We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea Sound - White Katikies
Ranked #1 of 5 Emporio B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Our family spent a week at this hotel in mid July of this year. We chose this hotel for its location near the beaches and much more reasonable prices compared to hotels on the Caldera. Our overall impression was that the hotel has great potential but at the moment it does not seem to live up to that potential in a number of areas.

- rooms; Although our room was spacious, two floors, the bottom floor did not have air-conditioning. This meant that where we were sleeping we had to keep the windows open at all times. It was not a huge problem but in a hotel of this level its hard to understand why they chose the cheap route on this amenity? In addition, although the hotel is relatively new, the bathroom fixtures seemed already to show wear and seemed quite cheap in general. The TV amounted to a small computer monitor type of screen.

- swimming pool; Large and excellently maintained. A real attraction for the kids and a strong point for the hotel.

-transport; Given the location of the hotel you definitely need your own car to drive around.

-breakfast; I think frugal would be a good word to describe it. Essentially be there when it opens at 8:30 or be ready to accept scraps. Plus we had the distinct impression that the Manager was counting each slice of bread or cake put out each day, this was confirmed when we overheard conversation in Greek coming from the kitchen where they would stop putting out items in order to have them for the next day.

Room Cleanliness; Just average or slightly below.

Management; Unfortunately the owner has adopted a very low cost style of management and believes that she can compensate for this by constantly asking you if everything is ok ect.

Overall this hotel is an average solution for a family, but good cost wise. It has a great location which is very quiet, but the penny pinching style of management does get to you after a while.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for Sea Sound - White Katikies
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 114 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2012

-Spacious rooms
-Spacious wardrobes
-Elegant decoration
-Two big balconies, with great sea view (not caldera view)
-Big and clean pool
-Nice pool bar
-Friendly and eager to help staff
-Very close to very nice family and organised beaches (Vlichada, Perivolos)
-Quite, relaxing, family place
-Baby sits everywhere and a baby cot in the room (nevertheless, prefer your own sheets for your baby)

-The kitchen was not equipped enough. It has only a coffee maker, a small fridge, a boiler, 4 small plates, 4 small glasses, two forks,two spoons, two knives (which don't cut vegetables). We had to ask for a small pan in order to prepare our child's meal.

- The hotel beach is not suitable for swimming. Although the black sand is great, in the sea there is a huge slippery stone surface and a lot of seaweed.

- The food in the pool bar is quite indiffirent related to the rest of Santorini's restaurants. It is appropriate only for a quick snack or for a greek salad.

- The cleaning in the room could be more careful. They sweep and mop every day (but they used to forget the balconies) and they change sheets and towels every two days.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We went to Santorini for our dear friend's wedding and stayed at Sea Sound.
Our hotel was located near theirs Notos Therme and Spa, which is overlooking the harbour and a rather nice hotel, but much busier. The Sea Sound is located in a quite off-set road. Right on the beach, which I loved. If you are with family or looking for a quite, relaxing spot, where there is no disturbing noise at night, than this is your place to stay. The room (dbl with en-suit) we had was spacious, clean. Had enough storage & balcony overlooking the sunrise & sea.
The pool is a good size & water tempreature was nice too, even we had not the warmest weather.
The staff is very friendly too.
To get around the island,w e hired a quad bike, which was about E18 day. You need some sort of transport, if you want explore & even to go to the busier beach area, whit restaurants etc.
Be careful with Taxis, if you are late or miss communicate of ordering one & than cancel it, they still charge you. They seem to have a set fee system, which is not cheap!
Also restaurants are extremely overpriced & food quality is not soo good. Highly recommended to ask the staff where to eat, as well as buying your own form the supermarket. The island has great quality food, but the restaurants are too touristic.
We stayed 5 days, which was just perfect to explore everything & relax. Would not like to go when its high season, it was just perfect when we went, end May. Most amazing sunset for sure!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Great two-story rooms (bedrooms and a bath on the lower level, living room, kitchen and another bath on the upper level). Private & quiet but just a short drive to everything. Lost eye glasses in the ocean while we were there - the owners drove us into town and translated for us with the eye doctor! Great breakfast every morning.

Room Tip: ask for one of the two-story rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cody525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

My husband and I have spent a dream weekend at Sea-sound hotel. The apartments are great and the hall ambiance is characterized by serenity and calmness. The hotel ownes a private beach and a great swimming pool, which are both wonderful. Every day we had our breakfast next to the swimming pool. It is very clean and evey day they changed our towels and our appartment.The appartments are full-equipped. The owners and the staff are very polite and gentle. They were always at our disposal. We had the opportunity to relax, to escape from the stress of the city and to refresh ourselves.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martha f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We spent 10 days in Santorini and stayed in Sea Sound hotel.From the first moment we felt so welcome and by offering us a cool drink by the pool we admired the beauty and the open air of the property!Our maisonette was very spacious and clean and they were providing us with fresh sheets and towels every day!We really loved the view from our balcony were we could relax in the late afternoon,after we were coming back from the pool-where my boyfriend and his friends used to play like children-where we enjoyed delicious snacks.Everybody was very kind and helpful and they adviced us were to go and what to see...they gave us tips for the best restaurants and the best beaches and they were taking very good care of us during our stay preparing the best breakfast with fresh products every morning.
We absolutely recomend Sea Sound and on our next holiday in Santorini we will stay at Sea Sound for sure!
Thank you all guys for making this holiday special to us!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Eri_greek_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Me and my husband have spent one week at Sea Sound in August and we can say that is a real peaceful oasis even during the most crowded month. The brand new structure is surrounded by a huge space, the private beach is basically desert and the sea is wonderful. It’s important to say that the location of the Sea Sound (at south of the island and for this reason protected by meltemi wind) guarantees still sea even when elsewhere bathing is troubled. The large rooms are equipped with fridge, tv, kitchen, air conditioning, terrace and they’re very clean. The pool is beautiful and usable 24 hours per day and the breakfast is delicious. In conclusion relax is ensured as well as a high quality/price relationship.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank annamaria n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emporio
0.7 mi away
Bella Santorini
Bella Santorini
#6 of 11 in Perivolos
325 reviews
1.4 mi away
Smaragdi Hotel
Smaragdi Hotel
#3 of 40 in Perissa
773 reviews
0.8 mi away
Santo Miramare Resort
Santo Miramare Resort
#1 of 11 in Perivolos
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#4 of 40 in Perissa
218 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marillia Village Apartments & Suites
3.6 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#2 of 75 in Kamari
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Sound - White Katikies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Sound - White Katikies

Address: Agios Georgios, Emporio 847 03, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Emporio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Emporio
Price Range: $145 - $1,184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Sound - White Katikies 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Santorini, the island of never-ending blue and the 4,000 years of civilization that provide an almost metaphysical aspect, in a unique atmosphere full of contrasts and mystery, full of images provoking the strongest of feelings, next to the picturesque village of Vlychada and just a few metres away from the black beach of Perivolos, inspired by the traditional Cycladean architecture, lies the brand new Sea Sound - White Katikies, a complex of luxurious residences and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea Sound - White Katikies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Sound - White Katikies Santorini/Emporio, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing