We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home, excellent host and great food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dulnain Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home from home, excellent host and great food”
Reviewed April 12, 2010

From the moment we arrived Iain was the perfect host. The hotel has wonderful views and is handy for travelling around the surrounding area. We ate in the resteraunt and the food was excellent. The breakfast the following morning was just as good. We have already recommended the hotel to friends - great value for money and a wonderful relaxing atmosphere. We shall return!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmudgeMcKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    40
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
266
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2010

A fine hotel, beautifully decorated and furnished , inkeeping with its period. Log fires and candles add to the atmosphere. Large well appointed bedrooms with all usual facilities, fresh flowers and fruit a nice extra. Complimentary drink on arrival offered by genial host, and which was drunk in front of blazing log fire with copious amounts of reading material, including magaziinesand coffee table books. Dinner menu was wide ranging and all food experienced was delightfully presented and a credit to the chef. Would highly recommend this hotel to any one interested in experiencing high quality Scottish hospitality at a reasonal price.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKillearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
500 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2010

From our arrival the great hospitality of the hosts was excellent. Complimentary drinks while we signed in. Room was spacious and had lots of little touches associated with bigger 5* chains inc robes and free WiFi throughout hotel. Excellent breakfast choices and even catered for choices not specifically detailed. Excellent service and value for money.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TartanTeddyBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2010

I hate writing bad reviews, but I'm afraid I was not impressed with the Tigh Na Sgiath. My first impressions came from their website and from Trip Advisor, where I saw lots of lovely photos of the large rooms, plenty of space to relax, and a beautiful lodge in a country setting. When we arrived, I was absolutely convinced we were in the wrong place. The lodge is situated right next to a few private residences, with their laundry and junk exposed to the hotel's entrance. Unfortunately, it was the right place. We checked in by the fire, which was nice, but it's right in the entry way and can only accommodate 4 or 5 people. Later when we might have wanted to relax by the fire, it was always occupied.

Then we were shown to our rooms and that's when I became really disappointed. Those lovely big rooms in other people's photos? Those are on the first floor, and there are only 3 of them. We were brought past those rooms and up to the attic, complete with ripped carpeting, water damaged wallpaper, a crib and some linen stored in the hallway, a weird smell, spiders under the covers, you name it!! It was not good at all. I felt like I was in someone's grandma's house. The beds were sagging and uncomfortable, with linen and covers that looked like they had been used since before the place became a hotel. Did I mention the spiders under the covers?

My husband and I were traveling with my father, so I got to see his room as well. Same thing! Not good! Both of our rooms had space heaters in them - classy. I took some photos of the wallpaper, and then my camera ran out of batteries. I wish I could have captured the worn out carpet and the overall feel up there. Everytime we came downstairs, I told myself it wasn't that bad. After all, the breakfast was pretty good and the owner (?) was trying really hard. It was bad though. Not at all worth even the discounted rate of 75 pounds that we received on Late Rooms. We stayed at an amazing bed and breakfast in Pitlochry on our final night in Scotland (the Beinn Bhracaigh), and it was the same price but light years ahead of this place. That really put things in perspective. The Tigh Na Sgiath is a tired "hotel," that's not even really in the country. The final blow is that the website says it was just refurbished a month before our stay. Ooops, forgot the attic!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank medorand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lachie06, Owner at Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2010
This review really stands out but for all the wrong reasons. The initial reaction to anybody reading this review must be – why such a poor review, when all the others are very positive, why did this reviewer endure a two day stay if it was so bad, was it really so bad at all, are the points raised factual and accurate and finally did the reviewer bring any of those issues to the owners attention at any point during their stay.
For somebody who does not enjoy writing bad reviews, this is the second site that this particular reviewer has conveyed their comments on and we have responded already, strange it appears some of the other issues raised have now been dropped and we see on this review some new issues that have popped up.

We always welcome feedback and suggestions from guests and can take constructive criticism, where necessary. We particularly value and appreciate the time, money and organisation that guests put into coming to stay at Tigh na Sgiath Hotel. Fortunately guests find us approachable and friendly to be able to convey their opinions on a face to face basis and this is the first time in over 20 years experience in the hospitality industry that somebody has “sneaked” their opinions and photographs onto such a public domain. At no point, during their stay did the reviewer indicate they were having such a poor stay and when on departure were asked by their host if they had “ENJOYED” their stay they replied “YES” – surely this would have been the point where you would have said you had not perceived “value for money”. If they had felt in any way awkward at the time, they certainly don’t feel awkward at conveying their feelings now.

With regards to the issues raised by the reviewer, we would like to clarify the following:-1. The hotel is most definitely located in the country which is reached by single track road. The other residents houses are in fact our own cottage which is in woodlands and another cottage behind the hotel which is screened by trees and a high wooden fence. The laundry and junk at the entrance – do they mean inside or out? What junk – we would like to know, please, what laundry – again we would like to know – there is never anything left lying around.

2.Location of the fire – it is not in an entry way – it is in the lounge – you walk by the washroom facilities, the reception area and then into the large lounge. We apologise if “other” guests were sitting by the fire, they probably would have been enjoying the fire before and after they dined in the restaurant, guests can also choose to enjoy the large separate drawing room, particularly the turret seating area.

3.Bedrooms – Dried out water damage to the ceiling above the bedroom door and on one edging of combed wall - our mistake was not bringing this to the attention of the guest when being shown into the bedroom and explain why it was still like this, we honestly did not think as it was dried out that it would cause such concern – it was due to the damage on the roof caused by the excessive snow which had been here all winter- as the snow has only just gone last week – we, like everybody else have had to wait our turn to get it repaired. We feel that the discounted rate charged for the room was “fair and just” under the circumstances.
With regards to “other peoples” photographs of the bedrooms on the first floor– these photographs are genuinely other peoples – the implication that they are not, is highly insulting – not only to us but to the guests who took the time to post them onto the tripadvisor site - should anybody wish to see additional photos of any aspect of the hotel not already on the website, we would be delighted to e-mail them, fortunately unlike the reviewer’s camera - our camera never runs out of batteries.

4.The carpeting is slightly worn on the first two steps of this particular stair, it is not excessive and the carpet is still very presentable and above all safe – we will be looking to replace this carpet.

5.Spiders, linen, weird smells, crib (traditional antique wood turned cot) – this sounds so off putting – just how many spiders did this reviewer meet – reading this anybody would be forgiven for thinking that there was a problem with spiders, we would like to assure guests that there is NOT, but a hotel is no different from our own homes – of course you will get a spider from time to time, we can’t possibly be held responsible. Linen – “dorma” range – in excellent condition perhaps it was too traditional for the reviewers taste because “city, sassy boutique hotel we are not! “Weird” smells – what were they – we would like to know? The “Classy” heaters are in addition to the wall heaters in the bedroom – when temperatures plummeted to 20 below zero in the winter most guests were glad of the additional “classy” heaters.

6. On which part of our website did this reviewer see that the hotel was refurbished only a month before their stay? We would like to know.

Silly, sarcastic “add on” comments just aren’t helpful to anybody in planning a trip, why this reviewer has written this review like this is beyond us, why this reviewer took the time to take photographs during their stay - we ask ourselves why do this – obviously because there was every intention to use it later on – the tripadvisor site is NOT an entertainment site where you can trivialise peoples livelihoods nor should it be misleading to anybody planning a visit – the majority of people will form their own opinion on this one!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

Husband and I have just spent two lovely nights at this hotel,best hotel we have stayed in for along time.A beautiful hotel in the Highlands,if you are looking for a quiet few days then this is the place.The owners Iain and Elaine are lovely people and will do anything to make your stay comfortable.The rooms are all lovely clean and well kept,bathrooms also very nice and clean towels everyday.The best I have kept for last,the food is wonderful with plenty to choose from.Elaine does the cooking herself and it is in my opinion 5star,after dinner you can sit by a real fire, what a treat.Iain also works very hard to see that everything is running smoothly very personal service better than any Hilton.
We will be back again.Highly Recommended. Norma and Alex Lawson.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank an_lawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Layton
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2010

My husband and I have just enjoyed a visit to this SUPERB hotel. It really is the perfect place to enjoy the tranquility of its beautiful location but also enjoy some of the nearby attractions.
The owners are the perfect hosts. The food is exquisite, cooked to perfection and beautifully presented. An amazing selection of wine, port and whisky is also available.
The town of Grantown on Spey is a 5 minute drive away. The Heather Centre, Smoke House and Rivak (craft centre, complete with cafe overlooking red squirrel feeding tables) all within 5 miles. The beach at Findhorn is a must - absolutely stunning. We were able to observe 9 sets of swans and numerous seals beached on the sand banks. It is also within easy reach of the Cairngorm holiday area based on Aviemore.
This hotel is certainly worth a visit - the PERFECT RETREAT!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsayarussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEst Yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Staying here brought back memories af what excellent service and high standards are all about and yet rarely found in hotels these days. The luxurious surroundings with log fires and leather sofas provided the perfect surroundings for a relaxing break with time to chat and catch up with old friends.

Everything was just perfect including food, china crockery for breakfast and the spacious bedrooms with beautiful views of the scottish countryside.

Without a doubt I would recommend this hotel as a place you must stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jinty71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dulnain Bridge
0.2 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
507 reviews
5.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
235 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
726 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,253 reviews
21.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel

Property: Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Address: Skye of Curr Road | Near Grantown on Spey, Dulnain Bridge, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3PA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey > Dulnain Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dulnain Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former home of the Lipton Tea Family, built in 1902, this elegant mansion is set in its own fabulous grounds in the heart of the Cairngorm National Park, ideally located for the Speyside Malt Whisky Trail. It has retained many original features and offers the highest standards of Scottish hospitality. Each bedroom is individually appointed to the highest standards. Open log fires and original wood paneling. Exquisite Afternoon Cream Teas, large selection of Malt Whiskies, Local Gins and Beers. Pet Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigh Na Sgiath Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing