We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Built for the spanish” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartamentos Marina d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Apartamentos Marina d'Or
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Oropesa Del Mar
GreenLeadersSilver level
Herts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Built for the spanish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed in a friends apartment here. We were there for the may day bank holiday weekend. This place is purpose built as a holiday resort and is geared up for Spanish families who only go there for bank holidays and in the height of summer which means that other times it is like a ghost town.
While there the first few days it was full of people and everything was open. The brightly lit and musical carnival procession was on those nights which is a joy for children but slightly bizarre. The restaurants serve good food with good service and there are plenty of them with many shops and hotels alongside the many apartment blocks. The whole place is well maintained and clean and the well thought out apartments very secure. The beach which I believe is man made is long and actually very good and again clean. You can have a very pleasant walk along to the next area. However after the weekend literally everything was shut, only one hotel stays open but other than the beach and the gardens there is nothing open at all! No people either! We found it a bit eery. There are some lovely villages close by for all you need.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeBKHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinadOr_Vacaciones, Gerente at Apartamentos Marina d'Or, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
First of all, we would like to thank you for staying some days with us and for your valuations so positives about the good conditions of the appartments, the beach, the wonderful gardens and green areas in which it is a pleasure to have a walk, as you say. Not to forget the varied leisure and restauration offer with shops, restaurants, pubs, clubs, as well as the great shopping centre.
As you say, it is a holiday resort, but what makes us different is exactly that it is opened all year round offering sport, thematic and musical events, among others. Logically, in some periods of the year, the ocupation varies and depending of it, certain facilities are opened.
We have the privilege of having the beach, great trips to the surroundings, shows, day and night animation, parades, children parks, and the Spa, opened all year, where we can relax any time. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    126
    61
    46
    64
See reviews for
265
21
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
João Pessoa, Paraiba, Brazil
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

It was the best experience I had with a hotel in Europe, everything was too perfect! I certainly felt at home with comfort and luxury in size accommodations. Staff very attentive and helpful. Certainly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wallemberg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinadOr_Vacaciones, Gerente at Apartamentos Marina d'Or, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias Joao. Es un placer para nosotros leer palabras como las tuyas y saber que tu alojamiento con nosotros ha sido perfecto. Nuestros apartamentos se encuentran muy bien ubicados, equipados y con todos los detalles que hacen que os sintáis como en casa. Además al contratar los apartamentos multiservicios, podéis gozar de todos los servicios de un hotel pero con la comodidad de un apartamento.
Estamos seguros que habéis disfrutado vuestra estancia en Marina d’Or, dando un paseo por los preciosos Jardines, entrando en alguno de los 7 parques infantiles como el maravilloso Jardín Encantado rodeado de fuentes, cascadas, y flores naturales de 52 especies diferentes, o disfrutado de unas horas de relax en nuestro Balneario. Esperamos que puedas volver pronto!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

This place is cheap and the self catering apartments are decent value, especially for Benicassim festival, when all you will be doing is sleep and head to the beach.

The location, although not near the Marina D'Or hotel (the complex is massive) is good to be near a supermarket (which is closed on Sundays remember!) and is only a 5 minute walk from the beach. Remember when needing to check in that the reception for the apartments is not the hotel reception, and is based in the centre of the complex, a good 15 minute walk away.

Now, although we did not have the same awful experience below (our place was clean and everything worked) the service is pretty shocking. Admittedly, although I do not think it is all too enticing to the staff to be at work the days of Benicassim festival with thousands of drunk Brits moving in en masse, it doesn't really excuse all the should shrugging and downright rudeness which many of the staff were guilty of; particularly when we checkded in, and they demanded (an up to now unheard of) 200 euros deposit, which changed to 50 euros when we questioned it.

The resort put on coaches to Benicassim - it's 35 euros for a travel pass for the entire festival - which is actually pretty good value as long as you don't mind going to the festival between 6 and 9pm. Don't use the (illegal) taxi services; which tend to be Marina D'Or residents after a quick buck.

Room Tip: The sea view and pool view apartments are different rates, but as far as we could see, are exactly t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rendezvousin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinadOr_Vacaciones, Gerente at Apartamentos Marina d'Or, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your words Rezenbousen. It was a real pleasure to have you staying in our apartments. We are glad that our facilities have been of your total satisfaction.
Regarding the comment you make about the staff, we ar sorry if you had any problems. All our employees attend continous training courses to emphasize the improvement of the customer service, which is essential to us.
We are at your disposal throughout the year, do not hesitate to come back and visit us again.


Yours sincerelly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Group of girls who stayed here for 5 days. These are great apartments in a great location - would highly recommend. They are clean, modern and bright and great value.

Staff are friendly.

We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cli353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinadOr_Vacaciones, Gerente at Apartamentos Marina d'Or, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Cli353 thank you very much! It was a real pleasure to have you in our apartments! We would be very happy to welcome you again soon! We are at your disposal whenever you need us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have booked apartment in Marina D or this winter and stayed there during 1 week. The apartment was clean and modern, we´ve been very pleased with this Holiday Resort.The apartments are situated next to the beach, so if you book first line apartmetn you may have great sea views because all of these have large terraces.
We Recommend this place for vacations!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Do not book with Benitravel/4UFestival for accomodation for Benicassim festival as they scammed me and many others out of money by taking our money and not booking with Marina D'or then claiming that Marina D'or was over booked and put us up in Hotel Simba in Chilches which was over 40 minutes from the festival with minimum transport and hardly no amenities such as an ATM or a shop. They did this to so many people a week before we were due to travel and were then not responding to us etc. DO NOT BOOK WITH THEM.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Aoife21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oropesa Del Mar hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Booked a 1 bdrm while in the midst of our Euro travels. Of the 10 accommodations we'd experienced in the 6 weeks away, this one came up the shortest by far. On the positive side, the unit was clean and reasonable modern. Not speaking Spanish fluently hurt. I typically don't give lousy reviews because i love travelling and appreciate what I can.... but, on the bad side:

Check-in.
The unit we booked was advertised "on the beach". Our assigned building (#3, I think) was a hefty drive from the building to which we checked in and a kilometer from the beach. The spa / pool area shown on the website is lovely. HOWEVER, we were advised at check-in that it cost 30 euro PER PERSON A DAY to use. We and our 2 kids were not going to buck up $160/day CDN each day. And while there was a decent, albeit smallish outdoor pool for our unit, there were only 4 palapas around it and no loungers; just people huddled under the palapas on the concrete or on their towels in the sun.

At check ine received one pool key and were not allowed another which was a drag considering we have 2 kids (that key did not work efficiently BTW) We also got one unit door key an when we went for another were given one that didn't work, only to figure out the next day it was a key to the next door unit. We were also given no parking remote so when we got to undergound parking we had no idea how to get in, or even if we were in the right place.

The unit itself was clean but had no cups or bowls or dishwasher detergent. This was rectified. But perhaps the worst thing was the noise fro all surrounding apartments. Walls and ceilings must have little if any isulation. We could everything at night. And if that wasn't enough to keep us all up the beds were by far the hardest we have ever slept on. Just awful. The pull-out couch was like Heaven compared to what was in each bedroom. To boot, the master bedroom bed had one broken leg which kept slipping out. We weren't looking for a palace as we also camped for a portion of our 6-week trip; just wanted comfort and a decent sleep with some adventure. None could be found here

We checked out at 9, returning to where we'd gotten the key(s) to read a sign that they opened at 10 and to check out at yet another building.

The town itself is just OK, and I did enjoy one of the best Margarita's ever at a place called "Cubeic." As far as surrounding sites we went to the small town just up the beach which has one restarant beach bar and also chose to drive up to the mountains were Spanish life was more "Spanish."

Marina D'Or is trying to be something it can't be given it's management and economy: a mini Santa Monica. The apartmentos at Marina D'Or seemed to us to be, unfortunatey, poorly managed with amenities and services provided for our stay that were not as advertised and poorly equipped once we got there. We would not return to this location and are aware that there are a million such places with beach umbrella after beach umbrella along the Spanish coast which offer similarly uncomfortable accommdations to those seeking somethng clean, comfy and traditional. While the folks we dealt with were nice enough, next time we will do a Vacation Rental By Owner (VRBO) in that area or involve oursleves in a villa or B&B...just not at this location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lansaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oropesa Del Mar hotels
0.2 mi away
Marina d'Or Gran Duque 4*
Marina d'Or Gran Duque 4*
#3 of 13 in Oropesa Del Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marina d'Or 5
Marina d'Or 5
#1 of 13 in Oropesa Del Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Marina D'or 3
Hotel Marina D'or 3
#6 of 13 in Oropesa Del Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Marina d'Or Playa 4
Marina d'Or Playa 4
#4 of 13 in Oropesa Del Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Jardin de Bellver
Hotel Jardin de Bellver
#2 of 13 in Oropesa Del Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.3 mi away
No photo provided
Hostal Residencia L'Escaleta
#10 of 13 in Oropesa Del Mar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Marina d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Marina d'Or

Property: Apartamentos Marina d'Or
Address: Calle Antina 5, 12594 Oropesa Del Mar, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Castellon > Oropesa Del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Oropesa Del Mar
#4 Spa Hotel in Oropesa Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apartamentos Marina d'Or 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Apartamentos Marina d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina d`Or Apartments Hotel Oropesa Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing