We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A plantation holding on ....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Green Castle Estate House
Ranked #1 of 2 Robin's Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Fabulous plantation house with great pool, shade and grounds to explore.
The owner has plans for development of 600 acres running down to the sea, so all the organic coconut oil production we were expecting to see has disappointingly been closed down with all local labour made redundant. Guess that's progress!
We were well looked after by Elaine, the estate manager, and a housekeeper. Everyone was very friendly.
One of our day's was spent on an all day, hot, guided walk from the plantation to the Black Beach and on to a fantastic waterfall/blue lagoon - not to be missed and definitely worth the slog.
If you like small, quiet places with a foot in history, then this is a place for you.

Room Tip: The plantation house has 3 huge bedrooms and any of them will be fine.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatFromPottenEnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
There are newer reviews for Green Castle Estate House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 47 of 47 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012

I almost didn't want to write a review for this place and keep it a secret; my wife and I had the old plantation house to ourselves, complete with a housekeeper who cooked fantastic Jamaican meals - thank-you Stacy! The 600 acres where the house is located encompasses stunning grounds and has a series of walks signposted so you can really explore the estate. There is a pool as well. Overall, if you are looking for total silence and wonderful views, plus great food - this is the place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

This is a 1600 acre former sugar plantation now leased out to interests ranging from orchid growing to cattle rearing and the production of coconut oil. We stayed in the Estate House and were the only guests as it happened so had the place to ourselves. We were well looked after by the Estate Manager, Elaine and the housekeeper, Laurie. Food was local, freshly prepared and delicious. The accommodation was clean & comfortable. The gardens are beautifully maintained and guests are free to wander along the extensive tracks leading to different parts of the estate. There is a swimming pool. An excellent venue for birdwatchers, the estate boasts a very respectable list of birds recorded there. Fully recommended for someone looking for a slightly different break.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NatureloverCotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Casual atmosphere, home-style cooking, lots of charm. Safe, friendly, very reasonably priced. Place clearly loved by staff and management. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We came to Jamaica for our sons wedding, but didn't want to stay at a cookie cutter resort. We wanted to experience the real Jamaica. And we found a jewel with Green Castle! From the moment we arrived and were greeted with fresh mango juice until the day we left, we enjoyed every moment of this beautiful area and its residents. The staff and locals in nearby Robins Bay are so friendly and genuine.Everyone made us feel welcome and relaxed. They prepared the most delicious, local flavors. The house itself sits upon a hill with spectacular views, has a large, clean pool and comfortable rooms with ocean breezes flowing thru. We are avid birders and found many endemics on the property. We stayed a week but could have easily stayed a month, as this is a perfect launching point to other nearby areas. I have fallen in love with Jamaica and want to return soon to Green Castle.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CynthiaPatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pepa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin's Bay
20.1 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,305 reviews
102.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
10.9 mi away
Tamarind Great House
Tamarind Great House
#2 of 2 in Oracabessa
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Strawberry Fields Together!
Strawberry Fields Together!
#1 of 1 in Robin's Bay
273 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Blue House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
12.4 mi away
GoldenEye
GoldenEye
#1 of 2 in Oracabessa
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Castle Estate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Castle Estate House

Address: Robins Bay Road, Robin's Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Mary Parish > Robin's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Robin's Bay
Price Range: $122 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Castle Estate House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Castle is a private 1600 acre pristine rainforest eco resort suitable for all travellers and the perfect place for a holiday vacation for families, groups, couples and eco adventurers. Its an amazing 1600-acre original plantation with a four bedroom-suite villa, four bedroom suites cottage and a two bedroom apartment. Magnificent rolling hills and the most amazing views of the Caribbean Sea and the Blue Mountains. Also on the estate is an organic coconut oil cold-pressed production facility, a commercial ginger operation, 300 year old Spanish tower, waterfall, rivers, ancient ruins, a Taino Indian burial site, an apiary, acres of coconut, cocoa, guava and pimento trees. Green Castle with its many hiking trails is a bird lover's paradise with over 170 different species of birds documented on the property, 27 of which are endemic to Jamaica. A short walk from the Estate House is 1.5 miles of beachfront for your enjoyment. There are many activities close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Green Castle Estate House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Castle Estate House Jamaica/Saint Mary Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing