We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT RETREAT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dulnain Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
West Layton
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“PERFECT RETREAT”
Reviewed March 11, 2010

My husband and I have just enjoyed a visit to this SUPERB hotel. It really is the perfect place to enjoy the tranquility of its beautiful location but also enjoy some of the nearby attractions.
The owners are the perfect hosts. The food is exquisite, cooked to perfection and beautifully presented. An amazing selection of wine, port and whisky is also available.
The town of Grantown on Spey is a 5 minute drive away. The Heather Centre, Smoke House and Rivak (craft centre, complete with cafe overlooking red squirrel feeding tables) all within 5 miles. The beach at Findhorn is a must - absolutely stunning. We were able to observe 9 sets of swans and numerous seals beached on the sand banks. It is also within easy reach of the Cairngorm holiday area based on Aviemore.
This hotel is certainly worth a visit - the PERFECT RETREAT!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsayarussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    40
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
266
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
WEst Yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Staying here brought back memories af what excellent service and high standards are all about and yet rarely found in hotels these days. The luxurious surroundings with log fires and leather sofas provided the perfect surroundings for a relaxing break with time to chat and catch up with old friends.

Everything was just perfect including food, china crockery for breakfast and the spacious bedrooms with beautiful views of the scottish countryside.

Without a doubt I would recommend this hotel as a place you must stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jinty71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinnor,Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2009

We have just returned from a lengthy stay at this beautiful hotel. We were fortunate enough to have(in our opinion) the best room in the hotel. it is almost a suite.. with a totally seperate bathroom with a large bath including a jacuzzi with underlights, and a private sitting area in the turret.
The food was out of this world with an extensive menu to cover all tastes. Any of the dishes can be adapted to suit the diner as all are freshly cooked in service. We enjoyed imaginitive starters,wonderful homemade soups,refreshing and unusual sorbets, succulent and varied main courses of fish,meat and poultry and deserts to die for...
The Hotel is wel placed in the shadow of the Cairngorms within easy reach of Lochs Morlich,An Eilen and Indorb and the Glenmore and Rothermurcis Estates.Grantown is just 3 miles down the road a typical small Highland town,with shops and Tea rooms and Aviemore Ski Resort is close by too with shops and bars galore.
Iain and Elaine,the owners are an absolute delight and are always on hand with a cheery word and warm welcome.
All in all a fabulous hotel in a beautiful area.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stratfords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland new zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2009

We are 60yr old New Zealanders who have travelled extensively throughout our life. Our London based son chose this hotel on our visit in September. The three of us all thorouhly enjoyed the welcoming atmosphere of the hotel with Iain being the perfect host. This would be the best hotel we have stayed in for that very fact and we would have no hesitation in recommending it to our friends. Iain went out of his way to post to New Zealand an article of clothing I had inadvertantely left in the room. On our return to New Zealand a close friend of ours discovered he had stayed at the very same hotel when he visited Scotland!!.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jow64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

On the positive: The location was perfect opening the curtain to lovely landscape & hearing the birds sing in the morning was refreshing. Our bathroom was seperate from our room. It was large & clean.

On the negative: Our room was on the second floor which could be explained as the roof space as the roof was sloped causing you to have to watch your head at all times. This was also the case with the bathroom. The locks on the bathroom door were not the easiest to operate. The matress on our bed had a dip in it. The walls were wafer thin hence you could here other peoples TV's & voices.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Awareorbeaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2009

Stayed here for the second time, first being three years ago. Same room, but had been refurbished. The food and accommodation remain first class, wish we could have stayed longer than just the one night. Superb in every way, far better than any chain or large hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StoreDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2009

We were travelling on business but wanted somewhere a bit different to stay and the hotel came up on Trip Advisor. It really was like staying in someone's private house. It was impeccably clean and beautifully presented throughout. The price was remarkably good value and the food was excellent . My only complaint was that the beds are just not good enough. They are too hard and just feel cheap. A little bit of investment in some new mattresses would be great.

Overall I would have no hesitation in booking to stay there again but next time I would try and stay longer!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coolmover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dulnain Bridge
0.2 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
506 reviews
5.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
234 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
724 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,253 reviews
21.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel

Property: Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Address: Skye of Curr Road | Near Grantown on Spey, Dulnain Bridge, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3PA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey > Dulnain Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dulnain Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former home of the Lipton Tea Family, built in 1902, this elegant mansion is set in its own fabulous grounds in the heart of the Cairngorm National Park, ideally located for the Speyside Malt Whisky Trail. It has retained many original features and offers the highest standards of Scottish hospitality. Each bedroom is individually appointed to the highest standards. Open log fires and original wood paneling. Exquisite Afternoon Cream Teas, large selection of Malt Whiskies, Local Gins and Beers. Pet Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigh Na Sgiath Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing