We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A for Astonishing - A for Astoria”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Assagao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2013

They often say "Good things come in small packages", and so is the case of Hotel Astoria, Assagaon. With rooms tucked amidst/and around a 200-year old heritage home and natural surroundings, Hotel Astoria is one of the oldest standing guesthouses in Assagaon. Owner/staff - Aaron n fly, make sure they cater to all basic needs of their guests. My 3-day stay here was a pleasant one; right from the airport pick up/drop to the chats with uncle Edwin, aunt Aida and the other help staff. The food cooked is home-made, and cooked using the freshest of ingredients (available from the hotel's own spice garden). Not to mention the seafood delicacies, they just leave you craving for more.

Without doubt my first-choice destination during trips to Goa !!!!

Warning: A share of rich Goan history on offer. The Fonseca's are not going to have any leaf unturned at the end of your stay; from hospitality to culture.

Recommended: For all budget travelers, preferably well-versed with Goa and its diverse culture. You'll be ASTORISHED !!!!

Room Tip: Head here if you are ready for a relaxed ambiance at a budget price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 30mel30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 91 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

To all the travelers - Please go somewhere else if you don't wanna spoil your Goan Holidays !!

As it was was the last Hotel of our trip and we required a hotel just for a day halt. We found it very cheap online so we booked this hotel. This Hotel is run by a family who is after your money only. The Hotel owner came to pick us as we were lost. However, the hotel was only 4-5 mins away by car, we thought he came as a helping hand, hey wait, he added the transfer charge also in the final bill. This hotel is a scary house. Rooms were really bad- Cockroaches, lizard and flies will be sharing your room. The Hotel staff (Astoria Family) were biggest turn off. They will not help you to get rid of the situation. The cheapest thing was that, they were following us all the time. We were worried about luggage too. At last around 7 p.m we asked them for a car hire, the amount they told us was 200 % then the normal charge. Luckily we met a Car Driver, who were as mad as us, he dropped us to our destination.

Room Tip: Don't Book a room at this Hotel. That's the best tip I can give you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Attaboy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

3 years in a row. I truly felt going to my house in another city. so much of care that you don't find in any other hotels. Most of them in hotel businesses state they give the comfort of home, but its only business, but Astoria knows what the guest needs and they care you and treat you like a family. The nature in the property in untouched. The hotel is very clam, birds chirping makes you feel relaxed. its just home away from home. Uncle Edwin, aunty Ida, Arron and Nakul thanks a lot.

Room Tip: All the rooms in the property are good and cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sailesh8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I spent a part of my vacation at the hotel and really enjoyed my stay here. It was perfect!

The staff were very accommodating, nice and helpful, they always greeted me with a smile and a hello. I think they did their best to make the guests feel welcome. I really was a part of big family. Special thanks to Nakul and Aaron – hotel managers.

The hotel has a good location to the beaches (Vagator, Baga, Anjuna) and the main town of Mapusa are around 15/20 min by scooter with local buses and taxi's are available. This hotel is a quite place to get away from it all and a relaxing holiday will be had.

The clean and cozy room was well furnished with cupboard and racks to store the clothes, small refrigerator and big bad.

The Chef produced good evening meals for days when I did not feel like going out for dinner, so I was never disappointed.

A great little place at an excellent price!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dmitriy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Very nice rooms, good food, ideal location but the best were the staff of the hotel. We enjoyed 7 days in GOA because of them. They were very friendly, helpful and made us feel comfortable. I can only recomend the Astoria Mapusa Hotel to everyone. Thank you very mach! Y. Ponomarev

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YuriPonomarev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

A great experience to be in Goa. Astoria has a friendly & outgoing staff. Peaceful & calm area.. It is away from those busy district such as Candolim. Great stay. It is also quite nearby to the Wednesday Anjuna Flea Market. (MUST GO)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alepwolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Quaint place in a lovely location, but very, very neglected, at least for the european traveller. We have arranged to be picked up at the airport, which we've been but the gentleman has asked us to pay him straight away, which we found a little bit abrupt. Then he (the man is always available) offered us a sightseeing tour at a very expensive price, we went up to one of the beaches and found it for much cheaper. But, the best value is a tour arranged daily by the Tourist office which has to be booked one day in advance-it is quick but dirt cheap and one does get to see a whole lot. The room was extremely basic and not at all well maintaned, we had preoblems getting warm water too, but if you wanted a very cheap place to stay, that's OK:

The food was delicious, although we found the breakfast to be lacking. The biggest highlight of our stay was extremely helpful Aaron-he really bent backwards to please us.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouLouCroatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Assagao
0 mi away
Ancora Beach Resort
Ancora Beach Resort
#105 of 119 in Calangute
161 reviews
21.1 mi away
Shangrila Beach Hotel, Goa
3.4 mi away
Lua Nova Hotel
Lua Nova Hotel
#81 of 119 in Calangute
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Amigo Plaza
Amigo Plaza
#10 of 39 in Salcette
168 reviews
1.9 mi away
Treebo Green Park
Treebo Green Park
#1 of 5 in Mapusa
66 reviews
24.6 mi away
Hotel Panchsheel
Hotel Panchsheel
#3 of 5 in Margao
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Address: Assagao, Bardez 403 507, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Assagao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Assagao
Price Range: $23 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Astoria 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Astoria Assagao, Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing