We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveler rating
90
16
1
1
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
90
16
1
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews colonial style front office team minutes from the airport surrounded by nature private beach lotus pond flight tickets wooden frame junior suite room division manager spent four nights this wonderful place close to the airport luxurious stay outdoor shower free shuttle early check
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 114 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2018 via mobile

I went to Con Dao Island in the last summer. The weather never better on these days. I chose villa with costs $305/night. They have a yard and small lake. Breakfast was so good with French bread. They supplied hats nón lá and bikes for me to ride and enjoy the view. The resort was built in ancient style. You will feel better when u come here. Relaxing

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank th_ovyn2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2018 via mobile

I would HANDS DOWN recommend this beautiful resort to travelers! We were stuck between this and Six Senses and we are so glad we made the right choice.

First of all, the staff here are some of the hardest-working and accommodating people we’ve ever encountered! Everyone from the front desk to the breakfast food staff to the helpers were so sweet and kind. They were very helpful and always wanted to make sure we were having a great time. The staff played a HUGE part in making our visit feel so welcoming. We didn’t even want to leave!!

Second, the room we were in was IMMACULATE. We got the Indochina Villas with the private pool (definitely recommend) and it was so beautiful. Pretty much exactly like the pictures online! The bathroom was huge - it had a large bathtub and an outdoor shower, especially useful when using the private pool :) No complaints about the room - it was every bit as beautiful as advertised. We definitely recommend springing for the Indochina Villas (or the other one higher in price - just wasn’t available when we booked which was pretty much the day before) for a little more privacy and luxury :)

Third, the breakfast was GREAT and included in the room price. They had a variety of fruits, breads, corn flakes, yogurt, etc. and you could also order get a more traditional Vietnamese breakfast (they had chicken or beef porridge, chicken pho, beef pho... and there were some specials like one of the days, they had bun rieu and bo kho). You could also get eggs (op la/sunnyside) and their fruit juices were amazing!! :)

As for their restaurant, the food was definitely more expensive than usual, especially if you’ve been traveling to HCMC or other places in Vietnam. It was still very delicious and we did enjoy dining there on our last night at the resort. Just do plan to pay a bit more than usual (especially if you’re ordering drinks) and plan accordingly since you’re likely to be paying as much for food as you would in the States or other western countries.

Fourth, they give you bikes to bike around the resort for free. This was great to see around the area but then we decided to rent a motorbike and forgot about the bikes. ;) Do yourself a favor and rent a motorbike, you’ll open yourself up to see so much more of the island and even have other food choices! There’s only one road so you basically cannot get lost even if you tried! And the people in town are so sweet and always there to help with directions or anything else needed. It was our first time on a motorbike and while there is a learning curve, most people should do fine! There are some twist and turns and wind to be cognizant of so please be careful if you’re not well-practiced with motorbikes!

And last but not least, the private beach was amazing. The beach was very clean and the waters were a clear aquamarine blue. We underestimated how amazing it is to have a private beach (most of the time we were the only people there).

Overall this was a great experience. The island is amazing, the people are sweet, and the scenery is to die for. If you visit the Con Dao Islands, definitely stay here! You won’t regret it!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5  Thank ngocn912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2018 via mobile

Great resort but the service is what sets it apart.

Staff here have gone out of their way to help us, exceptional service from the moment we arrived.

The room is very nice in a colonial style, very spacious and the outdoor shower is definitely a highlight. Don’t worry there’s also an indoor bath.

One thing not so good is the driver from the airport who tried to sell us “packages” with highly inflated prices. Don’t believe this guy and don’t let that gets in the way of your stay.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Ha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018

Thanks for having such a great time! Even though we had to leave one day before our original departure, we had a very nice time staying at Paulo Condor. In the first part of our trip we stayed at another hotel and already wanted to get an impression of this beautiful and charming hotel. The receptionists were highly friendly and showed us everything. Moreover they asked us for an early check in on the date of arrival and for a pick up location on Con Dao.
As we were picked up, we got a message that we were actually upgraded to a higher category. Even though we got the message that we had to leave one day prior to our original day of departure -due to flight cancellations- we enjoyed our stay. Cristy- the head of receptionists was very helpful getting us new flight tickets and so on.
The restaurant is very good even though the english skills could be a little bette (but this is a problem on the whole island). The beach is magnificent and the pool is extraordinary. The rooms are so spacious and full of thoughtful details as a free standing bathtub.
There is also a gym on the resort and a spa.
Thanks again. Looking forward to seeing you again!

Room tip: Take one class above the normal, then you make sure you have a freestanding house on your own
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Felix F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2018

We stayed at Poulo Condor on the last (relaxation) leg of our 3 week Vietnam tour. It was booked by our tour company, Tonkin Travel (who have been amazing).
So many positive things to say about this place. It really is a beautiful, tranquil, unspoiled paradise.
The staff were all incredibly friendly, in a very calm and unassuming manner. This clearly came from Christy the Manger, who was amazing - from collecting us from the airport, during our time there and then again when dropping us back to the airport and making sure we were all checked in. She was always smiley, helpful, calm and efficient - the Poulo owners need to make sure they hang on to her (not lose her to Six Senses!!).
We stayed in three rooms / semi-detached villas. They were just beautiful - built and decorated in an understated colonial style, with lots of space and a real connection with outdoors. The bathrooms are particularly cool, with outdoor showers. We spent many hours on the balcony, watching the ghekos, black squirrels and many birds in the trees. Poulo works hard to ensure that the place is eco / animal friendly and this pays off, with a real feeling of being part of the unspoiled island of Con Dao.
The outside areas are equally beautiful. The pool area was amazing, with a beautiful green infinity pool, and bar area. It was nice that this was completely separate from the beach. The beach was immaculate, huge, glorious and pretty much empty most of the time were were there (other than the flotilla of small fishing boats in the bay). There were several other seating areas dotted around the grounds, with bridges streams etc.
I understand that there are a total of 32 rooms, and it was supposed to be quite busy when we were there - but it never felt it. There's so much room and space. We were often the only people on the beach, and same at the pool.
We used the spa services on a number of occasions - what an experience. Without doubt the best treatments in the best treatment rooms we've ever had.
The restaurant was magnificent. and the food really good. We ate in the restaurant, by the pool and often in our rooms - always with great service and good food.
As for Con Dao, it was the perfect place for us to wind down and finish our Vietnam tour in style. Its a beautiful, quiet, untouched island. The only town (Con Son) is quiet, with a few local shops and restaurants - and again completely not touristy. There's really only one road on the island, and it was the first time in Vietnam where we felt comfortable to hire mopeds and explore - definitely well worth it. Some beautiful untouched beaches to discover, incredible views and loads of nature (we saw monkeys!).
I honestly can't think of anything I'd change at Poulo, it ticked all of the boxes and some. We all loved it and really hope to go back one day.
A massive thanks for Tonkin Travel for finding it for us, and to Christy and her team for making us feel very special.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank simonm930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews