We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of heaven in the highlands”

Speyside Heather Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Scottish, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: An award winning centre in the heart of Speyside, Attractions include a Gift Shop, Exhibition, Art Gallery, Antiques Shop, Traditional homely food served all day in the Clootie Dumpling Restaurant, Freshly made soups are a favourite and of course Starthspeys largest Garden Centre with a large selection of hardy plants & over 300 different Heathers from which to choose a living part of Scotland to take home with you.
Kelso, United Kingdom
1 review
“A little bit of heaven in the highlands”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

The atmosphere, the surroundings ,the squirrels and of course the many varieties of heather on sale make this a unique place to visit . I must not forget the delicious food, and. usually leave with goodies from the well stocked shop Your ' antique 'shop brings back memories of yesteryear !! So glad some people came and made this such a welcoming place in the woods.Thank you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jrap244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    57
    29
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buckie, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wedding reception”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We just called in for lunch on Valentine's Day and were on hand to see the first wedding reception since refurbishment. It was so lovely I had to take photographs and while we were there the wedding party arrived! They must surely have been delighted and the staff we spoke to were so friendly and helpful...oh, and our lunch of haggis, neeps and tatties was delicious and the helpings very generous. So if you want a really spectacular venue for a special occasion or just a bite to eat I highly recommend the Speyside Heather Centre. Don't forget to visit the on-site wild bird area and also look out for the red squirrels.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aine561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The kindest,caring,and helpful staff anywhere.”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Lovely place to visit,you can birdwatch and red squirrel watch!
Great shop with lots of knick knacks,lovely wee cafe.
The highlight of our visit was the following. We were on holiday for christmas and needed a tree,they had sold out and the lady serving,so sorry didn't get her name. Well she gave us her phone number and offered us the spare tree she give to the local primary school, she said her husband would go get it for us,how is that for christmas spirit! Typical friendly generous of Scots. As it turned out we did manage to get a tree but we were warmed by this woman and her kindness.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank enjoygoodfoodsc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Coffee could be better”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stopped in more a coffee and were delighted to see a proper barista machine. However, the machine was not in use and our cappuccinos came from an instant type machine. Fairly poor coffee with not much taste. However, the surroundings were great, with a nice shop, well stocked with useful items (such as bird food and let food) as well as food, clothing and gardening items.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rural-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very interesting visit”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We visited a few weeks ago while on a coach trip. Good cafe,lovely fresh food served by friendly staff.. Watch the wildlife while you dine. Very interesting shop and Antiques store, with an art gallery upstaires served by a stairlift for those less able. No downside at all apart from not having enough time to take it all in.
Very pleasant we will be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank June G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Speyside Heather Centre also viewed

Grantown-on-Spey, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Grantown-on-Spey, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Grantown-on-Spey, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Dulnain Bridge, Grantown-on-Spey
 
Grantown-on-Spey, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Grantown-on-Spey, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Speyside Heather Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing