We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice bungalows in peaceful setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sambor Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sambor Village
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kampong Thom
Certificate of Excellence
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice bungalows in peaceful setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed one night after a day riding bikes and enjoyed the peaceful setting and the bungalows. Staff is very friendly. Swimming pool is inviting and large. Nice grounds. Breakfast was good. Small bar area. Some noise transfers between attached bungalows.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    150
    54
    15
    1
See reviews for
39
153
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed one night, arriving after dark and leaving before dawn. My bungalow was good, with plenty of space, and clean. Restaurant was very good, and internet access was easy. The pool looked great - and far better than most other hotels I experienced in Cambodia.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed 3 nights (room 12) as we wanted plenty of time to visit Sambor Prei Kuk. The setting of the bungalows is beautiful: a lovely garden full of plants and a pond; all rooms have a private terrace (ours looked onto the pond). We felt the swimming pool is oversized (didn't make use of it). The restaurant served great dishes, but should install a different staircase, as many people seemed to feel unsafe. The room itself was quite nice, but unpractical in some ways: the bed was very close to the closet, making it hard to get into from that side (we could not move it due to the lights that were fixed to the wall on both sides); the mosquito net was installed on the inside of the four poster bed (it should have been on the outside!), so I almost ended up entangled and therefore we didn't use it; there is no direct lighting in the bathroom (just 1 light facing the ceiling), which also lacks a ventilator and towel rack. Another problem were the daily power cuts: there is a generator, but this only works for the lights along the garden pathways and in the restaurant; there were no flashlights or candles in the rooms, so we had to go ask for a candle when there was a long-lasting power cut one evening. Finally, there was a connecting door to the adjoining room which didn't close properly so I could actually look into the room next door (and vice versa); there should at least have been a curtain on both sides for more privacy. Kompong Thom itself is not a pleasant city; we didn't feel very comfortable/safe there, no English spoken at the local tourist office (even though the man was very helpful), the small museum seems to be gone, and we haven't seen any interesting shops. On hindsight, 1 night would have been enough, so that's what we'll do when we return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianTheNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGMcD, Manager at Sambor Village, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thanks for your in depth review of the facilities at the hotel. We will be using some of your comments as a guide line for our quiet season renovations. We can't promise that we will cover every area of concern, but you have raised some issues that we would certainly like to look at fixing when we get the chance.

Kind Regards,

Rich.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Gutted that we only planned one night in Kompong Thom, would have happily stayed longer at Sambor Village. It's like an oasis of the chaos that is Kompong Thom.
The bungalows are really great, good size and nice and cool, all set in beautifully kept surroundings.
The staff, bar and restaurant were all great and very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGMcD, Manager at Sambor Village, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thanks for your review Andy.

It's always good to hear people stay they wish they had stayed longer at Sambor Village. That means we must be doing something right!

Kampong Thom is a town that benefits most of its tourism by virtue of being the half way point between Phnom Penh and Siem Reap. However for those who want to spend 2 or 3 days in Kampong Thom, there are plenty of activities to fill in the time, with the remainder spent relaxing in around our pool, or in the restaurant and bar. Trip Advisor reviews for local activities are limited, but it is worth seeing Sambor Prei Kuk, Suntuk Mountain, Santuk Silks, The Stone Carvers Village, as well as cycling around the town and surrounding country side, or taking a sunset trip on the local river. Staff at the hotel will be able to help organise any of these activities, or give other suggestions.

If you ever pass this way again, we would be happy to welcome you back for a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Austria
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Recommend by a friend we booked three nights in this bungalow hotel. We wouldn't have stopped in Kampong Thom without this recommendation. The pool gives such a great feeling after hot and exhausting trips in full buses and on dirt road with traditional Cyclos. The bungalows are nicely decorated and in a wonderful tropical garden. The staff is friendly and helpful. The food tastes good and is also nicely decorated.
Its only 600m from the mainroad in the Democrat road which leaves to the left from the RN6 if you look direction Siem Reap. Democrat road is just a few meters before the point where the buses drop you of.
We hope the quality will can be kept when the Management will change soon!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anjop58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGMcD, Manager at Sambor Village, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hi Andreas,

Thank you for taking the time to make a review for Sambor Village. It was nice to meet you and your wife, and spend some time chatting the afternoon before you left.

I think the change of management will be of benefit to the hotel, as I have very limited experience in hotel management, coming rather from a culinary back ground. I have enjoyed my two years here, but am ready to head back to the kitchen on a full time basis. I would like to take this chance to thank the staff at the hotel for all the hard work they have put in during my time here. Despite being a small garden bungalow hotel, we have become the premier hotel in Kampong Thom, a status that sometimes brings added pressure and expectations from guests, but the staff always do their very best and are friendly and genuine in their concern for our guests well being.

We will be welcoming the new manager Nicolas tomorrow, and I wish him all the best for his time here, and hope that he finds the experience as rewarding as I have. I will stay in Kampong Thom with my family, as I would like to spend time helping to develop tourism and hospitality in the area, with a particular focus on the local restaurant scene, and other visitor activities.

Thanks once again for your review, I hope we keep in touch in the future.

Rich.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

This place is just lovely. We stayed here for 4 days.
It's at a quiet street so not much traffic. The garden in which the bungalows are set is very nice. Some bungalows do share a roof which means you can hear your neighbors (and they can hear you). But in practice we didn't hear much so it was not a problem for us. The bed was huge and very good. There's a minibar that you can use to put your own stuff in. The aircon works like a treat and is silent enough to sleep with. Although there is at least one bungalow (no 9, we where there the 1st night) where the aircon blows its cold air directly onto the bed.
The pool is very nice and not dirty at all as I read in another review. It is cleaned every morning. During the day some leaves may fall of a tree in the water, but I wouldn't call that dirty.
I also read that someone got food poisoning. Well, for me it was the opposite. This was the place where my upset tummy could recover. The kitchen is excellent. Beautiful dishes, very well prepared, very fresh, ample choice. What more do you need. The prices are not high at all. Many dishes for 4 or 5 $. Yes, you can find cheaper places, but it will in general not be of the same quality.
Staff is very friendly and helpful. They offer massage service, bike rental, boat tours and can help with excursions.
When you stay for more than just 1 or 2 days, you should ask for a discount. We got one, even though it was the high season.

Room Tip: The 1st night we had bungalow no 9 which was in the back right at the fence with the neighbors. Camb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renevdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGMcD, Manager at Sambor Village, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here and the time you spent exploring the surrounding area during your stay in Kampong Thom.

Discounts are not always guaranteed, but it can be worthwhile to ask, especially in a situation such as yours, when you are having to be moved to different rooms over a number of nights due to high guest numbers. Having a flexible guest enables us to fill any remaining rooms that other wise would be vacant so the arrangement is mutually beneficial.

During the quiet season we often get NGO workers, volunteers and short term teachers staying for several days or weeks. Discounts are usually given to such groups if requested.

Once again, thank you, and all the best. We hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We booked Sambor Village to celebrate new year's eve. The Hotel is well located alongside the river. The staff is very friendly and the accommodation is fine, though I would advice to know well your villa's neighbors or hope they don't snore as the villa have each two rooms and are not at all sound-proof. The pool is very lovely but dirty, and the food is very expensive for Cambodia. This is the only place where we got food-poisoning on a two weeks travel across the country.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julievhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGMcD, Manager at Sambor Village, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Note to readers. In order to update my response to this review I have had to delete my previous response as I could not add more information by editing.

My initial response to this review was to apologise for any possibility that our food made the guest ill. I pointed out that incubation periods for food borne illness can vary between a few days and an hour or so, and that I would contact other guests and agencies who stayed at the hotel, and invited the reviewer to contact us with more information. As all guests ate the same meal, the best course of action was to contact as many of them as possible and make inquiries regarding their health after their meal here. In order to pin point the cause of food poisoning I need information regarding length of time from eating until onset of sickness, and also of symptoms suffered.

I have now heard back from 3 tour agencies who had guests staying with us, and who partook in the New Years event at Sambor Village. They have no reports from their guests of illness following the 7 course meal. I have not heard back from the reviewer.

The reviewers complaint of the hotel food being expensive for Cambodia does not take into account that the New Years event is a once a year event, that includes a 7 course meal, free flow drinks, champagne and entertainment. This is a compulsory event (as is Christmas Eve) for those dining at the hotel, however we are happy for guests to dine at one of the other restaurants in town if they do not wish to attend.

This review is in many ways out of order, and indicative of the reasons that many restauranteurs and hoteliers have a love hate relationship with trip advisor. The correct course of action following suspected food borne illness should be to contact the restaurant or hotel concerned and to lodge a complaint with them directly with details of symptoms and so on, so that they may take the opportunity to investigate thoroughly. Many countries have food safety officers who can investigate further and either aid a restaurant to make corrections, or shut them down if the restaurant is beyond redemption. There is simply too much variation in incubation times of bacteria, and too many ways to pick up contagions (door handles, unclean ice etc), to blame the last meal eaten. The review could then take into account the response to the complaint and would be more fair and balanced overall.

We have seen the results of mass food poisoning with a group arriving here last year who had stopped at a road side restaurant on the way here. 3/4 of the group was bed ridden the following morning and their cycling holiday was ruined. As all of our guests at New Year ate the same food, at the same table, at the same time, I would have expected a similar result had our meal been to blame.

I am not entirely ruling out the possibility that the reviewer's illness was caused by us, but under the circumstances, with no further complaints from the other 20 or so guests, I am now skeptical about this complaint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kampong Thom
1.6 mi away
Glorious Hotel & Spa
Glorious Hotel & Spa
#2 of 6 in Kampong Thom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Reasmey Cheanich Hotel
Reasmey Cheanich Hotel
#1 of 8 in Kampong Cham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mekong Dolphin Hotel
Mekong Dolphin Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kratie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Vimean Sovann Guest House
Vimean Sovann Guest House
#1 of 8 in Kampong Thom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seng Chhenghorn Guesthouse
Seng Chhenghorn Guesthouse
#2 of 8 in Kampong Thom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
20.4 mi away
Bronze Lake Resort
Bronze Lake Resort
#6 of 8 in Kampong Thom
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sambor Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sambor Village

Property: Sambor Village
Address: Democrat Street (Brochea Thebatey), Kampong Thom, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kampong Thom Province > Kampong Thom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kampong Thom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sambor Village 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the bank of the Stung Seng River, Sambor Village is the perfect place to discover the rural Cambodian life in complete comfort. At only 600 meters from the Phnom Penh - Siem Reap national road, refresh yourself in our salted water pool after a bicycle ride in the villages and rice paddies. Our restaurant serves both Cambodian classics and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sambor Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sambor Village Hotel Kampong Thom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing