We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy Hostel at the base of Mt. Errigal”
Review of Errigal Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Errigal Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Comfy Hostel at the base of Mt. Errigal”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Beautiful views in a comfortable Hostel await you at this little get-away. It is not a 5 star resort, but a clean and comfortable 4 bed per room hostel with shared bathrooms. My husband and I were lucky enough to stay here in the off season, and were the only ones in the hostel, so had a room to ourselves. The kitchen and dining area have ample space, and plenty of provisions. Wish we'd had more time to take advantage of the imposing mountain out our bedroom window!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exnyer8383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
17
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clermont-Ferrand, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stayed at this hostel for 2 nights and it is probably the best hostel I have stayed at ever. The whole thing looks pretty new are at least recently renovated. It is a nice anchor point if you are planning to tackle Mount Errigal and there is a small shop and a petrol station just next to the hostel. There is free parking in front of the hostel. The woman at reception was very helpful when I asked her for a nice place to eat out and also told me there was a traditional music session in a pub not too far. The rooms are very spacious and clean and most of them have a view on Mount Errigal just behind the hostel! They avec sheets and towels for hire for 1 euro each. The bathrooms are very clean, you can't adjsut the temparature of the showers but the water seems to magically be at the right temparature so it doesn't really matter. The kitchen is very well stocked, and the free continental breakfast is a feast with a wide selection of jam and chocolate paste, orange juice, cereals and weetabix, just what you need before a long day of hiking. The hostel also seems very intent on protecting the environment with timers everywhere for light and water which is always a bonus. Overall an excellent stay and I would definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Excellent hostel for hikers/nature lovers.
Very friendly staff. Clean rooms, kitchen and toilets. One of the best self-catering kitchens of hostels I have been. Basic but clean, warm and big showers.
There is a nice little pub 200m away. Mount Errigal requires 3.5km walking from the hostel on tarmac before you actually climb it.
The problem is getting there by public transport if it is the start of your hike. No public transport nearby and the hours are not always convenient. We were six and booked a taxi for 50eur from Letterkenny.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

While we didn't stay at Errigal Hostel, we did visit, and spoke to Karl about climbing nearby Errigal Mountain. He runs the place with his family, and he was incredibly helpful and welcoming, even though we weren't staying. He directed us to the best path to climb the nearby mountain, which he climbs almost every day. The location of the hostel is stunning, and the place is clean, modern, and green. This is a fantastic, modern facility with incredibly views of the valley. Definitely worth trying out!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreenDragon9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germersheim, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

buon rapporto qualità prezzo, posizione bellissima, staff genitlissimo, stanze belle e accoglienti, cucina molto ben equipaggiata e sala da pranzo comoda e luminosissima. Ottimo per passeggiate o trekking. C'è anche un pub a 5 minuti a piedi, e un negozietto di alimentari proprio di fianco. Ci siamo stati 2 notti con un gruppo di amici, e sicuramente ci tornerei.

good value, wonderful location and very friendly staff.
We spent 2 nights at Errigal Hostel, the location is fantastic surrounded by nature perfect for trekking or walking. The kitchen is very well equipped and the dining room has huge windows so you can eat watching the landscape and you can always enjoy the natural light even when raining. We staied 2 nights there with a group of friends and I would absolutely stay there again,

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tsugumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forli
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Errigal Hostel is a quiet and simple hostel in the middle of Ireland's nature. The rooms are big, beautiful and well furnished and the staff is friendly. There's a big kitchen which provides anything you need for cooking and a wide dining room with toys for children. The surroundings are of course breathtaking, and Errigal Hostel is a great place to rest and meet other travellers!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

This hostel has breathtaking scenery around it!

I stayed here for one night with 4 friends during a road trip around Ireland. We could park right in front of the hostel which was great. It seemed very new and well kept and the kitchen was very well equipped. The room we stayed in, 6-dorm, was very nice and plenty of space. Both the common room and the tv-lounge room was very nice and again there was plenty of space. The staff was very helpful. Definitely a place I would recommend if you're planning on going to Glenveagh National Park, since it is only 15-20 min drive away, so you can begin the day there :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tinnarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunlewey
0.3 mi away
An Chuirt, Gweedore Court Hotel
4.3 mi away
Caisleain Oir Hotel
Caisleain Oir Hotel
#1 of 1 in Annagry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
6.7 mi away
Carey's Viking House Hotel
Carey's Viking House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kincasslagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Arnolds Hotel
Arnolds Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunfanaghy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
5.1 mi away
Teac Jack
Teac Jack
#1 of 6 in Bunbeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
8.7 mi away
Waterfront Hotel Dungloe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Errigal Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Errigal Hostel

Property: Errigal Hostel
Address: Errigal, Dunlewey, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Dunlewey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Dunlewey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Errigal Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing