We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding review - 23rd August 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Penkridge
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I just cannot thank Peter Miller enough for the effort he put in to making our daughter's day so perfect ! right from the start nothing was too much trouble . It is such a worry putting your trust in a wedding venue especially when you have not heard of anyone using it before, this is why I have taken the time to write this review so future couples need not worry ! The room layout was just right ,little things make a difference like the swans for the bride and grooms place setting made out of their napkins. All our guests commented on how nice the food was and there was plenty of it ! the staff were professional , efficient and very friendly, nothing was too much trouble. As so many of our guests stayed over we had our own breakfast room and the choice of food at breakfast was fabulous, there was something for everyone ! the staff had even taken the time to lay the tables with our wedding breakfast centre pieces and set out our Mr & Mrs signs for the newly weds! My daughter got married in Penkridge Church and the hotel location was perfect, some lovely grounds for the photos too! we all enjoyed the day so much we could do it again - the only minor criticism would be that some of the rooms are in need of a bit a revamp - but this had no effect on our weekend at all - big thank you once again to Peter and all the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerStafford, Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Jackie,
Thank you very much for lovely comment's of which i have passed on to all my team.Hope you all had a nice holiday & a good rest.Thank you very much for the thank you card & hope to see you soon with the photo's,sorry it as taken me a while to reply but i have been on holiday myself to sunny Stafford.

Kind Regards

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (703)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 703 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

Went here with a friend for afternoon tea on a groupon voucher. There was a wedding on and so nobody could care less about us. We were shoved in the far corner by the fire exit after having asked twice to be seated (at reception and at the bar) as no waitresses were around. We were brought our afternoon tea which, if I'd paid full price for it, I would have sent it back and refused to pay. Poor choice of cheap sandwich fillings with cheap bread, shop bought scones and a couple of cheap little bought in cakes. A tiny pot of tea which was in a stained tea pot and no offer of a refill. In fact, we didn't see the waitress again and our table wasn't cleared despite being there 2 hours.

There was only one other couple there who also looked unimpressed with their afternoon tea. The idea of groupon is that you provide excellent service and quality to attract new customers back. How wrong you have got it - I would never come back and would never pay full price. I enjoy going for afternoon tea and have payid between £25 to £50 for it at other hotels. Obviously i didn't expect it to be the Ritz but I at least expected it to be worth the stated price.

The hotel is tired and out of date and needs a full refurb, change in menu and change in staff. Perhaps you should consider going on 'The Hotel Inspector'.

A place with great potential but management haven't got a clue.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Vicki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerStafford, General Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you very much for your review please accept my apologies for the poor service experienced this is not our usual standard, we have enjoyed positive reviews for the standard of food so am somewhat surprised by your comments but will review the content with the chef.

Many thanks

Jeff Brimble
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We visited yesterday and had a very tasty and fresh afternoon tea.
The sandwiches were of very good quality and the scones very well presented and baked to perfection . The gentleman who served us was very polite and attentive . We had more coffee and thus was no trouble . I was very pleased and would visit again .

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank blighter48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerStafford, General Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you so much for your very kind reveiw I look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind regards

Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Went to the hotel for afternoon tea on a group on voucher. Staff were very welcoming shown to a nice table in the restaurant. I've done lots of afternoon teas and this stood up well - good sandwiches and cakes and we couldn't eat it all! The waitress brought fresh tea when we asked for hot water. My only slight criticism was a lack of earl grey - apparently they had four that day but they had all gone!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank WalsallEddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerStafford, General Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Many thanks for your review, please accept my apologies for lack of Earl Grey on this occasion

Kind regards

Jeff Brimble

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Had a cream tea with my elderley mother today with a groupon voucher purchased for £12 . This entitled us to two cream teas suposedly valued at £32.
I suspect that anyone paying full price would be extremely dissatisfied. As it was I paid somewhat less, but I did expect to get an equivalent offering, otherwise what would be the point of a voucher??
It seems to me that we had a substandard tea, because we were groupon customers.
This is a repeat performance, as we have previously used groupon vouchers at this hotel ( for an evening meal) and the standard of that meal was extremely poor too. My daughter who is vegetarian was given something inedible supposedlymade of cauliflower.
Not good value!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Max6053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerStafford, Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Max 6053
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your Groupon Afternoon Tea. I have passed on your comment's to my team .

Kind Regards
Peter Miller
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We go to quite a few of the Mercure hotels for the all inclusive weekends as they are such great value for money, these guys were so attentive and made our stay special, food quality is high and the wine was very drinkable...!! We contacted the hotel a few days before and request some extras and everything they said they would do they did, with no extra cost, location may not be quite as good as Telford Madeley etc but well worth a visit for the big local markets and great bakery's, well done guys you did a great job...oh and the sauna, and swimming pool was a great bonus..

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trotters100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerStafford, General Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Great - Thank you for your kind words, I am really pleased you had a good stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank tjhall01
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HotelManagerStafford, General Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penkridge
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
6.8 mi away
Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
11.4 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Stone
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Oak Farm Hotel
Oak Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hatherton
208 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
997 reviews
5.3 mi away
Travelodge Stafford Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel

Address: Pinfold Lane, Penkridge ST19 5QP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Penkridge
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Penkridge
Price Range: $78 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel is ideally located for both the leisure and business traveller, close to Junctions 12 and 13 of the M6 motorway. You can really relax at the Hotel, a wonderful setting surrounded by rural countryside in the peaceful market town of Penkridge. The hotel has a leisure centre and Free WiFi for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stafford Quality Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing