We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Agriturismo Baglio Fontana
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Ciuri di Badia(Buseto Palizzolo)(Great Value!)
$40
$32
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Zina Park Hotel(Custonaci)(Great Value!)
$68
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Grotticelli(Scopello)(Great Value!)
$60
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
$73
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
History Hotel(Valderice)(Great Value!)
$72
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Oasi da Paolo(Castelluzzo)
$91
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Al Ritrovo Hotel(San Vito lo Capo)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baglio dello Zingaro Hotel(Scopello)(Great Value!)
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Catarin(Castelluzzo)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveler rating
55
32
16
18
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
32
16
18
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstunalovely courtyarda great place to stayrisottodinnerwinesundayagriturismopoolcoursesvideomuseumcardishes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 144 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We had booked this place well in advance and booked dinner in advance as well. We arrived to find the staff quite occupied with a large cooking class of perhaps 25 or 30 and stressed at having to find someone to check us in. The place is lovely: every detail of the outside and the interior furnishings are elegant and personal. Our bedrooms were quite beautiful with gorgeous views of the hills beyond and the lovely courtyard below. They were not, however, quite ready for us: several rooms lacked soap and the one we had requested with two beds did not have the two beds separated and ready.

we had looked forward to our dinner. we didn't mind being told that dinner would be what was on the menu for the cooking class, who were eating what they had made. It was quite a good dinner, but not, I think the best effort of what is clearly a very good kitchen and we definitely felt like an afterthought. Breakfast was adequate but the absence of sufficient staff in the off-season made finding someone to question difficult: for example, we never could find out why the thermal part of the lovely pool wasn't working.
This is a beautiful place and we were glad we went but it didn't live up to its potential as it might have had it been better staffed.

Room Tip: I loved Room 1 on the 2nd floor.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We had an amazing stay at this hotel. The owner was wonderful. We requested dinner at the hotel 2 nights in a row and it was amazing. I would recommend eating here. The breakfast was okay. If you want espresso you need to request it. The rooms were large. We had a bedroom and separate sitting area and balcony. The location is convenient to travel around the area but there is almost nothing in the town. The hotel is in a remote area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia1284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

My husband and I were on a cycling holiday and stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Sergio was a perfect host and organised a taxi to Erice for us, nothing was too much trouble. We loved the quiet surroundings and lovely pool. The wine was excellant and the food was a delight. I especially recommend the anti-pasta and the risotto we were served! All home cooked and lovingly prepared. We recommend this hotel to couples and families , it is both charming and relaxing!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsTomlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Even though this is a beautiful setting and the building has a lot of charm, we were very disappointed with this agriturismo. The pool IS beautiful and the backyard. However, we never saw the owners of this property. The moroccan couple that took care of Baglio were so very sweet and helpful. The lunch our first day was very good, but then the exact same thing was served to us for dinner. You have to have a car there, eventhough they told us that you did not need a car. We did have a driver to pick us up in Palermo, but it is expensive to have him drive you around. The internet is very spotty because you are in a mountainous region, but the worst was that we did NOT have hot water. After a day of travel that is not a welcoming feature! It was a bit run-down and thread-bare. Also, they advertise a "wellness center" there on property, which simply is not the truth. When asked about a massage, they showed me to a dirty room next to the kitchen with a massage table in it. The sauna...they said was in the garden, but I did not see that. Maybe it was because it was off-season, but they had told us they had a boat and could take us to the beach and nearby attractions like the Egadi Islands. The staff said that was not the case and they would have to try and arrange a boat for us. All in all, this property COULD be lovely, but it just did not live up to what was presented on internet or brochure and we ended us leaving after one night. We were then told we not only had to pay for the first night (we had already sent in a one night deposit) but we were charged additional charges for leaving early. Quite disappointing after we had looked forward to this relaxing part of our 3 week trip to italy.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gypsygirl1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

Baglio Fontana looks amazing on their website (dont they all), which is why we chose it. The town is very small, quiet, and a bit nondescript. The farmland surrounding the hotel is lovely though. Sadly, as soon as we went inside the reception building, all our expectations were dashed as the dated furnishings and poor decor suddenly plummetted the standard of the place through the floor. But worse was to come....

Our room was located off the main courtyard, on the ground floor. The bedroom was very basic, stone floored, with dated furnishings, a slightly damp smell, and cheap, broken furniture and fittings. What a disappointment. Then, the bathroom... It was tiny, which was fine, but it felt dirty, and extremely cheap. The shower cubicle was tiny, plastic and grimy, and when I opened the shower doors, EUGH - the tiles and the cheap plastic shower fittings were entirely covered in black mould. I was aghast that they could legitimately take money for the condition of this room, and still claim to be a 4* hotel. There was even a large industrial-sized bottle of Dove shower gel in there, which made it feel even more shabby.

So, the food.
We had dinner in the main restaurant. Unfortunately, the owner was also entertaining a large group of people that night, and my partner & I were somewhat forgotten. The feeling was that they had just opened up, and did not have nearly enough staff. The food itself was adequate, what little we received - but after our starters we were left for over half an hour without even our plates being cleared or being offered another drink or anything. Tired, hungry and annoyed, we did complain. To their credit, the man running the restaurant was very apologetic and did not charge us for what we ate and drank, claiming to have been understaffed in the kitchen.

The pool is lovely, though, and very relaxing. There is also a great play area for kids, which I imagine will get lots of use when weddings etc use the venue.

Over all, Baglio Fontana is a great set of buildings, with great promise. The interiors and staffing, however, need a LOT of help to make this an appealing place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyAmelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews