We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A right little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dulnain Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2007

My wife and I stayed here for a night recently and had high expectations after reading previous reviews. We were not dissapointed. Ian greeted us at the door with a whisky and showed us to our room. We had the 5 course dinner which was great and the restaurant was nearly full. Met a lovely couple from Yorkshire and took coffee in the lounge. Very relaxing and can not fault the experience. Try it for yourself.
Kevin, Castle Douglas

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KevinGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 413 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2007

We stayed at Tigh Na Sgiath for 1 night recently on a tour of Scotland

The hotel is set in a pretty village in a very scenic area with lots of attractions nearby, and is on the edge of the village set in its own grounds (with red squirrels and beautiful views of the mountains in the distance)

We arrived in the worst weather of our week's holiday which put a slight dampener on things - we were welcomed with a complimentary drink by the owner, and informed that due to cancellations that night (due to the freak weather in the south of England) we had been upgraded to a deluxe four poster room

Our room was fantastic, traditionally furnished with a four poster bed and a bay window with window seat - the bathroom was even better with a good sized Spa Bath and shower

The hotel itself is a grand old house with a wide staircase and 2 very nice lounges in which to relax pre or post dinner, whilst looking out onto the gardens

The food was very good with a good choice of meals served in a separate dining room, and breakfast was also plentiful and with several choices

Overall we would recommend the place as a get away from it all break or as a base for the many surrounding attractions

The only thing which spoiled the place slightly for us, was how quiet the hotel was during our stay, which gave it a formality which would have been less noticeable had it been busier (we felt fairly self-conscious during our meal as there was only other 1 couple dining). It also discouraged us from relaxing in the lounges and discussing travel experiences with other guests.

However given we received our upgrade due to other cancellations, it was a minor issue and we would definitely recommend the place to others.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mackem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2007

We've recently returned from a one night stay at this excellent hotel. We stayed in the Rothes room and our friends stayed in the Lochinorb room next door. Both are on the top floor ( second) but the Rothes room does not have en-suite facilities. It has a large , private bathroom with a wonderful deep bath located across the corridor. Whilst this was a little frustrating at times, the large bath with oceans of hot water more than made up for it. Each room has bathrobes so the dash for the bathroom didn't have to be done in pyjamas !

The owner Iain was lovely and made us feel very much at home, and the free sherry/whisky to welcome us was a nice touch. He was very busy doing all the front of house jobs, plus nifty service in the dining room at night, but always had time for a chat and happy to give us ideas of places to visit.

The food was absolutely fabulous, and our Singaporean friends thought they hadn't had better whilst in Scotland. The five courses were all excellent, and the vegetarian food was exceptionally good. We retired to the drawing room after our food to have our coffee, and shared a very pleasant couple of hours chatting over the day's events.

The decor across the hotel is excellent, and you can tell that the owners have very high standards. The same can be said for the linen and crystal in the dining room - so nice to see that someone cares how to present food. The breakfast in the morning was also excellent and the choice of teas was the largest I've ever seen.

In short I would have no hesitation to reccomend this hotel to anyone and am planning a further visit soon.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happy-Haggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2007

This hotel is set in a really beautiful country location just 15 minutes from Aviemore. It is large victorian house surrounded by coutryside and peace and quiet. We arrived at the hotel quite late on a Friday and found the host knew who we were before we even introduced ourselves. We signed in and were shown to our room at the top of the house. The room was clean and really pretty with a window overlooking the green fields to the front of the property. Decoration is traditional but fits in with the house very well. Everything is of a good quality. There are some lovely touches like the crystal glasses and bottles of speyside still water on the dresser andthe towelling bath robes. And the books in the bedside tables in case you fancy something to read. The bathroom was a good size and had just been renewed, I think, with a new shower. I couldn't fault this at all. We ate dinner here on our second night. It was delicious and had some unusual but delicious dishes like tower of haggis neeps and tatties with whiskey cream sauce! Breakfast was amazing. A large selection served quickly and efficiently. Briliant to set you up for a day on the mountains. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The only thing I would say is that there is no bar but the host will serve drinks in the lounge if you ask. And book for dinner as this fills up very fast. Great for a weekend away from the city.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank angela0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2007

We stayed at the Tigh na Sgiath for one night, dinner bed and breakfast. We arrived at the hotel and were shown to our room. We were booked into a standard room but were upgraded free of charge to one of the superior rooms. The room was lovely. Nice view, very clean and lots of attention to detail. Four poster bed and a lovely bathroom with a big jacuzzi bath with underwater lighting which changed colours. There was a DVD in the room with a choice of DVD's to watch and also a CD player with some CD's too. Fresh flowers and fruit in the room and bottled water with crystal glasses. The evening meal was to die for - 5 courses and all gorgeous. Breakfast the next morning was also great. I would definately recommend this hotel - the standard is very high and is in a very peaceful and relaxing environment.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Zoomer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for one night - were given a warm welcome, a huge, beautifully decorated room with massive en-suite - and an extensive choice of delicious breakfasts. We would recommend this hotel without reservation. We didn't have dinner this time, but look forward to our next visit when we certainly will. It is like staying with friends in a Scottish country house. Book in and find out for yourselves.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank somerley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2007

We stayed at the Tigh-Na-Sgiath Hotel for just one night. We were greeted at the door by the charming owner and offered a complimentary drink. The Hotel is in very traditional style and lovingly maintained. The rooms were very comfortable and the evening meal superb. It's the best value we encountered over six days of Scottish travel and we would recomment it without any reservation.And we are fussy!!!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Minpie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dulnain Bridge
0.2 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
569 reviews
21.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
615 reviews
3.2 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
689 reviews
21.2 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
384 reviews
5.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel

Address: Skye of Curr Road | Near Grantown on Spey, Dulnain Bridge, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3PA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey > Dulnain Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dulnain Bridge
Price Range: $110 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former home of the Lipton Tea Family, built in 1902, this elegant mansion is set in its own fabulous grounds in the heart of the Cairngorm National Park, ideally located for the Speyside Malt Whisky Trail. It has retained many original features and offers the highest standards of Scottish hospitality. Each bedroom is individually appointed to the highest standards. Open log fires and original wood paneling. Exquisite Afternoon Cream Teas, large selection of Malt Whiskies, Local Gins and Beers. Pet Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigh Na Sgiath Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing