We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Botique Hotel in the Pyrenees”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Los Siete Reyes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Los Siete Reyes
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ainsa
Certificate of Excellence
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Botique Hotel in the Pyrenees”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

This is a small (6 rooms) botique hotel that overlooks the Plaza Mayor in the old part of the picturesque town of Ainsa in the heart of the Pyrenees mountains about a 3 hour drive from Barcelona. The rooms are very clean, large and comfortable with modern functional bathrooms. There is no elevator. The staff are very friendly and helpful and speak a little English. Breakfast is a typical European buffet with bread, cheeses, cold cuts, etc. and is served is an enchanting wine cellar beneath the hotel. Rooms in the front of the hotel over look the Plaza. Those in the back overlook the river valley backed by the Pyrenees mountains. The views from both locations are lovely. There is no parking in the Plaza Mayor but there is a large free parking area a short distance away that is reached through a short walk through the stone fortress that flanks the west end of the plaza. With a special key from the hotel you can drive into the plaza to load and unload luggage. We originally choose Ainsa because it is about an hour's drive from the Ordesa Monte Perdido National Park. This park, about which you will find almost nothing on the internet, has natural beauty rivaling Yosemite National Park in the US and is well worth the drive. The one complaint I have about the hotel was the difficulty I had in obtaining a written confirmation of my reservation. I tried to use the hotel's website and when it didn't work called the hotel. The person I spoke to did not speak English, a challenge for my limited Spanish, but we worked through the reservation and I asked for a written confirmation. I never did get one despite repeated Emails, snail mails and FAXs. There was no problem with the reservation when we arrived but the lask of written confirmation was a little anxiety producing. Despite this problem I would highly recommend this hotel and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    26
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
126
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

I second all the previous positive reviews - this is an excellent boutique hotel and I highly recommend it.

Some great places in the Pyranees are only a short drive away - I wished I had a) more time; and b) hiking camping gear to make the most of it, I guess I'll just have to come back! If you like the outdoors, you could easily spend a couple of weeks here.

The service was excellent, despite the language barrier - the guys were delightful, helpful and efficient.

The room was very spacious with plenty of room for a king bed and a sofa bed and still plenty of room to spare! The fittings are all very modern and nice. The view from the balcony was a stunning vista over the river and on to the mountains beyond. Due to the thick stone walls, the wifi signal was much better close to the door and very strong in the office/lounge area.

There is a great shop on the ground floor of the hotel that sells better than average souvenirs; locally produced and mainstream wine, spirits and liqueurs; local food produce and loads of other interesting things.

The breakfast buffet is served in the cellar - which is a fantastic space - and the selection is not too large, but it had enough variety to suit everyone.

The old town of Ainsa is beautiful, but does feel slightly touristy compared to some other villages - there's still houses that are lived in, but there's quite a lot of hotels and restaurants too - it's certainly not over run with people though.

Google maps really struggled with Ainsa (it tried to send us up a foot path with a flight of steps....) and I ended up abandoning it and following my common sense - so be aware...

Also be aware that away from the big cities, the shops, the hotel and the restaurants adhere to the idea of a morning shift and a late afternoon shift. Being there in off season also meant some of the restaurants didn't open when they said they would - just roll with it! The pizza place in the plaza seemed to be open most of the time and was quite good if you get stuck, though I do recommend you also try some other places.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunAndFoodSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Marvellous hotel in the main square of Ainsa. Few rooms but all of them remarkably comfortable, spacious and charming. It is worth visiting the hotel as well as the medieval city.
Our room was at the top of the building called Iñigo Arista. It was fantastic. The breakfast was not included. However we decided to pay the fee of just 8€ per adult, and we payed only 4€ per child. The breakfast room is located in the cellar, a bit short of food but good value for money. Very well decorated.
People were very kind and there are plenty of activities to do such as rafting, and canyon descent. The place is really outstanding. And the roads to get to the city are amazing for motorbike lovers.
Next to the hotel there are very good restaurants, and they are not expensive at all.

Room Tip: For families with kids, only few rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank criescogmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We chose this hotel because of the reviews on Tripadvisor and we weren't disappointed. Five of us stayed in three rooms and each of them was unique and delightful. Mine was on the second floor overlooking the beautiful square, another room on the other side of the second floor had a magnificent view towards the mountains while the third room, on the third floor, also overlooked the square. Each was decorated in a quirky and appealing style. When we arrived the lady in the shop below the hotel came out and used a card to lower a bollard to let us into the square so we could park outside to unload our cases, then gave us the card so we could get out and go and park the car in the free car park a couple of minutes away. In the morning the bollard was down so we could bring the car back to pick up the cases. Bear in mind there is no lift in the hotel and you would have to carry your cases up the stairs yourself. Breakfast was included in the room rate and it was taken in a cavern-type bar under the shop which was charming. We had great coffee and a cold buffet which was very pleasant. Ainsa is a lovely little town with lots of good bars and restaurants. As my room overlooked the main square I had expected it to be noisy, but in fact it was very quiet during the night. The church by the main square has a tower which we really wanted to go up but it was locked in the morning. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be great - I guess you could choose whether you want a square or mountain vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ready4offagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

The hotel is very chic / designer, boasting beautifully presented rooms in a restored hilltop market square. The square has amazing views to the mountains to the north, and the buildings have all been restored but retain their old world charm. There are a good number of restaurants and bars in the square.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeremyNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

This place is amazing set in the square of the beautiful village of Ainsa, our stay there could not have been better. Ainsa is a heritage town that looks like you are stepping back in time 500 years, Los Siete Reyes respects this tradition but amplifies the pleasure by having rooms that also shout refined style.
Only 4 rooms I think, ours looked into the middle of the square and lacked absolutely nothing. Every modern comfort, set in old stone walls, art that I would love to have at home. The 8 euro breakfast down in the 'cave' could have been the latest London nightclub don't miss it ! If you are into the outdoors Ainsa is close to the Ordessa nat Park hiking, mountain biking, kayaking its all close.. This place was a real find

Room Tip: Our room on the square 1st floor was unbeatable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerryconway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
138 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Excellent accesss, views, alll day and night long atmosphera, large space, unique "Bodegas" and food, in a XI's Century (perfectly preserved) scenary! Near mosst amazing National Parks and natural RESERVES OF HUMANITY Not to be missed! Fully ennjoyable among so many astonishing rivers, valleys, The Highest mountains in the whole Peninsula, ancients canions and cliffs, and great walks... Hospitality is granted; great time is assured! :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fbb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ainsa
1.2 mi away
Hotel & SPA Pena Montanesa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sanchez
Hotel Sanchez
#3 of 9 in Ainsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
3.4 mi away
Barcelo Monasterio de Boltana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dos Rios Ainsa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#6 of 9 in Ainsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Posada Real
Hotel Posada Real
#7 of 9 in Ainsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Siete Reyes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Siete Reyes

Property: Los Siete Reyes
Address: Plaza Mayor 27, 22330 Ainsa, Spain
Location: Spain > Aragon > Province of Huesca > Ainsa
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ainsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Los Siete Reyes 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Los Siete Reyes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Siete Reyes Ainsa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing