We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remote but worth the journey”
Review of La perle du Dades

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La perle du Dades
Ranked #3 of 41 Boumalne Dades B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
304 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Remote but worth the journey”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Interesting 4X4 river crossing to arrive at La perle! We enjoyed our one night at La perle du Dades, especially the ice cold beer upon our arrival after a hot day in the desert. Our room was comfortable and the meals plentiful. Nice spacious gardens, pool and common lounge areas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tryharder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    60
    14
    9
    0
See reviews for
133
180
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Be prepared to work for the opportunity to stay at La Perle, it is out there. While relatively close to the town of Boumaine, which is tucked on the south side of the Atlas, the 5K cross-country drive out to the hotel is 4X4 material. The river crossing when we were there in November was manageable on arrival, but with rain falling most of the night, there was some cause for concern about departure. There is a "back way" to get out. There is a palpable feeling of relief on arrival. Like many hotels in Morocco, this is a French run establishment, and well run at that. Jean Michel and staff were welcoming and attentive. Our French language skills while not great were appreciated and entertained. You can feel the stress of travel drain out of your system as you stand in the courtyard and wonder why you'd ever want to leave.

Our room was large and comfortable. This is a relatively new facility. Built from the ground up and designed with all the Moroccan building elements, it has the feel of capturing the past with a sustainable foot in the future. Everything is meticulously maintained for comfort. The bathrooms are not Western in nature and in our room was only separated by a partial wall. This could be a deal breaker for some, but it was the third hotel room we'd had in country that had this feature.

I thought the kitchen would be a little more innovative on the French culinary scale, but it was more tangine and couscous, which were nicely prepared. There was a quiche that strayed from the norm and it was a welcomed alternative. I give the French credit for their ability to serve wonderful red wine in a dry country. Our waiter was the real treat in our dinner experience, young, gifted, engaging and full of hope for a bright future, he talked about the challenges of finding meaningful work as a young person in Morocco. These are the moments we live for in our travels, heartfelt connections to the folks we find ourselves living among. The breakfast on the patio was pleasant and typical, coffee was great and they served us cups before breakfast as we wandered the grounds.

We were at La Perle only one night and yearned to be able to return for an extended stay. There is a sense of isolation you need to prepare for. But the environment that isolates you is exquisite by any standard. Come, stay.

Room Tip: Get a room with an en suite bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jay r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My room had no door or even a wall in front of the toilet so I got dressed inthe middle of the night, walked downstairs and used the public toilet in the night when I neded privacy. The owner did show me a different room the next day when I asked it did have a door to the toilet but no where to sit and it had ladder to climb to the bed and she knew my husband was sick. Did not make sense to me.
The kasbah has many nice rooms but some are not good which creates a problem for groups. One of our group members had a room completely underground, which if you dont like small spaces is not a good choice but the owner never asked our preference and when asked if we could change rooms, nothing was available for that night. As the group leader this does not make me happy for my guests and I could not recommend this hotel as you don't know what room you will get. Some of the rooms are very well decorated with a place to sit instead of the floor and at least a partial wall to the toilet. As a group leader I can not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: never know what you will get. ask for a room where you don't have to look at the toilet from bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Everything was just great even though it stared to rain when we arrived.
The hotel (position,accomodation, rooms, pool, garden) and the service are great. We had a very good evening dinner with a good glass of wine - the breakfast was excellent too.

The patrons "Jean-Mi" and "Fanfan" are very friendly and hospitable - what an enrichment to hear from the "ecole mobile" they founded years ago. Really great persons with a heart for 3 !!!

I will never forget this great place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
168 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Although several people claim to be in the most beautiful hotel in the area, this comes close. A warm welcome of the owner and ten mintues later a great lunch (and a cold beer) is a good start of visiting La Perle De Dades.
Stop looking for a hotel in the Tinghir-area (very medioquer) and stop earlier or drive the extra 30 km if you come from the Mergouza-area.
The road to the Hotel is challenging, drive trough a small river, and you arrive at a well located house. The rooms are big and ours had even a Ipod-docking, showerhead worked and room very clean and foreign (Senegal The Gambia) decorated.
There is a theater, TV room, library, hamman, billiardroom and a great pool with plenty of relax places.
The food is with a French twist, that goes further than the classic Maroc Tajine. The Maroc Tajine is fine by the way...
Breakfast is very good, cornflakes, pancakes, fresh fruit, bread and coffee/tea. They probably (thanks to TripAdvisor) listend to the remarks earlier on.

Short: value for money!

Room Tip: Suites are nice, quite and cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CeeEst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston,Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We arrived tired and grumpy after a long, hot journey from Marrakesh and were immediately greeted by friendly smiling faces. We stayed one night in a nice suite, It is an underground Berber caves , very white, airy with three-rooms and living room separated by curtains, and Berber carpets.
We recomand this nice place to everyone visting Dades.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HannahMyrtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

On arrival, this is a wonderfull kasbah, very beautifully restored, with a pool, gardens and flowers everywhere.

Unfortunately most other things are very average. Service upon arrival is good, we got tea at a nice table. After that, all service just stopped. Dinner was just weird - please make good Maroccon food, not this. A dry tajine and a non descript starter. There were a LOT of French people, I think some of them friends of the owners. These friends tried to help in the kitchen which make things unclear. It is impossible to order a drink - we ended up walking into the kitchen. Since it is in the middle of nowhere you cannot go anywhere else for dinner.

Breakfast, I regret saying this, was a joke. The people next to us gave up and left. Table was dirty and was not cleaned so we moved all the stuff to some sidetable. In the meantime the owner was in the same room, surely he must have seen this. We didn't get what the other tables had and vice versa. And were those pancakes microwaved?? In Marocco?? It was just a mess. We checked out and continued our trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank rozeballetje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boumalne Dades hotels
11.9 mi away
Chez Pierre
Chez Pierre
#1 of 6 in Boumalne Dades
931 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Xaluca Dades
Hotel Xaluca Dades
#2 of 6 in Boumalne Dades
880 reviews
4.3 mi away
Amskou
Amskou
#3 of 6 in Boumalne Dades
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Hotel La Gazelle du Dades
Hotel La Gazelle du Dades
#4 of 6 in Boumalne Dades
104 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hotel Babylon Dades
Hotel Babylon Dades
#1 of 41 in Boumalne Dades
425 reviews
12.6 mi away
Auberge des Peupliers
Auberge des Peupliers
#2 of 41 in Boumalne Dades
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La perle du Dades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La perle du Dades

Property: La perle du Dades
Address: Ait Aissi Ait Hammou | CR Souk Lakhmiss, Boumalne Dades, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Boumalne Dades
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Boumalne Dades
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La perle du Dades 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La perle du Dades reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perle Du Dades Hotel Boumalne Dades
La Perle Du Dades Morocco/Boumalne Dades

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing