We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay, gracious host.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dulnain Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Just stayed here for a superb 2 nights in the Ballindalloch room. The host (owner?) Ian was so helpful throughout our stay and it appeared that nothing was too much trouble. The room was superb - large, well equipped with lovely views and a very special bedroom with jacuzzi. Coffee, teas and extras in the room, wifi, dvd and plenty of dvds to choose from. We ate in the restaurant on one night and the menu and quality were very good. Breakfast was included and really sumptuous with home made porridge and full Scottish breakfast for me. Plenty of other options existed. We both had a lovely stay in this hotel and will return when we have the opportunity. A superb example of a traditional Scottish small hotel with service to match. Richard and Patrycja.

Room Tip: First floor with view over the garden - Balladalloch certainly a great room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
There are newer reviews for Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 402 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just back from a two night stay. We were greeted by Ian and offered a sherry or whiskey before being shown to our room. The evening menu choices were great and the service was excellent. Our room was lovely and spacious and we had complimentary water and fruit. We'd highly recommend it and would love to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was our 2nd visit to Tigh na Sgiath once in May 2012 & then in July 2013. Each time the weather has been scorching hot so perhaps the Scottish Tourist Board should hire our services! We got to know about Tigh na Sgiath through their attractive website and in particular their sample menus which included gluten free. As I am coeliac and require a gluten free diet we thought this was ideal and we were not disappointed. Proprietor Elaine is the chef and prepares excellent meals with a very good choice. Each dish is marked if it is gluten free and other dishes can be easily adapted. At dinner and breakfast it was obvious that proprietors Iain and Elaine were aware of the importance of cross contamination issues.
Tigh na Sgiath is situated in an ideal location for touring surrounding areas and it is lovely to come back at the end of each day to an extremely comfortable room and a delicious evening meal.
We were there with our dog and it was nice to be able to sit with him in the lounge after our evening meal and to chat with other guests.
I would thoroughly recommend Tigh na sgiath to everyone who enjoys good food and in particular to other coeliacs in the knowledge that they can enjoy a choice of excellent tasty meals without the worry of being ill.We look forward to future visits to Tigh na Sgiath and enjoying Iain and Elaine's hospitality.

Room Tip: Cromdale is a superior room which is large and extremely comfortable. From the window you can watch...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanorGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Beautiful location, great food, brilliant service! I especially liked the complementary whisky on arrival and the Scottish breakfast was the best I've ever had. Iain was a great host and even offered my wife a coat to wear as she forgot to bring one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frazmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is a wonderful Hotel like no other. When you arrive you are offered a complementary whisky or sherry to drink in the luxurous lounge before your bags are taken up to your room. The rooms are fantastic, with fresh fruit, water and a wonderful view. The meal was out of this world - 5 courses- vegetarian, all served in crystal glasses in a loverly atmosphere. The breakfast was also excellent. A full vegtarain Scottish breakfast with veggie haggis. This hotel makes the perfect place for a romantic stay.
The only negative comment would be that it on the edge of a small village, so you need to eat in the hotel itself.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OwlNewforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Being welcomed at the door by Iain and made to feel at home instantly including Oskar the Cavalier, was the perfect start to our two night stay. Fantastic room including fruit and bottled water and a breath taking view. Nothing was too much trouble and Iain went out of his way to meet our every need. The evening meal was a delight, but make sure you book as it fills very quickly. Breakfast in the sunny and beautifully furnished breakfast room just couldn't have been better. We just can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My husband and I returned to Tigh na Sgiath for a short break and once again came away thoroughly satisfied with service and delicious food on off. We have already booked to return next year. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frances D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dulnain Bridge
0.2 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
550 reviews
3.2 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
750 reviews
5.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
676 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
567 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel

Address: Skye of Curr Road | Near Grantown on Spey, Dulnain Bridge, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3PA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey > Dulnain Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dulnain Bridge
Price Range: $108 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former home of the Lipton Tea Family, built in 1902, this elegant mansion is set in its own fabulous grounds in the heart of the Cairngorm National Park, ideally located for the Speyside Malt Whisky Trail. It has retained many original features and offers the highest standards of Scottish hospitality. Each bedroom is individually appointed to the highest standards. Open log fires and original wood paneling. Exquisite Afternoon Cream Teas, large selection of Malt Whiskies, Local Gins and Beers. Pet Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigh Na Sgiath Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing