We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise near Orte”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Locanda della Chiocciola
Ranked #1 of 10 Orte B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Crawfordsburn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Paradise near Orte”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Two couples occupied Apartment Ciclamino and the adjoined Room Papavero for 7 nights - the set up was perfect! Home from home with rural, quiet privacy. Convenient to the fascinating hill top town of Orte. With a an excellent descent sized private sheltered swimming pool with comfortable sun loungers it was a dream stay. Eating in the restaurant on the one occasion was wonderful. Good food and value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adamthegardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    31
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
37
78
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

In July we stayed with our two children in La Chiocciola. It was a great stay. It's very private as it's located on a hilltop with stunning views. Orte is a nice small city on another hilltop. And the benefit is the train station in Orte. in 45 minutes you are in the heart of Rome. The food is excellent, the pool is quite large and excellent after a hot day in Rome. Christina's hospitality is fantastic. The room was also very good with a separate room for the children and a good size bathroom. If you like a tranquil place with great food and still within reach of all the attractions in Rome, then this is the place to stay. We would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanThom2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

After two weeks of visiting Bologna, Florence, Tuscany, and Umbria my husband and I were ready to fly home out of Rome but we wanted to end the experience in a very special place. Maria Christina's La Locanda is the perfect place to unwind and relax. Our room was clean and spacious and our dinner was wonderful. Because the dining room was closed for dinner one evening out of the two we were there we only ate one dinner there but after arriving home tired and hungry the day the dining room was closed she fixed us lovely sandwiches and opened another nice bottle of wine just like the one we had enjoyed with our dinner the night before. When my husband and I had a problem with our ticket on the Autostrada she and her husband went to great lengths to find out how we might solve our problem. She even took us in her car and explained in Italian what had happened with wonderful results. While it was too cool for us to enjoy the pool, it was lovely and would be quite a treat during a summer visit. Make your reservation--you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask about a quiet room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2012

First trip to Italy and we spent three nights at La Locanda della Chiocciola and cannot speak more highly of this beautiful gem in the country; 45 minutes by train, north of Rome and the service provided. Maria and her staff were so very helpful. Not familiar with the area, Maria printed out itineraries and train schedules for day trips and provided a ride to and from the train, since we had no car. Perfect location for day trips and then coming "home" to a fabulous dinner with excellent wines and first class restful, peaceful accommodations.Maria speaks English and since we are limited in Italian it only added to our very positive experience. Three hours by train from Florence, 45 minutes to Orvieto in Umbria (absolutely gorgeous) and Spoleta (panoramic hilltop village also in Umbria). Highly recommend La Locanda della Chiocciola. We could go on and on about the service.It was like having a family member make your stay perfect.
Again, thank you Maria hope to see you again!
M&M Jones Sedona, AZ USA

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We loved La Locanda. We arrived for 2 nights with our children and spent our time visiting the towns Orte and Amelia and the rest of our days enjoying the wonderful pool. We also had our evening meals at the hotel and the food was first class. It is a subtle place, understated but absolutely perfect if you are looking to chill for a few days.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

I can’t speak for this place a holiday base but..

As a break from the autostrada it is excellent a short drive from the main routes – not that you’d know anything was there!

Lovely home-spun rooms, friendly service and a terrific restaurant all make for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squaremeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2008

Without doubt it is a lovely place. Unfortunately, you can hear the traffic on the A1 Autostrada and the trains on the very busy arterial train line that both run in the valley below.
On the saturday night we stayed, there was also a wedding going on. This was very noisy and the very loud music didn't finish until 3am. If I were the owners I would think about shutting the hotel on nights they have functions as it isn't really fair on other guests.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celine72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiocciola90, proprietario at La Locanda della Chiocciola, responded to this review, November 15, 2008
celine 72 should say that they were told there was a fonction that evening when they made the reservation ( we always advise guests).
They should also say that because they weren't satisfied of there stay we refound them the cost of the night.
In 18 years this is the first complaint about noisy traffic!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orte
3.5 mi away
Hotel Letizia
Hotel Letizia
#3 of 3 in Orte
30 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Umbria
Hotel Umbria
#1 of 2 in Attigliano
180 reviews
1.0 mi away
San Lorenzo B&B
San Lorenzo B&B
#2 of 3 in Orte
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Quercia B&B
La Quercia B&B
#2 of 10 in Orte
97 reviews
2.8 mi away
Agriturismo La Vecchia Fattoria
3.4 mi away
B&B dell'Aviatore
B&B dell'Aviatore
#1 of 1 in San Liberato
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Locanda della Chiocciola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locanda della Chiocciola

Property: La Locanda della Chiocciola
Address: loc. Seripola, 01028, Orte, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Viterbo > Orte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Orte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Locanda della Chiocciola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Locanda Della Chiocciola Hotel Orte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing