We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Hotel Anaterve

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vallehermoso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Anaterve
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vallehermoso
GreenLeadersGold level
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed here in November 2013. We booked for 3 nights and were so delighted returned for another 3 nights later on our walking trip. Anala and Herman were wonderful hosts, gave much helpful and useful information as well as being friendly and enthusiastic about the area.

The food was magnificent. Excellent breakfast with fresh fruit and fresh bread and perfectly boiled eggs! The evening meals were superb, fresh and imaginative; fabulous mains and salads with wonderful dressings - thank you Amala.

Rooms were spotless, very comfortable and great views.

Herman gives good tips for walks - take his advice for the route to Epina with the diversion to the "magic" rocks.

Vallehermoso is a perfect base for walking, a great variety from the village and also within a bus or short taxi ride.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
64
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Hermann & Alama couldn't be more helpful, all food is sourced locally, the view over the town is almost sureal-in the early morning you can witness the town walking-up from the terrace. The rooms are very spacious. We eat as a group (15people by prior arrangement) in the restaurant to an exceptional simple set meal and everyone loved the experience. Vallehermoso is a good base for both local walks and other walks on the west of the island. Some of the local restaurants will surprise and the local Spar shop just off the square is good for bites for your rucksack before heading off walking. The walk to Santa Clara from Vallehermoso is well worth it for the views alone.

Room Tip: There are just 4 rooms in this beautiful hotel, two suites and two twin rooms, while all are very ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Great hotel located in the picturesque village Vallehermoso. It is recommend especially for people who love quiet holidays. The owners Herman and Amala make you feel that you are guest to their house! Breakfast and dinner are so tastesful. Cooked very gently with fresh materials and served in a very beautiful restaurant. The rooms are great and very clean. Great walks and beautiful places to remember for ever!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Vallehermoso is a great village to base yourself in if you are wanting to experience a quieter La Gomera life. It is perfectly sited for walking the camino trails into the hills and the lush terraced valleys. I stayed at Hotel Anaterve for four nights having planned to stay only two! A delightful rural retreat with warm and friendly owners Herman and Amala offering a wealth of local knowledge and advice for walks etc and creating delicious vegetarian breakfasts and dinners served in their lovely restaurant . The rooms are bright and cheery with views over the valley and if you are lucky you will be lulled to sleep by the song of tree frogs! A place you will want to return to....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank eiggman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We had a great stay at Anaterve. The hotel has got a great athmosphere. Herman and Amala were helpful and friendly. Rooms were clean, food was great and beautifully served. The walks were great and plenty. Buses run from town to more distant destinations. Great cake shop as you walk into town, but only open early in the morning and late in the evening. In winter months bring warm clothes. We will be recommending staying at Anaterve to all our friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in this delightful hotel. Amala and Herman were charming and so helpful. We stayed in the suite which was very comfortable with wonderful views. The food was fantastic at the Anaterve. Vallehermoso is a great base for some wonderful walks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

It was sheer chance that we booked a week at the Hotel Anaterve and it turned out to be a great decision. Our Dutch hosts, Amala and Herman, were most welcoming; Amala's vegetarian cooking was absolutely delicious (especially as one of us says she doesn't like cheese!) and the accommodation was superb. We had travelled up to Vallehermoso in the dark and it was fantastic to wake up next morning to the view from our suite of the pretty little town down below, the hills, and the ocean in the distance. Herman was able to advise us on local walks which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Room Tip: As far as we could see, all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vallehermoso
11.3 mi away
Hotel Jardin Tecina
Hotel Jardin Tecina
#1 of 2 in Playa de Santiago
1,529 reviews
11.4 mi away
Parador de la Gomera
Parador de la Gomera
#1 of 9 in San Sebastian de la Gomera
565 reviews
7.4 mi away
Playa Calera
Playa Calera
#1 of 25 in Valle Gran Rey
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Ibo Alfaro Hotel Rural
Ibo Alfaro Hotel Rural
#1 of 7 in Hermigua
143 reviews
3.8 mi away
Las Casas del Chorro
Las Casas del Chorro
#1 of 4 in Agulo
20 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Rural Casa los Herrera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Anaterve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anaterve

Property: Hotel Anaterve
Address: Calle la Rodadera s/n, 38840 Vallehermoso, La Gomera, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > La Gomera > Vallehermoso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vallehermoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Anaterve Hotel Vallehermoso
Hotel Anaterve La Gomera/Vallehermoso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing