We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cornish Tipi Holidays(Pendoggett)(Great Value!)
$38
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Port Gaverne Hotel(Port Gaverne)
$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Slipway B & B(Port Isaac)
$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$182
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Wadebridge Hotel(Wadebridge)(Great Value!)
$83
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$166
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveler rating
129
75
25
28
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
75
25
28
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsport isaacthe pubsteak and ale piedoom barlovely beer gardenwarm welcomescampievening foodnorth cornwalllovely foodnice roomminute drivetea and coffee making facilitiespuddingfamily roomnight staystayed for nights
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 281 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2018 via mobile

We loved the Cornish arms! Only had a 1 night stay.. the rooms were lovely and tidy and clean, the staff were amazing, very helpful and the food was super delicious. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to people!

Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
Thank Alyce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2018

We called in here on our way back from Tintagel. We ordered Beef & Ale Pie and 2 portions of Scampi. The Beef & Ale Pie was great, Really tasty, hot and enjoyable. The scampi dishes were ok but could have been hotter.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PWH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2018 via mobile

We went to the Cornish arms on sat 9th June didn’t book but the staff soon found us a table with our collie it’s a dog friendly pub ,we had the steak pie and fish and chips both excellent and also a lovely home made fruit crumble good local ales very friendly efficient staff well happy!

Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank wipeoutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2018

Arrived early as they said it would be ok, but the host grunted at us and continued his phone call.
Room was lovely except the macerator toilet went wrong, was creating noise all night - kept my husband awake all night, would have been me too if I’d not taken a sleeping tablet. Our bathroom flooded in the corner and pub downstairs flooded too.
I know these thing do happen, but there was no apology! The attitude was “pants”!
We decided not to stay for the second night as there was no guarantee it would be fixed. The hosts wanted to charge us for both nights anyway! Should have got a discount for faulty plumbing. We didn’t pay for the second night - much to their consternation.
I was always taught, in business the customer is always right - they went to a different school apparently!

Room Tip: Away from the main road and not rooms 1 or 2 as they have macerator toilets.
Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank kimhope35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeoffDennison, Owner at The Cornish Arms, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2018

Having taken time to reflect on your comments I feel I must respond and just clarify a couple of points.
When you arrived I acknowledged you and then completed my converstion with another customer who had called me with a query. There was no arrangment to check in prior to our advertised 14:00 time but you were allowed to do so as you needed to be at a wedding at 13:00pm. Requesting an early check-in in advance would have been appreciated and we would have been expecting you.
The problem with the plumbing was caused by an inability to follow a simple instruction given when you were shown to your room where you were asked not to put anything other than toilet paper or tissues down the toilet as they block the macerator system. The foreign object you decided to flush caused the blockage hence the issue and the resulting flooding both in your room and in the bar areas below. Our engineer attended site at the earliest point the following morning and cleared the item resolving the problem and the room was let on the subsequent night with no issue at all.
After paying for your first night your husband did state that you would return at 6pm to see whether the issue with the toilet had been resolved. It was resolved but you failed to return or notify us that you would not be returning. Yes we do value our customers but also expect them to be able to comply with a simple instruction so as not to inconvenience themselves or others in adjacent rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2018 via mobile

Really generous portions of tasty food at lunch time. Excellent service from friendly staff. The best stocked gin bar (70+) I've ever come across at a country pub. Thoroughly recommended for a lunch stop!

Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews