We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, amazing dinner”
Review of Chez Pierre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chez Pierre
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Boumalne Dades
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
168 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, amazing dinner”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel was booked for us by our tour guide and we had the half board option. Overall, excellent place to stay - large rooms, with decent bathroom and great views. The staff are excellent and very hospitable. We noted afterwards that the price for food was quite steep, so try and get this included in your room price if possible as no other restuarants around - very remote/secluded destination. WIFI only works in the reception/dining area but not a big problem.

The dinner was one of the best that we've had in Morocco - very different type of cuisine and quite tasty. It is served in several courses and caters to your own dietary requirements. The food is of the quality of fancy restuarant in London or Paris. Breakfast was satisfactory.

Well worth staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon100001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auberge_chezpierre, Public Relations Manager at Chez Pierre, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thanks very much for your enthusiastic review! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and the cuisine that we are proud to offer. The price of our set menu 5-course French/Italian/Moroccan fusion dinner is €21 whether it is booked in with your room or not. It's true that this is more than the €12-15 you might pay for 3 courses based on the usual tagine/couscous fare elsewhere in the region, but we still think that it is fantastic value for money - we agree with you that it compares with anything you'd find in a fancy Parisian restaurant, where you'd pay an awful lot more! We hope to welcome you back again in the future, and that you'll enjoy your next visit even more! Best wishes from all the team at Chez Pierre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    146
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
183
417
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We booked a travel tour and Chez Pierre was the first stop of our 3 night package. The rooms were spacious with a large bathroom and very clean and well maintained. The best surprise of all was the delicious 5 course meal included in the package. The staff were extremely helpful and the service excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auberge_chezpierre, Public Relations Manager at Chez Pierre, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and thanks very much for the positive review! We hope we will be able to welcome you back again some day - we are always working to improve our provision, and we hope you will enjoy your next stay even more! Best wishes from all the team at Chez Pierre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I do not have enough good things to say about my wife's and my experience at Chez Pierre. This once Belgian owned establishment is now owned and run by two Berber Brothers. We were fortunate enough to meet one, Ismail, who was simply amazing. We have never felt more welcome in a place while we have traveled for two months through Mali, Senegal, Mauritania, and Morocco. Ismail and his staff were always amazing, the rooms spotless and beautifully decorated, and the grounds quite amazing.
Unfortunately, the brother who is a chef was out of town, but the staff still managed a decent dinner for the price and the breakfast that comes with the base room rate it top notch.
We left wanting only to stay another night, but knowing we must move on. As I write this, I wish I was having tea with Ismail and planning another hike in the gorge.
We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathan667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auberge_chezpierre, Public Relations Manager at Chez Pierre, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thanks very much for your kind words, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay here! It was a pleasure to have you, and we really hope to welcome you back in the future. We are always working to improve the hotel and its services, and hope you will enjoy your visit even more next time! Best wishes from Ismail and all the team at Chez Pierre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Positives:
Dinner (duck with red-wine sauce) was delicious and the host, Ismail welcomed us with kind hospitality. The rooms were spacious and beautiful. Waking to such a breathtaking scenery was the highlight of the trip.

Negatives:
The path to our room was not well-lit. We had to resort to using our mobile phones as torches. This would not have been very much an issue but there were many possible hazards - stone steps and an empty swimming pool. Also, the heating was not working very well. (it stopped during the night)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toomanyshengs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auberge_chezpierre, Owner at Chez Pierre, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thanks for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and the cuisine! Sorry that you had a problem finding your room - usually the garden and all the paths to the rooms are well lit, but one of us may have knocked the switch by mistake and we will pay particular attention to checking this in future - thanks for letting us know. We hope we may be able to welcome you again some time, Ismail and all the team at Chez Pierre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Warm welcome on a cold day. Tea drinking around the French woodburner, followed by a guided tour of the picturesque gardens and terraces leading to the rooms. Stunning views both up and down the gorge. Dinner - what can we say! - a medley of surprises, all introduced and described by Driss, who served us impeccably. Delightful after dinner conversation with Ismail, who can also offer personally guided tours throughout Morocco. We loved the corner cabinet and its treasures in the dining room...

Room Tip: Ask for room at low level if mobility is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisara14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auberge_chezpierre, Owner at Chez Pierre, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thanks for your kind recommendation, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Chez Pierre. We'd love to know how to earn 5 stars from you - we are always working to improve our service, and hope to welcome you again some time for an even better visit! Ismail and all the team at Chez Pierre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our brief overnight stay at the hotel. This was organised through camel Safaries. Large room and beautifully presented. The food was excellent and would return again to enjoy the scenery which we didn't really have time to enjoy fully.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auberge_chezpierre, Owner at Chez Pierre, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thanks very much for your kind review! We are please that you enjoyed your stay here, even if it was only a brief one. We'd love to know what we could do to earn 5 stars from you! We are always working to improve the hotel and the service we offer, and we do hope to welcome you again sometime... maybe for longer! Ismail and all the team at Chez Pierre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
264 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Spent 3 great nights in Chez Pierre at the 27 km mark of Dades Gorge. Well thought out hotel with some good views, large rooms and a nice pool/terrace area (that really wasn't useful for us in Feb but will be really nice once the weather warms up). Staff was very friendly and helpful. We chose it because it was the only place we could find with heat in the rooms (although centrally controlled, and not on all the time, but it was warm enough). The food was really good and professionally presented although maybe a bit expensive.

There is some decent walking down through the palmaeries directly below the hotel, or you can take a share taxi down to "Monkey Fingers" (ask to be let out at Kasbah Marghad). This is a very spectacular loop hike up a side canyon with some fun scrambling. We were able to do it on our own with a hand-drawn map provided by the hotel but it wouldn't be a bad idea to hire a guide (150-200dr). For the same price you can also have a guide take you for a hike up to the top of the ridge (we planned to do this but it got too windy).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auberge_chezpierre, Owner at Chez Pierre, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thanks very much for your kind review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and managed to follow the map on your walk! We hope to offer very good value in comparison with other hotels in the area, especially with our exceptional menu - and we are always working to improve our service to our clients. We hope to welcome you again sometime, Ismail and the team at Chez Pierre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boumalne Dades
9.9 mi away
Hotel Xaluca Dades
Hotel Xaluca Dades
#2 of 6 in Boumalne Dades
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Gazelle du Dades
Hotel La Gazelle du Dades
#4 of 6 in Boumalne Dades
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
14.4 mi away
Amskou
Amskou
#3 of 6 in Boumalne Dades
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Riad Timadrouine
Riad Timadrouine
#1 of 13 in Tinerhir
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Babylon Dades
Hotel Babylon Dades
#2 of 41 in Boumalne Dades
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
11.9 mi away
La perle du Dades
La perle du Dades
#3 of 41 in Boumalne Dades
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Pierre

Property: Chez Pierre
Address: Douar Ait Oufi - Ait Sedrat Jbel Soufla | Route des Gorges du Dadès Km 26, Boumalne Dades, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Boumalne Dades
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Boumalne Dades
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Chez Pierre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chez Pierre Tinerhir
Chez Pierre Hotel Tinerhir
Chez Pierre Morocco/Boumalne Dades

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing