We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant place, lake and tipis are amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cornish Tipi Holidays
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant place, lake and tipis are amazing”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

It was my husband's birthday and we chose to stay at Cornish Tipi's with 10 of our closest friends. From the moment we arrived we felt that this was going to be different to any camping experience we had so far had. The tipis were perfect for relaxing with friends around a roaring campire and the quarry lake was like something out of a movie, crystal clear and teeming with fish - it was perfect for swimming and for messing about in (the free!) canoes and rowboats. The warden Oggy and his family were really nice and were always on hand for you to ask questions about the site, or where to go for a good cream tea / splash in the surf. We all had a brilliant time and since coming back home, I've already recommended it to three friends. Go there, its amazing!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise_Rock-West
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    11
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
42
16
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Just a quick email to say what a wonderful time we had at the weekend forour friend's wedding despite our last minute arrangements and the terrible weather on Saturday night and Sunday. The Tipi was great we loved it, the kids loved it, the whole atmosphere at the site was amazing and we hope that we can come back for a longer stay at some point. You guys have a really special place there and I think that it is no small part due to your wonderfully personal approach to everything and relaxed attitude toward your guests - absolutely fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkJoJoDixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Our visit to Cornish Tipi Holidays was slightly different as the owners had generously permitted my wife and I to visit to swim in the reclaimed quarry on-site. A mossy tree lined path leads one down to a wooden gate and downward gladed path to a scene which fair took my breath away. Clear water sparkling in the sunlight, we stood on the boat landing stage and watched rainbow trout swimming lazily beneath us and looked beyond to the back wall of the spring fed quarry – a swim we vowed to complete once we built the courage to enter this deep expanse of sun-warmed water.

It was a deeply moving experience to find ourselves swimming with rainbow trout just a few feet below us and there were floating pontoons to break up the swim if we needed a short break along the way. Boats were gently lapping and are for the use of holiday makers, as are the life jackets stowed neatly away nearby.

We took a wander around the site and it was lovely to see tipis sited in secluded pockets in the woodland and social fire pits for cooking and conversation. The grounds were equipped with all the basics you would need for a back-to-basics camping holiday and would appeal to those who seek solitude and stillness with the option for socialising with a few fellow campers around the fire pit in the evenings. It was a bit like stepping into the world of Peter Pan though there is (fortunately) no crocodile with ticking clock lurking in the quarry lake.

Our experience of Tipi was a wild swim with the kind permission of the site owners but we left with a view to booking a holiday there at some point in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlduffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed last week in the top field in a large tipi. The site is as described with a real natural feel. Building the fire, swimming in the lake and fishing were great fun.
Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guidonick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2011

The setting was perfect for us - I didn't want to go back to living in a building! The staff member who looked after us was very friendly and helpful, and there are plenty of great places to visit nearby.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sac5511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Make no mistake, the place is magical / beautiful (even in the driving rain), the people charming and helpful and you get everything that it says on the website, albeit a bit haphazardly as the warden was not around. The campfires were magical and the kids LOVED the lake.
However, we are experienced campers, used to camping wild sometimes and to me it is overpriced by 50%. I have a problem paying the equivalent of what we would pay in a B&B (which includes bedding and breakfast) for a musty tipi which at the end of the day is a glorified tent.
So mixed review here: location: yes - price:no

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nippysprout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Have just got back from an amazing weekend staying at cornish tipi holidays. We were a large group of ladies celebrating a hen so had been promised a spot away from other campers as we didn't want to disturb anyone. As it happened we were the only ones on the site this weekend so had the whole place to ourselves. We had such a fantastic time. The tipis, although basic had everything we needed in them (cooking utensils, stove, cool boxes, sleeping mats, water containers)- i do recommend bringing an air mattress and bedding for extra comfort - but we were all cosy and dry over the weekend. We were met upon arrival and Al made sure we had everything we needed, even ran some of the group to the shops to get a couple of things we'd forgotten. After that he made sure we had his number in case we needed to get hold of him but then left us to it... we had more than enough firewood and had ice blocks dropped off for our cold stuff so although it is basic it does feel like luxury camping.

The site itself is breathtakingly beautiful. I can't quite describe how lovely the lake is, especially when the sun came out. Some of us were tempted in for a swim but be warned its freezing! You're free to use the boats and fish off the jetty, we didn't catch any trout but did see them - you are welcome to eat what you catch which would've been lovely had we had any fishing skills!

All in all, I would highly recommend a holiday here. We had a wander round the site and there were some lovely little secluded spots for some of the tipis, it would be a great spot for a romantic getaway or a family holiday with kids would be amazing - i wish my parents had taken me to places like this - my 2 year old would definitely love it and i'd love to take him back there later in the year.

if you fancy getting back to nature, enjoying the stars and wildlife, a roaring fire and having a great base for exploring a beautiful part of the country then get yourself to cornish tipi holidays - you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: lakeview and nearby looked like lovely quiet spots
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelyveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pendoggett
4.2 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
1,248 reviews
17.8 mi away
Wooda Farm Holiday Park
Wooda Farm Holiday Park
#1 of 3 in Poughill
464 reviews
13.8 mi away
Pine Green Valley Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Newquay View Resort
Newquay View Resort
#5 of 77 in Newquay
308 reviews
15.1 mi away
Widemouth Fields
Widemouth Fields
#1 of 4 in Widemouth Bay
89 reviews
21.2 mi away
Pentire Haven Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornish Tipi Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornish Tipi Holidays

Property: Cornish Tipi Holidays
Address: B3267,St Kew | Pendoggett, Pendoggett PL30 3HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Pendoggett
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Pendoggett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cornish Tipi Holidays 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to the sound of birdsong, go swimming in the clear water of a secluded lake. Cook your bacon and eggs over an open fire while you plan your day, or just laze it away in the peace and quiet of your own personal tipi. You can always go fishing tomorrow, and walk along the the cliffs the day after that... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Cornish Tipi Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornish Tipi Holidays Hotel Pendoggett

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing