We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only interested in diners”
Review of The Robin Hood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Robin Hood Inn
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Went to this establishment on Saturday and the place was pretty empty, I asked if there was somewhere we could sit for a drink. The young waitress said she would check. Then another lady appeared and asked if she could help, I explained, she then said well! We are quite busy (but the place was empty) you can sit there in the high up bar stools my mum is 72 years young! All in all very rude and more interested in diners. More suited to little Lord Fauntleroy with more money than sense!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris J, Owner at The Robin Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Mr M, I note your comments which you made and whilst we were quiet at the moment of your visit all our tables were booked out for that evening apart from a couple of tall tables which you were offered. These tables are more than adequate for people just wishing to have a drink and it's just unfortunate your Mother could not sit at them. I doubt whether you would have been spoken to in a rude manner as our staff are never rude and If you felt those tables to be unfit for your elderly Mother's use then you of course have the choice of staying or leaving. We do not just cater for diners here as we do have a busy bar too and always welcome people just wishing to have a drink. However if people have booked in advance then we do as a business have to honour those bookings on a first come first served basis. Your comment of "only interested in Little Lord Fauntleroy with more money than sense " is not only derogatory to us but also to all our other customers who do enjoy coming here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 130 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014

Have been staying here for the past 3 weeks on business, and it goes against my better judgement to share such a good find while I'm still using it.... but having read some of the slightly unbalanced reviews I felt compelled to......
Firstly, it's a fantastic pub and restaurant, a great crowd of locals, and the proprietors and staff couldn't be more welcoming. Accommodation-wise, the rooms are spotlessly clean, and well sound-proofed; beds are extremely comfortable, completing the required recipe for a great night's sleep.
The food is very good, including an excellent breakfast, and there are other options for dining within the village within a few yards, including a good Indian.
Lastly, and most importantly, the real ale is absolutely immaculate (a rare find in this area, trust me!)..... although you may want to avoid too many of the Holy Moleys on a school night.....!!!!

Room Tip: Room above the pub door can be a little noisy occasionally, but if you can't beat them.......!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris J, Owner at The Robin Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Many thanks Andrew for taking the time to write your review. Sally and her staff work very hard to keep our customers happy and your review will help potential customers make an educated choice as well as give Sally and the staff a welcome pat on the back. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I always choose to stay at the Robin Hood when visiting Portsmouth. The staff are always friendly and the service is first class. The choice at breakfast is comprehensive and tasty to eat. The kitchen have often cooked my choice of breakfast and supply as much tea and coffee as I can drink.
The evening meals are excellent and there is often a special of liver and onions, yum I never get this at home unless I cook it myself, again very tasty.
I would recommend staying here, the Hotel is set in a quiet village with two other pubs you can walk to with other friendly southerners. I am from up north and know the difference.

Room Tip: I have stayed in all of the rooms. Most have excellent showers but two only have the shower over a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris J, Owner at The Robin Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you Brian for taking the trouble to write a review. We are always pleased to welcome you to The Robin Hood and hope to continue to do so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Despite friendly service from our waitress, the 'steak burger' was undercooked, dry and a bit tasteless and served on a crusty ciabatta making it nigh on impossible to eat. Chips were soggy. For £12 I was disappointed and was expecting more.

Sad also that as we left we weren't thanked by any members of staff or the owner as they stood by the bar.

I wouldn't really recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Mmcw7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris J, Owner at The Robin Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

I am really sorry you did not enjoy your lunch with us and would like to enquire further as to why. Please contact me direct on our email therobinhoodinn@hotmail.co.uk and I can discuss with you what can be done to rectify this for you. Regards Chris Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Had lunch here with a party of 8 friends. Very limited menu. Prices extortionate. Fish was soggy and appeared to have been cooked in the microwave. Chicken undercooked and was sent back three times and refused. Burger -undercooked. Never again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Kenp70567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Used to look forward to a good old sunday roast it started off well even though you had to ask for vegetables, still cant understand why they dont serve Green veg, last meal was just about ok for me but the beef was thick and bloody and the pork was tough and chewy.most of the staff are great but one in particular looks like she would rather be somewhere else. I think this place will go down fast if they are not careful and very over priced. Always busy on a sunday but different faces, which says alot.shame.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank steve1234RoyalSavoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

As this was my first stay alone in a hotel I arrived with some trepidation. The warm welcome I received soon put me at ease and throughout my one night stay I felt thoroughly relaxed. The accommodation was impeccably clean and very comfortable, with tea making facilities, a hairdryer and shower gels etc included.
I had dinner in the relaxing dining room. The two ladies made sure I had everything I needed and obviously had a very good working relationship with each other, which created an excellent atmosphere. The breakfast was cooked perfectly and enough to feed me for the day (even though I had a lunch party to go to on the Saturday!)
I would certainly stay there again and recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to relax and spoil themselves a little. My only regret is .......that I didn't book in for a second night!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowlands Castle
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Havant Rowlands Castle Hotel
0 mi away
32 the Green
32 the Green
#1 of 4 in Rowlands Castle
21 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cripple Creek Guest House
Cripple Creek Guest House
#3 of 4 in Rowlands Castle
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Taste of India on the Green
Taste of India on the Green
#4 of 4 in Rowlands Castle
54 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Robin Hood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Robin Hood Inn

Address: 26 The Green, Rowlands Castle PO9 6AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Rowlands Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rowlands Castle
Price Range: $71 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Robin Hood Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Robin Hood Inn is situated overlooking the green in the village of Rowlands Castle. Close to Staunton House & Country Park and the fabulous cathedral city of Chichester as well as the historical city of Portsmouth with its naval dockyard & shopping at Gun Wharf Quays. The A3M and M27 are only three miles away and we are 2 minutes walk from the railway station which is on the mainline to London Waterloo and Portsmouth Harbour. The Robin Hood is renowned for offering good food in a contemporary setting. With six stylish boutique bedrooms, complete with flat screen TV, free WiFi and all en-suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Robin Hood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Robin Hood Hotel Rowlands Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing