We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B - Great location, hospitality and accommodation.”
Review of Glen Heights, B&B

Glen Heights, B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunlewey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glen Heights, B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Dunlewey B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed here for a night recently whilst attending a music festival in the area. Found it to be a really good B&B, the location is beautiful, looking over the poison glen lake and hills aswell as Mount Errigal to the other side. Breakfast was delicious and the lady of the house was very welcoming and friendly. Would definitely return here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophieLetterkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 33 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

I can not recommend this little haven enough. Kathleen O'Maghony welcomed us into her home just last weekend and we had a truly magical experience. Set on the edge of mount eriggle and overlooking a beautiful lake, this little B&B is highly recommended to anyone looking to escape from it all or to experience the real heart of Donegal.

Kathleen's house is absolutely lovely, with beautifully decorated rooms in pristine condition. The breakfast is absolutely wonderful too, and watching the sunrise from the little breakfast room would literally take your breathe away.

This place is approx. 15 minutes from Bunbeg and 30 from Letterkenny. Dunlewey itself is a beautiful unspoiled area with a small community of wonderful Donegal people.

For a refreshing and magical stay in Donegal - look no further...

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GarrettHey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed in early August while touring Donegal. The B&B is beautifully located down a quiet lane and high over the lough with fabulous views over the valley. Immediately behind the house is Mount Erigal, Donegal's highest mountain. The house is quite new, spacious and beautifully furnished and equiped. Our en-suite bedroom was spotless. The owner, Kathleen is the perfect host with helpful suggestions of local places to drive to for evening meals. Breakfasts are generous and delicious. Our top recommendation!

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed here in late June, the guest house is in a beautiful location and the lady owner was very hospitable with lovely facilities. The shower in the en-suite was fantastic and the breakfast was beautiful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mquinny04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Lovely B&B with a superb view on the lake&mountains and perfect hostess. Our room was spotless and very comfortable. Excellent breakfast.It is a great place to relax.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DValerieZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

This is are second year that we stayed here.This time we stayed 5 nights and last year we stayed 2 nights.We could never go to Ireland again without visiting with Kathleen and her husband Mike.She will make you feel like you are apart of her family,and when you get back home you will always have a special memory of your stay there.It is a great place to set back and relax or sight see in Co Donegal.You will find out that all the people there will go out of there way to try to help you.We have been to Ireland the past 4 years and and traveled all over Ireland.This place is our favorite. NEW JERSEY KATEY

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewJerseyKaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

We were driving west on the highway, crested the hill, and there before us lay this beautiful valley--with Mt. Errigal, Poisoned Glen, and an old church on a hill above a blue, blue lake. I immediately said, "I don't want to go any further--we've got to stop here!!" From Glen Heights B and B, you can see it all. And Kathleen is a marvelous hostess. We needed some extra help, and she went above and beyond. The neighbors are great, too. When we went walking they were asking us how we like Ireland and suggesting what to do and see in the area. The community has used their own resources to keep up the old church, and they are proud of it. With such friendliness, such wonderful views, and so much to do, we ended up staying an extra day and were very sad to leave. I hope we can make it back some day. Thank you, Kathleen!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorAlto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunlewey
4.9 mi away
An Chuirt, Gweedore Court Hotel
8.5 mi away
Caisleain Oir Hotel
Caisleain Oir Hotel
#1 of 1 in Annagry
427 reviews
13.6 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Carey's Viking House Hotel
Carey's Viking House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kincasslagh
228 reviews
1.4 mi away
Errigal Hostel
Errigal Hostel
#1 of 1 in Dunlewey
93 reviews
11.1 mi away
Waterfront Hotel Dungloe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Heights, B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Heights, B&B

Address: Dunlewy, Dunlewey, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Dunlewey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dunlewey
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glen Heights perched on the side of Errigal, overlooking the Poison Glen and Dunlewey Lake, is the perfect accommodation to enjoy the rugged beauty of Donegal. Everyone can enjoy the 3 modern ensuite rooms including families, groups or individuals. At the foot of the mountains, near the sea and just near Glenveagh National Park, there are plenty of activities nearby for a most memorable holiday! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing