We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Borgo Storico Seghetti Panichi
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Casale(Colli Del Tronto)
$137
$133
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Picena(Colli Del Tronto)
$83
$81
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Malo Suites(Sant'Egidio alla Vibrata)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pennile(Ascoli Piceno)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Cantina dell'Arte(Ascoli Piceno)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Albergo Sant'Emidio(Ascoli Piceno)
$99
$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Miami(Civitella del Tronto)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveler rating
218
53
13
7
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
218
53
13
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsliving roomsmall kitchenweddingmountainshousemariahistorymarcheluxuryarchitecturechurchdownstairs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 299 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2012

very nice property with very friendly staff. stayed in apt and really enjoyed our stay and visit to ascoli piceno. we had dinner at restaurant in the evening which was great. waitress didn t speak english but we managed. i think we should have come a month earlier as you could feel it being off season in october. also happy that we came on a tuesday as this place is probably booked for weddings every weekend and i could see it becoming very busy.

Room Tip: we stayed in 'tronto' and enjoyed it very much
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomasmarkerttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Our hearts sank when we turned off the motorway, following the signs to Castel di Lama... and the industrial zone. Sure enough, we passed through a landscape peppered with light industrial units, really quite depressing. When we finally hit the town, things improved, and the final rise up the hill to Borgo Storico was much more promising.

The property itself is best described as 'fading grandeur'. The main building is effectively a small palace, with a minor princess still in residence on the upper floors. The building is sumptuously decorated, with beautiful ornaments, furniture, and books on fine art and history in every room. There are several common rooms on the ground floor, which are mostly kept open for guests to wander freely through.

The bedrooms are very poorly lit and decorated in a somewhat gothic style, making them rather gloomy. However, the views are spectacular provided you are looking at the mountains beyond the industrial lowlands in the foreground.

One tip: if you like a soft pillow, take your own! The supplied pillows are like bullets. Also, if you are a light sleeper, take earplugs: there appears to be a kennels somewhere nearby, and the barking was incessant.

The staff are lovely, and the remainder of the facilities (including the pool) are very good.

We were unlucky with the weather, and found we had to drive quite long distances to find interesting places for wet-weather visits, with one exception: Ascoli Piceno, only a 15 minute drive, was enchanting, and contains one of the most beautiful piazzas we've ever seen, as well as two fine art galleries.

Overall, and especially in good weather, this makes a pleasant destination.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
7  Thank MikeRayJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is an absolute gem and perfectly located between a short drive to the the beach or inland to the magnificnet Ascoli Piceno. We [family of four with children aged 6 and 3] have just returned from a wonderful week here and cannot wait to return.

The apartment set up-Adriactico- was very well geared for a small family, the restaurant served some wonderful locally sourced food and wine, and the village below served incredible gelatti [Bar Sport]. The pool was a reak treat and there were acres of beautiful grounds to explore. We received a very warm welcome and nothing was too much trouble.

What a great spot.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HAMJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed for a week mid June. We also found the hotel focussed on the weddings and the restaurant and felt those of us in the apartments were left to our own devices most of the time. On a Sunday it was impossible to find anyone and I, like another client on this page called the mobile on the closed reception door and no one answered. We decided to leave early in the morning, around 5.am the morning of departure as it was so hot and we were driving a long way south; imagine our surprise to find locked gates and no one around. Eventually we got thru to the mobile and the key to the gate turned out to be on our room key. We wasted forty minutes and were not happy. I felt this establishment was poor value for money - and I felt put wedding and restaurant guests first. Sorry

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank beverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgostorico, Owner at Borgo Storico Seghetti Panichi, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on the Borgo Storico. We apologise greatly for the problems you experienced during your stay. Your review has been very helpful to us and has made us understand that we were understaffed in the month of June. We tried our best to accommodate all the necessities of our guests but unfortunately we could not meet all requests. We now explain in advance the different kind of keys that are given to our guests and we have also recruited more staff that can help guests throughout their stay.

Again, please accept our deepest apologies and we hope to be able to host you again at the Borgo for a special and relaxing stay.

Kind Regards,

Stefania Pignatelli Gladstone
Custodian and Curator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We arrived on June 23, 2012, at 6:15 PM after a long and tiring day. Upon check-in we inquired about dinner reservations and were told that the dining room was closed for two days due to a wedding. I was greatly disappointed and had never heard of such a thing at a quality hotel. I expressed my concern about potential noise from the wedding party which is normal with weddings, and I was assured that we would not be disturbed since they would be in the large house. I asked that we receive room service at the very least, trying to work with them and understood that the staff at such a small hotel would be stretched thin, and the receptionist said she would check with the chef and let us know. She took us to our apartment suite which was very hot when we entered, we guessed around 29 -30 degrees C. It had been a very hot day and I was surprised that the staff had not turned on the air conditioning in preparation of our arrival. The receptionist turned one air conditioner and left. Subsequently, we turned on 3 more units we discovered in the apt. The air conditioning units were grossly undersized for the size of the apartment (living room, kitchen, bedroom, bath) and barely blew any cool air. There was noone available to help us with our luggage. The receptionist called and said that the chef could not provide us with room service until 9:00 PM which was too late for us. I asked why we had not been notified about the wedding, lack of dining, and restrictions to the use of hotel space due to the wedding. She replied that she tried to call that day, but only got our travel agent. Our travel agent confirmed that they called him at 3:00 AM in the US. He returned the call and when he talked to the receptionist she only asked if we were still planning to stay. He replied that yes, we would arrive, but she never said anything about a wedding or lack of dining. I asked why had they not told us about the wedding months ago since we had made our hotel reservation 6 months ago, and I got no reply. After retiring at 9:00 PM very upset by our experience, we were awakened at 9:40 PM by singing and yelling. I identified the source as coming from the area behind our apartment, and opening the bathroom window, found a loud party going on outside our window under a tent. I tried to call the office, but no one answered. I got dressed around 10:30 PM and went to find someone to discuss the noise as well as the heat in our apartment. Our room was still much to hot to sleep comfortably. It was around 28 deg C. The temperature outside was cooler than in our room, but we could not open the windows due to the noise. A diiferent receptionist in the office who had not answered our phone call said she would come to our room to see if she could help with the air. When she arrived she checked the air and concluded that there was nothing she could do. She suggested that we move to another hotel due to the heat as well as the noise. We accepted her offer due to the heat as well as the noise. She made the reservation at Hotel Casale. I asked about payment and she said that we would pay Hotel Casale 140 euro directly and not owe Borgo Storico anything. We packed up and departed with no help with our luggage. We are now surprised that Borgo Storico did not share our experience with the booking company and that we are now having to explain to them to prevent us from being charged for a rather disasterous night. I cannot remember a time in my life where my husband and I were treated with such disregard at a hotel. Always ask if there is a wedding or large party before booking at this hotel! And don't stay in the apartments when there is hot weather!

Room Tip: Do not stay in apartments in hot weather. The main house is apparently much cooler due to thick walls.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Brooke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgostorico, Owner at Borgo Storico Seghetti Panichi, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review of the Borgo Storico. We are extremely sorry for all the inconveniences you had to go through during your stay in June. Your review has helped us improve our services, we have taken action and:

- Room service is available during wedding evenings. We try our best to provide guests with the swiftest possible service but due to a sudden lack of personnel we had difficulties in accommodating all the requests we received during your stay. We are very sorry for what you experienced.
- Before all arrivals the air conditioning in the rooms is turned on. I can confirm that all units are EU standard size for the spaces of the apartments and suites.

We hope that your stay at the nearby hotel was of your liking. We would never charge you for a night in another hotel, being your departure our fault. I can confirm that our Front Desk Manager phoned and emailed your agency immediately explaining their would be no extra cost involved.

Again, please accept our deepest apologies for the misfortunate events during your stay and I still hope that you were able to appreciate the beautiful area of the Piceno that has many hidden treasures to offer.

Kind Regards,

Stefania Pignatelli Gladstone
Custodian and Curator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews