We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Avalon Sikani
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Gioiosa Marea
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Like the reviewer before me, I stayed over the weekend as part of a Groupon deal with 3 other people and was slightly concered by the reviews before.

However, as soon as we got there, I couldnt have been happier with what we found. A beautiful hotel with lovely staff, great facilities and a totally calming ambience. Still very confused as to why people didnt rate this hotel highly.

For a buffet, the food was varied and fresh and as hot as can be achieved whilst in a buffet. Breakfast was perfectly adequate which a wide selection of food and drink (although the egg was slightly 'unusual')

The rooms might not have been as big as others, but all came with a balcony and amazing views. They were clean and had everything you could need.

The pool area was incredible, and the view could never get old. There was a bar there and lots of sunbeds without feeling cramped or intruding on the relaxing environment.

Finally, the staff were great and really added that extra thumbs up with the experience. Rosa and Salvatore really helped with advice for the area and our excursions and the staff in the restuarant and pool bar couldnt have been more helpful.

Yes, the beach is a shuttle ride away (and you cant walk there) but it's worth it once you get there and the shuttle is free.

One thing I would recommend would be to hire a car as that keeps costs down and helps you to explore.

Highly recommended, a great base to relax and/or explore Sicily!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SCarter24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    124
    50
    16
    17
See reviews for
97
202
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tickton, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Well my husband and I recently stayed in this hotel as part of a Groupon deal. We were a bit concerned following reviews we had read about the hotel. However, the experience could not have been more different. This was a lovely hotel and we can't understand all the complaints. We did hire a car as this was cheaper than paying for the transfer and gave us more freedom to explore if we wanted. Gioiosa Marea is a beautiful place and this hotel offers spectacular views. The room was perfect and the hotel facilities were more than adequate. The food was very good value and we left the restaurant each night feeling entirely satisfied with what we had. We thought the prices were okay. We did, however, go to the local supermaret to stock up on wine for the fridge!! We were quite happy sitting on the balcony each evening watching the sunset and enjoying the views. Personally, we would highly recommend this hotel. What did surprise us was how quiet it was and certainly not at full capacity - perhaps this is just the recession? We really can't understand why there have been so many unhappy reviews. The staff were all vey friendly and could not have been more helpful.

Room Tip: The higher the better for the views and peacefulness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Melanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I just came back from Grand Avalon a few days ago.

The Resort on a whole was ok but was missing a few things for it to be considered a true 4 star.

Food wise it was not as bad like other people have mentioned.

Breakfast was poor. Everyday scrambled eggs( very salty) & Bacon which looked undercooked.
The yougurt & milk was not kept on ice. Not to crazy about having watery Yougurt & room temp milk. The coffee & juices were alright & the criossants were decent.

Dinner was everyday not hot. Even when they would bring out the fresh tray It was barely warm @ best. ( Very poor for a 4 star) Taste wise it was fine.


The rooms were nice but a little on the small side. No alarm clock or Radio. & my room did not have a hair dryer. The water temp varied in the shower. I told another guest about it & they also had the same problem. I would have it on cold but would still get very warm water & times.
The Air conditioning worked great. The cleaners did not do a great job @ cleaning the room. I guess my 2 euro tip everyday was not enough?? I have gotten better service & other hotels without leaving a dime.

The Hotel Shuttle service to the hotel beach was poor. There was a timetable in the lobby on when the shuttle would run. First was 10am. It would have been better if they would have one earlier even 9am. Because the sun is so strong already @ 11 it would have been nice to get there earlier. It does not run enough & I believe the last bus leaving the hotel beach was around 1800. Again it would have been nice to stay a little longer.

The food & the beach resto was decent & prices were fair.

There is a supermarket( Conad) 4 min walk downhill but a pain in the rear when u gotta walk up hill with all your food & drink. ( great work out though) also the walk to the City train station was 11min( brisk walk) and almost 20min walk back. it esp tiring if u have alot of things to carry. again a great workout. but really tiring!!!

Room Tip: If u have a room in the 4th tower it takes a good 5 min from the lobby. The elevators are slow &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tml78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Honestly, when I read other people's reviews of this hotel, I wonder if I stayed in the same place. My wife and I thought the hotel was clean, attractive, and (mostly) quiet. The staff were friendly and helpful (with the exception of a waitress who was short-tempered with people who couldn't speak Italian, but she was a one-off). The food was tasty and well prepared, and there was a good variety of it.

We were looking for a relaxing time away in a pretty location, and that's just what we got. We didn't need a great range of amusements, local attractions, or tourist traps (although we did book a couple of tours to just these sorts of places). We didn't care about internet or whether the TV had our favourite channels. We spent our days by the pool or going on outings. It was magnificent.

The hotel has four-stars, and yes, it sits atop a steep hill (hence the brilliant view). Judging by the reaction of some people on this site, they wanted great views without the hill, gormet food without the gormet price tag, and doting, fussy staff ready to meet their needs around the clock. Anyone out there still enjoy themselves on holidays?

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hugh-Mane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radom, Poland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel is extraordinary: located on the hill above the small and nice city of Gioiosa Marea (something 200m above the sea level) it offers spectacular views from almost all the rooms on the sea, Liparian / Aeolian Islands and the town beneath (but see some exceptions to that later in my comment). The disadvantage of that location is, of course, that in order to get to the town you have to prepare for ~15 min. walk or hotel bus for 3 EUR / person one way (except for going to the beach, when the bus is free, however the beach is some 3km from Gioiosa Marea, in Capo Cavala bay - and in times of traffic it might take several rounds to get down or up).

Climbing up from the town to the hotel is even more difficult and probably not for elderly or with problems with walking, youngers and fitter probably can do (we did - and I must say we liked it :))

Also, layout of the hotel - with 4 buildings arranged in cascade - has pros and cons. Cons are for older, too - a lot of stairs, need to change elevators. For younger - this can be fun, there are views from the rooms and there is relatively quiet in upper buildings.

Few words about the rooms. There are ~120 rooms and probably ~100 are great. So please try avoid rooms located on the lowest floors of all 4 buildings, since the view from the room might be obstructed by buildings located below (especially the elevator "towers"). I'd say the best rooms are in buildings 2 and 3, levels 3-4. If you have nothing against walking more / spending more time changing elevators, also building 4 might be good - level 2 or the west wing, where your view will be unobstructed at all.

Rooms are modern with flat screen tvs, air conditioning, large bed, additional couch in all (most?) of the rooms, refrigerator. They are comfortable. Room service is efficient. We slept great - in building No.4 you can hear practically nothing at night (no sounds from the pool area, no sounds of the city - complete quiet!).

Food was great, however breakfast was rather poor: small selection of bread, small choice of eggs and vegetables (probably beacause Italians eat usually very little - sweet cake + espresso, but if you are accustomed to continental breakfast, you migh miss something). But dinners made it up: there was always choice between 2 hot dishes - meat or fish, additionally 2 types of pasta, hot vegetables plus wide selection of antipasti and fresh vegetables. Not so many sweets or fruits, however you could also find something. Drinks (water, wine, beer) are paid separately.

Staff was friendly - more at the restaurant, less at the reception desk.

Location in GIosiosa Marea - between Messina and Cefalu - gives you chance to explore Sicily by train - trains runnign in all directions several times a day, ideal for day trip to Palermo, Cefalu or Taormina (for the centre of the island and for western/southern part probably better to rent a car).

Hotel has private beach about 3km east in bay of Capo Calava. During summer peak there might probably be some problems with available umbrellas and beds, but in June we had no problems. Nice bars/restaurants nearby.

In the hotel you have "running centre" which is nice alternative for joggers, since in Gioiosa Marea it is very hard to go for a run, unless you are hard core runner - not so many (or not at all!) flat roads, very hot, need to go down and then climb up 200m above the sea level.

One other small minus - internet: wifi available only in the reception area and close to it (no chance to have it in your room, unless you pay for the cable connection).

To sum it up: we liked it a lot and might want to come back again. However, please beware of the hotel's uniqe characteristics (location on the hill, buildings layout, the beach) which might be advantages for ones, but disadvantages for others.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the lowest floors since the view might be obstructed (by other buildings, especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank JKluzinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This hotel was misleading. Pretty on the outside. Ugly on the inside. We stayed in a standard room beautiful view but then it got worse. Sheets werent cleaned or pillows, dirty towels in the bath room, the safe did not work after a few attempts of fixing. Hotel staff very unhelpful, they had no care for customer service.
One evening we was without water in the bathroom for 2 hours, the water went MIDSHOWER, nothing was done to help me, no alternative room with a shower, i was just left waiting for 2hours. That was an evening that was ruined. Staff did nothing to help me, they didnt really seem to care.
I asked to speak to the manager 5 times throughout the week, it seems as though she was a myth as i left the hotel with no phonecall or any kind of response from the manager. That really topped it off for me. The staff knew very little about anything, most i heard was 'what can i do.' or 'i dont know' . Really poor.
Do not stay at hotel without a car. You need a car to get to beach, even the beach we had to find ourselves.
Food and drinks prices SKYHIGH. Breakfast STANDARD.
local restaurants 100% and much better value for money.
BasicLly a whole loAd of fuss for no real customer service.
I was very disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kiran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

See my title - breakfast is horrible, no fresh coffee, neapresso (instant) only and that in the heart of italy. Four days into our stay and still no Internet service. The hotel is modern. Pool is great but overall we are missing some Italian charm in our accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michaelqamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gioiosa Marea
0.2 mi away
Hotel Capo Skino
Hotel Capo Skino
#3 of 9 in Gioiosa Marea
305 reviews
11.6 mi away
VOI Baia di Tindari Resort
30.1 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#3 of 11 in Letojanni
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
59.4 mi away
Acacia Resort Parco dei Leoni
Acacia Resort Parco dei Leoni
#2 of 7 in Campofelice di Roccella
770 reviews
74.5 mi away
Domina Zagarella Sicily
Domina Zagarella Sicily
#1 of 5 in Santa Flavia
1,346 reviews
0.8 mi away
Baia Calava
Baia Calava
#1 of 9 in Gioiosa Marea
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avalon Sikani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avalon Sikani

Property: Hotel Avalon Sikani
Address: Contrada Licandro SNC, 98063, Gioiosa Marea, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Grand Avalon Sikani Resort & Residence Sicily)
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Gioiosa Marea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Gioiosa Marea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Avalon Sikani 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Avalon Sikani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Avalon Sikani Resort And Residence Sicily
Grand Avalon Sikani Resort & Residence Sicily Hotel Gioiosa Marea
Grand Avalon Sikani Gioiosa Marea
Hotel Avalon Sikani Sicily/Gioiosa Marea, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing