We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous time - felt like we experienced the real Jamaica”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robin's Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yerba Buena Guest Cabins
Ranked #2 of 2 Robin's Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 30, 2011

This was a family trip we will always remember. Agape was incredibly helpful in making arrangements. We had a friendly and very safe driver waiting at the airport in Kingston, and were introduced to Jamaica with the drive across the island. The guest cabins were very clean and comfortable, with a nice ocean breeze. Rustic outdoor showers were a treat coming from a relentless winter in Maine. it is a short walk down to the family's small beach, which had some pretty good snorkeling, and there is a fee-based large sand beach next door that we enjoyed. Neighbor Damon was our chef for the week, making great juices, coconut porridge, and extensive fruit platters for breakfast, and a wide array of amazing authentic stews, plantain, banana, cassava, taro, even an evening of jerk chicken. The food was fantastic, and it was clear that Agape worked to ensure that we had as diverse a culinary experience as possible. She even arranged for dinner one evening to be in a neighbor's garden, so we could experience a little of how another family eats and lives.

It was really great to have a family share their small bit of paradise with guests. Agape offered us many options for excursions guided by friends and neighbors. We enjoyed night-time crab hunting, fishing from the shore, a hike to a fantastic water fall, swimming and a boat ride back, a shopping trip to the local market, and Kwao took the kids to visit to their farm land to harvest "jellies," the young coconut.

Overall we had an outstanding time. I am very happy that my kids (ages 11 & 13) were able to visit Jamaica and not even drive past the large fancy resorts. We ate great food, enjoyed getting to know the family and some neighbors, and had plenty of time to hang out and read, snorkel and relax. Exactly the Jamaican vacation I had hoped for, and an experience that is not easy to find. If you are looking for an alternative to the posh resorts that could be on any beach in the tropics the world over, if you appreciate clean, simple accommodations, and want to leave Jamaica knowing a little of what it is like to live there, Yerba Buena is a unique and exceptional experience.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric_Gallandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 24 of 24 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2010

When you are not looking for a exclusive 5 star resort, but more interested in the real Jamaica and its culture, this was the perfect holiday!
Family Adams is very generous and welcoming. It felt as home as soon as we arrived. We had our own cabin, which was really cosy, in Jamaican style of bamboo and wood, nice private bathroom with outside shower, surrounded by fruit trees and breathtaking sea view. Every morning we watched the daybreak on our covered porch with only the sound of the sea and birds. They even have their own private beach!
The food is delicious! Every day we got some fresh fruit from their yard and dinner was surprising. At first we did not know what to expect from vegetarian food, as we did not know it could be so variated! Every day we ate something else, which really was a surprise for us!
In their surroundings we made some beautiful hiking tours! Together with Lion the Bushman we hiked for a few hours to the Black Sand Beach and hidden waterfalls. It was amazing! Just you and nature, no other tourists even near us! No cars, nothing!
Family Adams arranged more tours for us during our holiday. They arranged a private driver for us who brought us to Ocho Rios, Port Antonio and the Blue Mountains for some special coffee!
Our holiday was an unique experience which we normally would not have experienced due to this family. They showed us what real Jamaica is and we loved it! We would recommend them to everybody who is not afraid of a bit adventure and who is interested in nature and culture! Cause this is the way it should be!
Kwao and Agape, thank you for the loving holiday!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peer-and-trudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Yerba Buena was a delightfully authentic country farm with modern amenities. All of the locals i met in Robins bay were lovely and there is a friendly local shop. Magnificent views over the rocky coastline and a small beach 2 minutes away with its own blue hole for bathing. Many local walks along the stunning coastline and inland to the bush. I would highly reccomend these guest cabins as i had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalie101019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Absolutely gorgeous natural environment-- a great place to get a real taste of Jamaica.
Small bamboo abodes built right along the sea. Outdoor showers, comfortable rooms, great porch to watch the sunrise over the sea. Beautiful yard and gardens and fruit trees. A stone stairway leads down to a small, quiet beach perfect for swimming.
Set in a small, safe, welcoming community. Great local guides can bring you fishing, crab hunting, hiking to beaches and waterfalls, or out for a night of crazy dancing and partying in nearby Annotto Bay. Run by a nice Jamaican family-- they are very committed to making your stay the best it can be. Also, both husband and wife are excellent cooks.
A great place to relax, explore and experience Jamaica.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emfalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

We felt like we got to experience the real Jamaica. The staff and locals were incredibly friendly. The flowers and vegetation were beautiful. The neighborhood children were charming and adorable. The ocean view was amazing. What a terrific place to relax!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank PricklyPear088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

If you want to go to a place where you can leave it all behind, this is the place for you. The accomodations are probably not what you are used to coming from the USA, but they are exactly what is needed to immerse into the 'real Jamaica'. Situated only a few hundred feet from the sea, the sounds of the surf will lull you into the best nights sleep you've had in years.
The food is absolutely amazing. Totally vegan, which was a new experience for us, but the quality is that of food you read reviews about. If you crave sweets, bring some with you, the local supermarket is not stocked with food you may be used too.
The owners went out of their way to make our stay memorable and even with 75% of our trip being rained on, we are ready to return.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YerbaBuenaJA, Owner at Yerba Buena Guest Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2010

Thank you! We're so glad that you have good memories of your trip - you were both wonderful guests. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yerba Buena Guest Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yerba Buena Guest Cabins

Address: Strawberry Field, Robin's Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Mary Parish > Robin's Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Robin's Bay
Price Range: $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-run property, with three beautiful, natural cabins each set in its own private yard. All of the yards are surrounded by fruit trees (mango, banana, etc.) and have lawn space and flowers. Our beautiful, small beach is safe for children. Come get a taste of the real, natural Jamaica! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yerba Buena Guest Cabins Jamaica/Saint Mary Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing