We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance and comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dulnain Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Elegance and comfort”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Welcomed cheerfully on a damp day to a comfortable lounge with a dram of malt whisky to enhance our comfort. A rather small room, pleasantly furnished and with a comfortable bed. Unfortunate that the bath room, a huge room, had to be accessed across the landing. Dinner was prix-fixe and undoubtedly of a very fine quality. It seems a pity that there was no alternative on an a la carte basis. One does not always wish for a six course meal in the evening particularly as one grows older. A first class breakfast. The service of all the staff was impeccable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil_mary159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    40
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
46
274
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our room was large, and our private bath was even larger featuring a wonderful tub. Our breakfast was very tasty, quickly prepared and offered with a smile. We received great recommendations for local sites and restaurants. The inn overall is a wee bit cluttered and the shared space would be warmed up with a little ambient classical music as the silence can feel a little cold. There's not much to do in Grantown-on-Spey and we were wise to take recommendations for places to visit nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcgoldrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Ballindalloch for 2 nights earlier this month. I echo everything JANDDBritInParis wrote -- large, comfortable room, classic furnishings, comfortably large bathroom (Ballindalloch has jacuzzi-style tub). The food was spectacular -- half a dozen choices of starters and mains, preceeded by lovely canapes, with a soup and palate cleanser in the middle, and delicious desserts.

The real secret to Tigh Na Sgiath, though, is its host. Iain was tremendously warm, hospitable and responsive; I had mentioned a special request in an email a month before arrival, and Iain made sure not only to be ready to satisfy the request, but was quick to assure me on my arrival that he was ready to do so. 2 weeks before Tigh Na Sgiath, I stayed at the St. Regis NYC -- they fell short of Iain's warm and attentive service.

We're coming home from Scotland with 10 bottles of whisky - when the cupboard is bare, I'd love to refill it with a stay at Tigh Na Sgiath!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CO_FF_from_FT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Nom-la-Breteche, France
Level 6 Contributor
663 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the room called Ballindalloch and it was superb. Lovely little sitting area in a turret with a fabulous view over the mountains , plenty of space , beautiful decor , huge bath / shower in a nice big bathroom . Fruit , sweets , tea/coffee , biscuits , bottled water provided . Breakfast was delicious , ample buffet with super choice , really good cooked breakfast promptly and efficiently served.
The staff were so nice - it seemed as if nothing was too much trouble.
As for the dinner -well it was great. Reasonably priced (approx £40 per head) and a wine list of good not too expensive wines. The meal which you order earlier in the day is a set price for many courses - all great - canapés , starter, soup , sorbet , main course , dessert , coffee and petits fours .
Could not fault this hotel

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JANDDBritinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Sadly only stayed the one night but was a lovely peaceful evening with great food and unobtrusive hosting. The room was comfy with a very modern bathroom, and we slept very well. Breakfast was of a very high standard. Would be more than happy to return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAVISC2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I'm glad hotels like this exist in defiance of more and more chains. It can't be said that this hotel doesn't have charm and I'm sure most of it's trade is return business. It was very reminiscent of staying with my grandparents, it's for those who like a routine to the day and all the correct crockery for everything.

The welcome is warm and the local knowledge impeccable. We booked both the Ballindalloch and the Rothes; the former is a great size room with a lovely turret seating area common to many Scottish country houses however the latter is a bedroom and separate bathroom in the rafters which is a bit restrictive height wise.

The main issue I have is the curtains are woefully inadequate for long light Scottish days. Ian (the hotelier's) response to me saying the room was so bright I had woken at first light was 'Did you pull the curtains?'

I have seen others mention this so PLEASE GET NEW CURTAINS.

Room Tip: Don't stay in Rothes
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HalcyonHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff, uk
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night which was unfortunate as it was perfect. We stayed in the Speanoch room which was beautiful; comfortable four poster bed and a stunning bathroom with a jacuzzi bath and a fitted television in the bathroom wall. We were given a very warm welcome and the owners were very helpful. At the time of our visit they were not doing evening meals in the hotel but again the owners were very helpful in finding us an alternative, we believe this is temp but you should check when booking. I wish we had booked to stay longer.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dulnain Bridge
0.2 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
517 reviews
5.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
242 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
733 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,266 reviews
5.6 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel

Property: Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Address: Skye of Curr Road | Near Grantown on Spey, Dulnain Bridge, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3PA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey > Dulnain Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dulnain Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former home of the Lipton Tea Family, built in 1902, this elegant mansion is set in its own fabulous grounds in the heart of the Cairngorm National Park, ideally located for the Speyside Malt Whisky Trail. It has retained many original features and offers the highest standards of Scottish hospitality. Each bedroom is individually appointed to the highest standards. Open log fires and original wood paneling. Exquisite Afternoon Cream Teas, large selection of Malt Whiskies, Local Gins and Beers. Pet Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigh Na Sgiath Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing