We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Con Dao Seatravel Resort
Nearby Hotels
$491
Six Senses
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ATC Resort(Con Son)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveler rating
14
29
19
14
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
29
19
14
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeachfront bungalowseafoodbit misleadinglimited englishwestern tastessoupsbreakfast buffet ismotorbike rentala sea view roomwhite sandstayed nightsroomysonpiernature
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 93 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Well, lesson learned, seatravel resort is more like visiting someones house who doesn't really want you there. The beach is great, but watch out for the sandflies. The rooms are OK, big and reasonably clean, truely where they are failing is any form of customer service, there was one young women that tried harder, but really I think the resort is run by children who just do not care if your there or not.
When we arrived, we inquired bout a diving charter we had booked ( raindow divers, great by the way) and even though the sea travel had several posters of the dive charter, they had no idea who they were.
Then we asked if we could rent a couple of scooters for a few days, this was not a problem, what was the problem was there was no gas in them, they then told us gas was 40 min away, so we started to walk into town, after a ten minute walk what do we see, a gas station, so back we went and got the scooters ( you need them if you want to see the island).
Food at the resort was basic, but most Vietnamese food is, so if you have thoughts of losing some weight, then this might be your place. Going into town for food is almost impossible, unless you are OK with meat sitting in the sun and flies for the day.
Foks, I have traveled a lot and have learned to expect very little in Asia, if you come to Con Do a( by the way the diving here is low grade at best) then keep your options open, do not book for more than one night, giving you the ability to move.
One more thing, the picture you see on their web site, ya isn't what you get.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rgrasser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

There are not too many options in Con Dao. This place was so/so, 75 USD a night too much, if it were 30, then I would say nothing. The pictures on this page with the pool are of the hotel next door. Besides the hotel; Con Dao is the most beautiful place in Vietnam. If you can afford it stay at Six Senses, that is a very nice hotel.
The food at Sea Travel was also so/so, service is very poor.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 927feldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

DO NOT GO THERE!!!!

My boyfriend and I spent 2 weeks travelling through Cambodia and Vietnam and decided to spend our last few days relaxing on the Con Dao islands. We reserved 4 nights at the Con Dao Seatravel resort as it looked nice on their website – and what a mistake that was. Before booking our accommodation, I had read all the Trip Advisor reviews and indeed many of the comments posted where not very positive. However as a frequent user of Trip Advisor I know that sometimes you just need to experience a place in person and not listen to the reviews. How wrong was I!

In summary (and to reiterate what a lot of other people are saying on Trip Advisor), this is what we experienced upon arrival:
Bed bugs (we were covered in bites in the morning, between us we had over 100 bites)
Mouse droppings on the floor
Filthy windows and doors to the terrace
Electricity cut off all morning without notice
Badly constructed and maintained bungalow - windows not shutting properly which allowed Mosquitos and sand flies into the room, bathroom not well maintained.
Whole resort in a state of disarray - path ways and communal areas not finished, rubbish lying around (next to bungalow 602)
No facilities such as sun loungers on the beach
For 75 USD a night this was the most expensive place we stayed in and by far the LEAST value for money and most disappointing that we had experienced during our travels.

When we woke the following morning and discovered we were covered in flea bites, we went to complain and check-out in order to move somewhere else. We literally spent 2 hours negotiating on the price we should pay for early check out as they wanted us to pay for the 4 nights we had reserved!!! Outrageous.

The duty manager did his best but was actually powerless and was constantly phoning his boss Kim Ngan, the manager of the resort, who basically told him to withhold our passports unless we paid up! I got Kim on the phone and explained to her why we were moving and that we will pay for the night was stayed but no more, but her only concern was that she wasn’t filling her bungalows and she hung up on me, and then was unreachable for the next 30 mins. How can you think about filling your bungalow when there are CLEAR ISSUES (bed bugs) to be addressed so that other guests don’t end up experiencing the same things!!!! By this point we were so angry and upset and just wanted to get our passports back and get out of there, we negotiated to pay 50% of the 2nd night – which in my mind is still totally unacceptable! In any normal establishment, we would be COMPENSATED for what we experienced.

I wrote a full letter of complaint to Kim Ngan once we had left and even attached photographic evidence of the bites but didn’t hear back from her – we didn’t even get an apology!

Having travelled the world extensively never in our lives have we experienced such appalling customer service. The manager of the resort should have the responsibility to handle the case accordingly and not try to withhold our passports to blackmail us! I'm utterly horrified.

Con Dao is definitely not ready for western tourism and particularly with instances such as this, they are only hindering themselves in the development of the tourism industry – and this makes absolutely zero business sense to me. Having since spoken to a number of different ex-pats on the island about the seatravel and con dao resorts, I discovered that they really don't have a good reputation at all. In fact, most of them told us to avoid at all costs and they would never recommend! How right they were and pity we discovered too late.

Finally, if you do go to Con Dao, the diving is superb and the man that will look after your every need is Larry, the owner of DIVE DIVE DIVE. He takes it upon himself to look after western tourists (provides local info, hotel and restaurant recommendations, medical advice etc etc as well as the diving) and gets them to see the good side of the island & have a great stay there, which is still a relatively unspoilt island with a lot of potential and hopefully it will grow in the right direction so that other people can experience its beauty without any of the problems.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank gosia_rz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We recently stayed at Con Dao Seatravel Resort in one of the beachfront bungalows. Situated a few meters from the beach, the bungalows are quite large, have a small terrace in front and a bathroom at the back. They're at the edge of the small own of Con Dao but within walking distance of the market and the few restaurants on the island.
Unfortunately, we have to confirm some other reviews about the cleanliness and the service at this place. We're definitely no spoiled tourists expecting immaculate conditions whereever we go, especially not on some remote island in Vietnam. But we try to be polite, open and friendly, and we like to see the same from the people where we're staying. The staff wasn't rude, but almost nobody tried really hard to make us feel welcome. Almost nobody but the manager spoke any English, but that's usually no problem and we've had some fun times at other places talking with our hands and feet. At Con Dao, there was almost no communication although we even tried using the few vietnamese words we had picked up. Sometimes the waiters didn't even greet us. They just seemed partly shy, partly uninterested. There were mouse droppings in our room as well, and although we stayed three nights nobody seemed to bother about that. We read some time later that this resort is state-owned, and that just fits our impression perfectly.
The beach is beautiful although there's some construction of a new harbor going on right in front of the resort. However, there's no deck chairs or other amenities on the beach, just some wooden chairs in bad condition right in front of the bungalows which can't be moved. Food was okay, but hardly any vegetarian options. Altogether we expected more - and this place could definitely be more, provided they improve on their service.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim_Koeln_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

The title photo is actually of the resort next door - this one has beach bungalows and the location, staff, food, etc were all really good.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MurphyOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews