We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Hotel Anaterve

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vallehermoso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Anaterve
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vallehermoso
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Nice place to stay, nice food, nice people!

Alfredo & Petra

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlfredoRoeselare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 92 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights in the apartment and we had a great time! The apartment is comfortable, beautiful view, well equiped. The hotel owners are really nice and caring, and made us feel at home. Excellent location for hikes and siteseeing in the island.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank msaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed here for three nights, booked from NZ and it was everything we had hoped for. Herman and Amala are friendly and welcoming hosts. The rooms are beautiful and the meals provided were wonderful and very generous, especially the packed lunches. Everything was perfect. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cntaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We have to agree with all the other reviews of Añaterve - this is an absolutely wonderful hotel and Amala and Herman could not have made us feel more welcome. We stayed for 8 nights in January and loved it here.
Vallehermoso is a small, quiet town in the north of La Gomera, located about 3km from the sea. The hotel is set on a rocky outcrop above the town square (it was the Guardia Civil barracks during the Civil War) - a lovely location although it's a steep walk back to your room at the end of the day (although everywhere on La Gomera is a steep walk!).
The large rooms are simply but beautifully designed and furnished and are immaculately clean. Most importantly, the beds are very comfortable and the bathroom shower is hot and effective. Our suite provided plenty of space for relaxing, with a sofa and small coffee table, and Herman will provide a kettle if you mention you want to make tea.
One of the highlights has to be Amala's cooking. Simply wonderful vegetarian dinners and excellent, generous breakfasts prepared by Herman that are the perfect set-up for a day of walking. If you order the packed lunch you'll need to walk up a lot of mountains to burn off all the tasty bocadillos, snacks and fresh fruit that you get!
Añaterve makes an excellent base for walking on La Gomera - there are a number of beautiful walks available starting from the hotel, although a car is useful to go further afield. Herman and Amala can arrange car rental with a local company - ours was available for us to pick up at the port when we arrived on the ferry.
We had a really great holiday here and would strongly recommend Añaterve and the warm hospitality of the owners.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TastyTofu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

We booked after reading positive reviews here and were totally impressed. Herman organised a car to be waiting at the port - so the transfer was effortless. Lovely little hotel, perched above the town - really friendly hosts and lovely walking. thanks Harriet & Phil, Cambridge

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2oldiesontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Añaterve 2 nights in early September. Our stay was just perfect from when we arrived until when we left. Amala and Herman were the perfect hosts and suggested some amazing hiking paths. My husband grew up in Vallehermoso and he felt at home in the hotel. We took the time to walk to the beach and enjoyed the salted water swimming pool. If you visit La Gomera we definitely suggest you stop in Vallehermoso, for a small village it definitely has a lot to offer, including piece and quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadian_Montreal12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2010

Ten people from my family including my one-year-old grand nephew stayed with Herman and Amala for a week in March, and without exception we loved it! The hotel itself had character and style and was located on a hillside with stunning views of the surrounding landscape and the village below. Amala and Herman treated us royally from the time that we arrived and couldn't have done more to ensure that we had a good holiday. We had delicious vegetarian food, and as we enjoyed leisurely meals in the restaurant where we were never rushed, and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms and bathrooms were spotless, and the overall value for money was excellent
and we will definately be going again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ireland37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vallehermoso
11.3 mi away
Hotel Jardin Tecina
Hotel Jardin Tecina
#1 of 2 in Playa de Santiago
1,627 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ibo Alfaro Hotel Rural
Ibo Alfaro Hotel Rural
#1 of 7 in Hermigua
159 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Rural Casa los Herrera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Parador de la Gomera
Parador de la Gomera
#1 of 9 in San Sebastian de la Gomera
626 reviews
3.8 mi away
Las Casas del Chorro
Las Casas del Chorro
#1 of 4 in Agulo
24 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Gran Rey
Hotel Gran Rey
#2 of 25 in Valle Gran Rey
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Anaterve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anaterve

Address: Calle la Rodadera s/n, 38840 Vallehermoso, La Gomera, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > La Gomera > Vallehermoso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vallehermoso
Price Range: $54 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Anaterve Hotel Vallehermoso
Hotel Anaterve La Gomera/Vallehermoso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing