We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Desert Jewel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kasbah Tizzarouine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kasbah Tizzarouine
Ranked #17 of 40 Boumalne Dades B&B and Inns
Gunnislake, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Desert Jewel”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Touring by motorbike we really needed somewhere to relax after some hard days on the road. The pool was what attracted us when we were booking online and what a great feature it turned out to be. How the water could be so cold in such a hot place was beyond us, but it certainly was refreshing.
We booked three nights, but initially thought that this would be too long. What would we do? We were the only guests for much of the time. We mentioned that we might check out early and thee management offered to upgrade our room if we stayed the 3 nights, which we did. The room was quite spacious, with a separate seating area, but was rather dark. A door from the bedroom opened on a small, walled courtyard. We couldn't see over the walls! All the staff were friendly and helpful. The situation of the hotel was quite impressive. There were great views across the green river valley to the high mountains beyond. Just outside the front gates was the stony desert. In the middle of the day my wife thought she cold see a pillar of smoke which turned out to be a twister. It blew in through the gates and scattered the poolside furniture. A small taste of the desert. During the days we rode our bike up into the Dades Gorge. Well worth the effort. We also took a walk through the fields and orchards in the river valley.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveandSue97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    27
    20
    10
    3
See reviews for
17
36
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on a 10 day road trip and this was the best we got.
The rooms are very nice, the view is amazing, the food is even better than the view but... The STAFF is what makes this place so special!
We would be back for the staff alone, you can have a nice hotel any where in the world but what really makes a difference is the staff.
I hope the owner(s) realize that because the people working here are just amazing, didn't got to meet the chef but had some great food, the receptionist, the restaurant staff (Mohammed and Ibrahim), the team playing djambé, and everyone else made our stay very very special.
THANK YOU

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuiPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2013

In Kasbah Tizzarouine we had the best dinner in Morocco. The breakfast on terrace, with a fantastic view on valley and Atlas mountain, was the best to start your day. Quiet and cozy ambience. We highly recommend it

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maroulitsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just driving up to this hotel is impressive - looks like an old castle. And we were met at the door with cups of mint tea. There was an awesome panoramic view which, if you sit outside, the restaurant overlooks. We stayed here on our way back from camping in the desert (and it was July), so the pool was a refreshing treat. It was a bit on the cold side, but we were so hot that it was welcome. The rooms were comfortable with air conditioning (although we did have to contact the front desk to get the remote control for it so that we could operate it).

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AmericanExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were traveling around Morocco in July, which is not the best time for visiting. We were therefore very glad that we found this Kasbah, and decided to stay for 3 nights. Because it is located on the top of a hill at 1562m (with a magnificient view on the Draa valley) there is always an almost fresh wind. Together with the nice swimming pool with reasonable cold water, it felt like a fata morgana. The breakfast and dinner were always good, and the waiters Mohammed and Ibrahim were very gentle and nice, speaking good English and French (and Mohammed even some words in Dutch) and were very helpful. We had a triple room, which turned out to be a suite with a bedroom and a living room, and a very good air conditioning. The free wifi, also in the swimming pool, and the TV in the lobby with international sport channels made our stay complete. Thanks to Mohammed and Ibrahim we had an excellent stay, and I would recommend this Kasbah to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen vdS v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We have been travelling now for over 12 weeks, staying here and there and are about to start some serious reviews as this Kasbah as well as other are in our very high rating list. We have travelled vis bookings.com, lonely planet and just winged it checking from one to another.
This Kasbah is sensational. The man on the front gate so welcoming as you arrive, the front of house manager and the others in reception so courteous, well mannered, knowledgable and polite. Sensational service. Thankyou to the man at the gate racing to help us with luggage, the pool, icy cold and welcome from the heat of the desert.
Then to the two most fabulous waiters, come everything men, Mohammed being one gorgeous, happy helpful, delightful person from morning until night and the other equally as generous with his time and concern for our well being. Food sensational thanks to the chef and the room staff.
We stayed three days, it was so sad to go, we thought we were in heaven. A few teething problems of a newish hotel, with the water, but it made no difference as everything about this dry desert inn was exemplary. Just wow! We love these guys and Thankyou, we will return and bless you all you deserve the best life offers, thanks.

Room Tip: Your choice but they are all great and we looked
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
den haag
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a good stop between desert (Merzouga) and your way back to Marrakech (it is just a few hundreds meters from the road your driving on). It has a nice swimming pool (although very cold!!), amazing view and a fantastic restaurant (the best food during our 14 days Morocco trip!)

If you want to stay more days than just a stop than it is good to know that it also a good basis for visiting Gorge Dades and you can even visit Gorge Todra from here (about 1 1/2 hour drive).

Tips for families with children:
- the family suite is also suitable for families with older children than 3 years. At booking.com you will see this family suite for 2 adults and 2 children up to 3 years. Via booking.com we asked if older children were also allowed. We were allowed to be there with a 8 and 10 year old child without extra costs.
- it must be possible to be in the family suite with more (young) children. We had the following beds: a large double bed, two single beds of 1.30 meters length each and one bed with an estimated length of 1.80 meters. Besides this we think that it is maybe possible that they can make a third 1.30 metre bed of what now was a bench.
- the room was spacious
- the portions in the restaurant are so huge that you need no more than to order for two people (one waiter even told us this before ordering!).

Good to know for everyone:
- if possible try to have the waiter Mohammed. He was very kind and nice with the children. Unfortunately the other waiter was very very grumpy...
- the restaurant doesn't have a menu where you can see the prices. They told us that they have a 3 course menu with a fixed price (12 euro pp). They gave us the impression that this was the only possiblity but at the end we saw on our bill that the evening we didn't took a dessert that the price was lower. So you don't have to take 3 courses!!
- the bill of the restaurant you have to pay in cash in the restaurant
- the bill of the Kasbah (your room) you can pay at the reception and you can pay with visa card all the time (they make a print of your card and they call for a number so it is not depending whether the internet is working or not).
- Some rooms have a patio. Don't take a room special for the patio because this patio is very small (2 by 2 metres?) and surrounded by very high (3 meters high??) cement walls!!

We had a very pleasant stay and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwithchildren2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boumalne Dades hotels
10.8 mi away
Chez Pierre
Chez Pierre
#1 of 6 in Boumalne Dades
898 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Xaluca Dades
Hotel Xaluca Dades
#2 of 6 in Boumalne Dades
845 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel La Gazelle du Dades
Hotel La Gazelle du Dades
#4 of 6 in Boumalne Dades
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Amskou
Amskou
#3 of 6 in Boumalne Dades
80 reviews
4.0 mi away
La perle du Dades
La perle du Dades
#2 of 40 in Boumalne Dades
429 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casbah d'Hote La Jeanne Tourisme Ecologique
Casbah d'Hote La Jeanne Tourisme...
#7 of 40 in Boumalne Dades
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Tizzarouine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Tizzarouine

Property: Kasbah Tizzarouine
Address: Route de Tinerhir, Boumalne Dades 45150, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Boumalne Dades
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Boumalne Dades
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kasbah Tizzarouine 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a high plateau overlooking the Dades Valley, Kasbah Tizzarouine has a panoramic view you can only dream of. The Kasbah is constructed and held by a local Berber family (since 20 years!) and is famous for its good restaurant and hospitality. Accommodation ranges from standard rooms (single, double or triple) to cave-rooms (very romantic with panoramic view over the valley) and ensuite (family) rooms (with private salon), all rooms with private bathroom.Always working on a better comfort, the Kasbah now offers free Wifi to all its clients, and recently the traditional hammam has been opened, that can be booked on appointment for small groups, followed by a argan-massage.Don't miss out on the restaurant specialising in local cuisine, accompanied often by the inspiring rythms of djembé-music!The Kasbah can also be rented for incentives (capacity to sleep and cater up to 200 people). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kasbah Tizzarouine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Tizzarouine Morocco/Boumalne Dades

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing