We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice”
Review of Surfside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surfside Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Queensland B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 7, 2009

We called one morning in August to get a room for that night. Luckily we got the last room. As soon as the owner picked up the phone, I knew we had made the right decision. Her warm and friendly voice is exactly the tone of the establishment. She asked us what time we would arrive and our CC info. The room had a wonderful deck where we got up early, drank coffee and watched the beach. Sublime. The room itself had 2 rooms, suitable for a family with 2 TVs. There was a jacuzzi but we didn't use it. The continental breakfast was nice-I had bagels and the owner(husband) kept us filled with lots of hot coffee.
The inn is directly across from Queensland Beach. Lots of nostalgia for this 50 year-old Nova Scotian. It is as beautiful as ever!!! I do miss the canteen though. A bit sanitized for my liking now.
The innkeeper suggested we try the Trellis Cafe for dinner but we foolishly planned to go to the much touted Dauphinee Inn (see my review). In the end he was exactly right and we had dinner there and went back the next morning to hang out a bit more. Wonderful place and AMAZING staff. If you go for breakfast, they have a lobster omlette!! Back to the inn there is nothing negative about the Surfside. But we arrived much later than we had said and we couldn't get intoour room as the owners were running errands. It is a B&B soyou need to keep this in mind. But no problem, we popped across to the beach for a couple of hours. Don't miss thisplace!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterRipley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for Surfside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 98 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2009

We have stayed at the Surfside Inn a number of times over the past few years. Each and every experience has been wonderful. The rooms are nice, although I would be less likely to stay if none of the rooms with the double whirlpool were available. They add slightly to the price, but are worth it.

It would be a mistake to not take advantage of one of the packages that includes supper. We have loved every dish we have tried.

In the off-season there are cheap rates available.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kennyBNewbrunswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2008

Hi Folks,

Thanks for a wonderful 42nd wedding anniversary stay at your Inn. It was
great. And yes, Bill, your chowder is the BEST.

Sincerely,

Christina and John

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JohnHylas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2008

We expected a suite for the price, but the room was one of the smallest we have ever stayed in. The explanation given was that the double jacuzzi tub justified the "suite" description. Perhaps the other rooms are larger, but this one should have been priced accordingly. The sound of the other whirlpools in the Inn continued past midnight and at 6 am we were awakened to a terrible whine/groan in the pipes. The service was fine and the location is very nice, across the road from the beach.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jbches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Surfside Inn on the weekend of June 6, 2008. It was my boyfriends birthday and we wanted a romantic weekend away, we received exactly what we were looking for. The hosts were personable and kind and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Our room was private and relaxed with a breathtaking view of the ocean across from Queensland Beach. The food was amazing and the staff were friendly, helpful and delightful to speak with. I would HIGHLY suggest The Surfside Inn as THE PLACE TO STAY while in Queensland or any local area. Thank you to Surfside for your hospitality, you help make our trip one we will never forget.

Kerri from Ontario.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kerbear2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2008

We had a private entrance, a room with a Jacuzzi and a view of the ocean, but the best part was laying in bed in the morning listening to the waves roll onto the shore.

I don’t know which was better the room or the friendly service we received at Surfside.
When we return to Nova Scotia (and we will) there is only one place we would stay and that’s the Surfside Inn.
Thanks for bringing the ice up to the room!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank minbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2008

We just returned from a 10 day driving tour around the Lighthouse and Evangeline Routes. Our first night (May 27) was at the Surfside Inn. It had been a long flight and I had previously booked the "Romantic Getaway" in the Honeymoon Suite(#6). We were greeted by owner, Bill Batcules and shown to our room. Since we had called ahead and advised him of our ETA, he had a bottle of chilled champagne and truffles waiting in the room. Our room had a sitting area, whirlpool bath for two, and a nice view of the bay across the street. Listening to the waves at night is great. Bill is also the Chef, and quite accomplished. As such, the menu is limited to a few, but tasty, choices. I had the pork medallions with mango chutney and my wife had seared scallops; both delicious. Bill also prepared us a large bowl of mussels cooked in his special beer/herb broth - this should not be missed! I was somewhat disappointed in the breakfast (bagels/toast/cereal/fruit), but it really didn't detract. Total cost was $285 which included the room, champagne, excellent three course dinner for two with a bottle of red wine, and a lite breakfast. We would definitely stay here again.
Larry & Kelly

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank RoseAlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queensland
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 1 in Fall River
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clifty Cove Motel
#1 of 1 in Indian Harbour
151 reviews
Larinda's Landing Oceanfront Cot...
#1 of 1 in Boutiliers Point
115 reviews
Dauphinee Inn
#1 of 3 in Hubbards
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Inn

Address: 9609 Hwy 3 | RR 2, Queensland, Nova Scotia B0J 1T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Queensland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Queensland
Price Range: $100 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surfside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the golden sands of Queensland Beach, the Inn is centrally located only 30 minutes from Halifax, Peggy's Cove, and Lunenburg. Built by a sea captain circa 1880, the Inn has been restored keeping the Victorian elegance while providing all of the modern amenities. Our rooms come complete with whirlpool tubs, ocean views, cozy beds, and our healthy breakfast in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Surfside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Inn Nova Scotia/Queensland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing