We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”

Review of Providence House

Dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining area
Providence House Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
4 reviews
Dining area
Providence House
Dining area
Kitchen
Sitting room
Sitting room
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Family bathroom
Family bathroom
Entrance hall
First floor landing
Exterior house and patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
St. Breward, Bodmin, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rob A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed September 6, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Well, words can't describe how perfect Providence House was for us.
4 Adults and 5 Children aged 3 to 15.
Ideal location, stunning views. Great little shop in the village just 2 minutes walk down the road.
Lovely and quiet at night.
Lovely and clean, spacious bedrooms.
Huge lounge with more than enough room for the kids to play.
Well equiped kitchen. Large dining area with plenty of seating. 2 very clean bathrooms/toilets.
Will definately be booking again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2015
Thanks so much for your comments, we are delighted to hear that you found this country retreat perfect for your holiday finding the rooms spacious and clean! We look forward to hearing from you when you wish to re book, don't forget to claim your loyalty discount next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul f
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good cottage with a few problems”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely cottage but not without problems, firstly quite disappointing that there was no gate on the small outdoor space making it not suitable for families with small children. For the small price of a gate this could be greatly improved. The holiday is cut very short as you are not allowed access until 4.30pm, after a long journey sitting in a car to gain access is stressful!!! The hot water runs out really quick which is surprising in a five bedroom property. There is a landing that again is not suitable for small children as there is a bridge type thing that has rails that look like a ladder so very appealing to small children but with a sheer drop!! A bit more picky is the fact that there was one tea towel, but purchased some more so no biggy. All that said, it is a lovely cottage in a lovely location, and good value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space
Liked least: lack of a gate
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2014
Thank you for your review and I am glad to hear that you loved the cottage and its location however I am sorry to learn of your issues with Providence House; all customer feedback is invaluable to us and the owner. On reviewing the property description I see that we have stated “To one side of the house, three steps lead up to a sheltered paved patio area with outdoor table and chairs. Children and dogs will need supervision as the patio is not enclosed.” In light of your comments we will certainly review the description and pass your comments on to the owner of the property. I can appreciate that after a stressful journey you want to access the property as soon as possible, however our holiday start times are to ensure that the housekeeper has sufficient time to make up all eight beds and clean the property thoroughly for the incoming guests. We understand that holidays are very important to clients and we endeavour to be as accurate as we can with our descriptions. We have many child friendly properties and we would be happy to discuss your requirements to help you choose the right property in the future. We hope that we can welcome you back to Cornwall.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freemak2
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely house very spacious.”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in October 2013 for a 4 day break. As we opened the door it immediately had a feel of spaciousness and very nicely decorated. Some lovely features throughout the property. All the bedrooms are well equipped and very comfortable. The girls loved the kitchen and cooked breakfast for 8 people with ease.Lounge with Flat screen TV was very comfortable. The bathrooms with great power shower was nice and invigorating. Great to have good WiFi service.
St Breward is a lovely village with a friendly feel. We ate at "The Old inn" which had a very good menu. We even found the local football club and played darts with the local people, who totally thrashed us.
Would recommend this large accommodation, and hope to come back again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size and character of the property
Liked least: The weather.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 28, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely feedback, and glad to hear your family enjoyed their stay in St Breward. Please do not hesitate to get in touch with us if we can help with any future holiday plans!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing