition for ALL guests. But it is very hard to keep it perfect - clean also - with this situation.
The director has a duty to oversee this service and maintain the basic principles of behaviour. And rules also. For the well being of ALL THE GUEST.
We take pride in that.
Regarding to the fact of not being served drinks during the afternoon to groups, this is due to the fact that the bar has its proper closing and opening ours, and these drinks have been requested in the reception in check ins time (when is not recommended her absence from the workplace) and outside the operating hours of the bar. Despite not being served the drinks required, the receptionist came to access other requests, as it is usually done when something is requested in reception and the receptionist is available to do it.
In addition, side by side with the hotel is a coffee bar (which moreover were the guest bought the drinks) as well as there are also some pastries in the village (one of them at 100 mts) whose working hours coincide with the time the request was made in the reception of the hotel (note: in reception and not in the bar) so the client in question could well have chosen to have snack elsewhere with appropriate conditions to suit his group, from the moment the receptionist informed that the bar was closed and she had no conditions to serve the group in the best way, as well as have informed Him about the mentioned services on the village.

The directress
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santo Antonio Das Areias
2.0 mi away
Dom Dinis
Dom Dinis
#1 of 4 in Marvao
274 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pousada De Marvao Charming Hotel
1.9 mi away
Hotel El Rei Dom Manuel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Hotel Convento D'Alter
Hotel Convento D'Alter
#1 of 3 in Alter do Chao
177 reviews
5.6 mi away
Casa Amarela
Casa Amarela
#1 of 5 in Castelo de Vide
12 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sever Rio Hotel
Sever Rio Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marvao
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel O Poejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel O Poejo

Property: Boutique Hotel O Poejo
Address: Avenida 25 de Abril 20, Santo Antonio Das Areias, Marvao 7330-251, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Portalegre District > Marvao > Santo Antonio Das Areias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santo Antonio Das Areias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel O Poejo 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's a quirky hotel at the Alentejo North. All guest rooms are carpeted with pure 100% wool, furnished with handmade wood, exceptional quality linen and towels all Portuguese. Everything has been designed with the guest in mind to provide luxury, simplicity and unadulterated pleasure. Complementary cooked breakfast is included and is just the start you need for a day up at S. Mamede Natural Park, exploring the Ammaia Roman City, the Medieval Marvao Castle and the old village. The experience that make you feel inspired. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boutique Hotel O Poejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing