We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the Green”
Review of The Robin Hood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Robin Hood Inn
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Used to look forward to a good old sunday roast it started off well even though you had to ask for vegetables, still cant understand why they dont serve Green veg, last meal was just about ok for me but the beef was thick and bloody and the pork was tough and chewy.most of the staff are great but one in particular looks like she would rather be somewhere else. I think this place will go down fast if they are not careful and very over priced. Always busy on a sunday but different faces, which says alot.shame.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank steve1234RoyalSavoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 128 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

As this was my first stay alone in a hotel I arrived with some trepidation. The warm welcome I received soon put me at ease and throughout my one night stay I felt thoroughly relaxed. The accommodation was impeccably clean and very comfortable, with tea making facilities, a hairdryer and shower gels etc included.
I had dinner in the relaxing dining room. The two ladies made sure I had everything I needed and obviously had a very good working relationship with each other, which created an excellent atmosphere. The breakfast was cooked perfectly and enough to feed me for the day (even though I had a lunch party to go to on the Saturday!)
I would certainly stay there again and recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to relax and spoil themselves a little. My only regret is .......that I didn't book in for a second night!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed for one night which was booked by my employers who are based in Havant. I am shocked to read the negative reviews on here especially the ones complaining about the level of customer service. On arrival I was greeted by an extremely polite young lady who showed me to my room which was spotlessly clean and tidy. As I had been up since 4am that morning I did not fancy sitting downstairs and asked if I could order some food and take it up to my room. Not only did they allow this but also bought the food up to me. I chose a pizza which was home made and extremely delicious and more than adequate in size, also very reasonably priced too.
After a comfortable nights sleep I ventured to breakfast which was definitely a 10 out of 10 experience with quality ingredients that definitely did not come from a supermarket.
I now know why my company use the Robin Hood on a regular basis and I look forward to my next visit there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

As the managing director of a company I demand the highest standards of sleeping when I am attending courses that keep me from doing any actually real work

this allows me to keep my tax bill down as I have spent all the profit on living like a king in fine hotels and eating top quality Scran

Rather rudely I had to actually do some work for my company on both of the 2 occasions I stayed at this fine establishment and arrived at gone 11 both nights an abustle discrace as I have been unable to sample the food

The room was spotless and comfy with more windows than I have in my house but an equal amount of thick blinds to stop any light when I felt like going for a sleepy sleepy snooze e snooze ,I never shut the blinds when I sleep but the hotel was very well lit externally so I had too but whit them down the room was dark

The whole gaff is spotless apart from a moth in my bathroom that must have snook in as the cleaner left and the pub is good and lovley place to eat even if it was only the great breakfast there is no mini bar in room but this would be a bad thing with a bar this good

Also free fast wi Fi and and i comfy bed all at a reasonable price

Ill be back I have been meaning to return to Pompey for a weekend for a long time and now I have located this place I will

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Romeo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Took my elderly mother there for lunch on Sunday 25 August 2013. We both decided to have the roast beef (although prices for the roast not printed on the menu) Beef was appalling and inedible - waitress offered us some more beef but by that time we were put off our meal. They still charged us the full price of £26.00 for the two meals. I will not be returning

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank langdod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The Robin Hood is situated in the quaint village of Rowland's Castle in South East Hampshire, on the border with West Sussex. Great food, great people running the show, and a charming, quiet location. The Inn feature six bedrooms, each one as tastefully decorated as the others, and they are named rather than numbered. We stayed in the Saint Amoure room, and enjoyed a comfy double bed and a very large, modern en-suite bathroom. The room featured a sitting area by the door, but there was one drawback here, the TV screen was mounted on the wall next to a stand-up wardrobe by the bottom of the bed which blocked the screen from view. Pity!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stanley Angus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris J, Owner at The Robin Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble to write your review which we do appreciate. I take on board your comments regarding the TV which we only recently upgraded to a larger one. However because of the size of the TV a bracket needed to allow all round vision was deemed unsafe, but we are aware of this and are rethinking positioning of the wardrobe. We hope this did not spoil your stay too much and would like to think you would revisit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Nice rooms, good hosts pretty setting.
Nice touch of suggesting you can borrow picnic blankets to sit on the village green in summer.
Yummy breakfast.

Wifi is free and included.

Only criticisms are wifi was a bit patchy, and 10am is very early check-out time.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front are next to well-lit signs so if you are very sensitive to light, ask for dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikhole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowlands Castle
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Havant Rowlands Castle Hotel
2.9 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 4 in Emsworth
538 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#4 of 4 in Havant
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Emsworth
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
0.0 mi away
32 the Green
32 the Green
#1 of 4 in Rowlands Castle
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Robin Hood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Robin Hood Inn

Address: 26 The Green, Rowlands Castle PO9 6AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Rowlands Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rowlands Castle
Price Range: $83 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Robin Hood Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Robin Hood Inn is situated overlooking the green in the village of Rowlands Castle. Close to Staunton House & Country Park and the fabulous cathedral city of Chichester as well as the historical city of Portsmouth with its naval dockyard & shopping at Gun Wharf Quays. The A3M and M27 are only three miles away and we are 2 minutes walk from the railway station which is on the mainline to London Waterloo and Portsmouth Harbour. The Robin Hood is renowned for offering good food in a contemporary setting. With six stylish boutique bedrooms, complete with flat screen TV, free WiFi and all en-suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Robin Hood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Robin Hood Hotel Rowlands Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing