We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of our favourite places” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Himeville
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of our favourite places”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

We visit Sani as often as we can, it is one of our favourite places in the Berg. We have been there 9 or 10 times and have never had a bad experience. The lodges are alway clean and very luxurious, the staff friendly and super efficient. Gareth and Sam always go out of their way to make sure we are happy and well looked after.
The kids love the animal farm and horse riding, as well as getting on the water in one of the boats, if it is just for a joy ride or some serious fishing.
Gareth is very knowledgable about fly fishing and knows where the best spots on the lake to catch the biggest trout are.
The meals delivered to your lodge and delicious and breakfast at the boathouse is one of my favourites!

We will be back! Keep up the good work Sani Lodge.
Rob & Dorz Fomison

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth M, General Manager at Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Rob, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we always love having you and your family here, hope to see you again soon. Regards, Gareth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    27
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
68
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is our 3rd stay here, 2 Anniversaries and 1 Easter Weekend. A very well run establishment. Fantastic hospitality with stunning lake and beautiful views. The accommodation is very upmarket and super comfortable, clean and everything in working order.
Super relaxing!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimmyroberts100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth M, General Manager at Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Kimmyroberts100, thats a mouthful to spell :) Thank you for your kind words, and we do love having you here, hope you can make it again for your next anniversary, I am sure we owe you some rose petals and champagne to make it extra special :) Regards Gareth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed one week in Sani Valley. It was the last part of our trip in South Africa (we are French, 2 adults and 3 children). It's one of the most amazing countryside I've ever seen. The lodges are beautifull, very confortable and nicely decorated. The lake is wonderfull, with the mountains around. My daughter rode horse in the most beautifull countryside you can imagine. If you go for a walk, you can see some zebras and different antilops running close to you. We keep a very good souvenir and we'd like to come back asap.
Nous sommes restés une semaine à Sani Valley. C'était la dernière semaine de notre voyage en Afrique du sud. C'est l'un des plus beaux et splendide paysages que nous avons vus. Les lodges sont magnifiques, très confortables et joliment décorés. Le lac est incroyable, avec les montagnes autour. Ma fille est montée à cheval dans le plus beau des paysages. Si vous allez vous prommener, vous pouvez apercevoir des zèbres et des antilopes courrir autour de vous. Nous gardons un merveilleux souvenir de ces vacances et nous aimerions y retourner un jour (le plus tôt possible...).
Delesalle Family.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stéphanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth M, General Manager at Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Stephanie, thank you for your wonderful words, hope you can make another trip to Sani Valley when you are next in SA. Regards Gareth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last year at the Bushmans lodge, stayed at Early Mist this time, was not up to standard like last year. Oven was never cleaned, no signal to phone the reception, fridge was not working 100 percent. The shower has so much mould in it, you could slip from the slime! Kitchen was full of FLYS, drains were plugged up, brown dirty marks all over the bedrooms, definately not up to the standards they use to have, the cutlery drawer had crumbs, you had to wash everything twice. The cleaning lady never even wiped the table. As for the fishing, don't think there is much trout in the lake. We won't be coming back SOON.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank KDVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth M, General Manager at Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear KDVienna

Unfortunately I do not have your contact number as I prefer to deal with this kind of response personally, I did send an email though but have not yet had a reply, unfortunately if I do not respond to this type of message timeously it makes us look bad so I have decided to respond here anyway.

My sincerest apologies for not living up to your expectations. Even though we have had so many good reviews this year, we hate to hear you were not happy with your stay and will action a bunch of things to correct the issues you experienced.

Regarding mould in the shower - I checked this today and see that it is the sealant between the tiles that has discoloured rather than there being mould. That said, we will replace all the tiles anyway to make it look better.
Regarding the drain – I’m terribly sorry about the blocked drain. We tried it fix it immediately as you know, but had to get a plumber in first thing in the morning who fixed it.
Regarding the crumbs/etc - I will do a review of the staff on duty during your stay so that we correct this issue.
Regarding the fishing - We check the “trout catch logbooks” every month and it shows 46 fish caught in April, which is fairly high for a trophy dam like ours. Obviously some days the fishing is tough - I see other fisherman also had a quiet weekend while you were here and only caught 6 fish. Out of interest, we stock 50 fish per hectare, which according to the professionals, is the correct ratio for a trophy dam.

I know that you are disappointed with us and I feel terrible about it. I hope we can make it up to you in the future and would jump at the chance to do that. Please accept my apologies again. Regards Gareth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Visited Sani Valley for the first time in about 15 years last week (15-17 April 2014), and to say that it has changed since those days is something of an understatement. The chalets built around the edge of the dam are stunning, offering first class accommodation that compliments and contrasts with the rugged beauty of the mountains which provide the backdrop to the whole experience.

We (my wife, parents and sister) stayed in Rainbow Lodge, and although the weather on our arrival could have been warmer, the welcome from Gareth and his staff could not have been. The staff were helpful and friendly, and Gareth made sure that we had all we needed to make our stay a good one, including some welcome advice on where the biggest fish in the dam could be found.

Having emigrated to the UK 15 years ago, we made a special effort to visit Sani Valley on this most recent return to SA, having enjoyed some memorable family holidays there in the past. We were not disappointed, and I'm so pleased that me English wife was able to see the place I'd spoken so fondly about, even if the weather was a little 'British'.

In short, great accommodation, friendly and welcoming staff, and most importantly, a beautiful location with good fishing to boot. Thanks to Gareth and his staff. It definitely won't be another 15 years until we return.

Regards,

The Ross Family

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth M, General Manager at Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Hi "the Ross family", yes the weather was a bit "Briish", but thank you for the kind words, and I hope you keep to your promise of not waiting for another 15yrs to come and visit us again. Hope you had fun up North :)

Regards

Gareth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed over this previous easter weekend at the early mist cottage.What a truly amazing experience. There is not much to do but it was the best holiday we have been on.From horses feeding outside the porch to the wonderful Jacuzzi and massages done in the privacy of the cottage, I recommend this property to anyone wanting a break. The lack of MTN signal was a blessing in disguise and we befriended a giant cow at the animal farm who tried to squeeze himself out to play with us (I think).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laila1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth M, General Manager at Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
So glad you had a good time, our Cow's name is Three......don't ask long story :) Luckily we have Vodacom, but sometimes as you say it is better to not have any reception! Thank you for your positive feedback. Regards

Gareth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Great place to unwind and relax. Management and staff are attentive and friendly. Beautiful location that will be hard to beat anywhere in the burg. We loved our stay. Defo be going back.
Dave and Lorraine.

Room Tip: Any room, you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveandLols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth M, General Manager at Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thanks for the great review Dave, hope your flight back was good, see you on your next trip :) Regards Gareth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Himeville
14.3 mi away
Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort
3.8 mi away
Premier Hotel Sani Pass
Premier Hotel Sani Pass
#2 of 2 in Himeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
24.8 mi away
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Moorcroft Manor
Moorcroft Manor
#1 of 8 in Himeville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
5.7 mi away
Khotso Adventure Farm
Khotso Adventure Farm
#3 of 18 in Underberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
12.9 mi away
Lake Naverone Holiday Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel

Property: Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel
Address: Sani Pass | Sani Pass Road, Himeville 3256, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Himeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Himeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel is a private nature reserve only 2 hours from Durban. It sits within the dramatic Drakensberg mountain range, borders the World Heritage Site and is the closest luxury accommodation to the famous Sani Pass. The reserve accommodates couples, families and small groups, all with the choice of full & self catering. Within the valley sits one of the largest privately owned lakes in South Africa, which is surrounded by a variety of antelope, zebra, baboons and other wildlife. It is one of the very few animal reserves in the Drakensberg, further enhanced by the vast lake which attracts unparalleled birdlife. The fishing is well renowned with regional records being attributed to the size of the lake. This is the prefect place to relax and have fun. One can indulge in a massage, be taught how to fly fish, go otter spotting by canoe, lounge in the Jacuzzi, be taken game viewing on horse back, drive a 4X4 up the famous Sani Pass, hike to the Bushmen paintings and more. Come visit. It's an experience you'll never forget! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sani Valley Hotel Underberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing