We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful property/hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moorcroft Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moorcroft Manor
Ranked #1 of 8 Himeville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful property/hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Moorcroft is a gorgeous property with a friendly staff, amazing views of the Drakensberg Mountains, and a beautiful small hotel. I was there this month (Feb 2013) with a small group after a wedding. I stayed in what appeared to be an older building (4 units) on the property which wasn't as nice as the main building (8 units) which appears to be newer. However, I still thoroughly enjoyed my time at the property.

If you want quiet, friendly, gorgeous views, great food and wine, this place is for you. If you are traveling alone and hope to meet a bunch of people you probably are in the wrong hotel and maybe in the wrong area in general. But with a group, it is perfect.

The staff is extremely accommodating and the stay went without a glitch. The staff was available when needed... always a few steps away, but I never felt they were over my shoulder.

They also have a lovely lake and a pool on the property. There is a spa on premises and they offer in-room massages. I got a 60 min massage which was very good and affordable.

I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to spend time in the Drakensberg Mountains or anyone who just wants some peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for room 1-8 which are located in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bpnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goolu K, Owner at Moorcroft Manor, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.
It was a pleasure to have you all stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    28
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
58
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed two nights at Moorcroft Manor. The hotel is situated in a fantastic location overlooking the mountains. The gardens/grounds are more than delightful they are a treasure. Our room ( 6) was exceptionally clean with outstanding views out onto the surrounding mountains. Breakfast was excellent as were the evening meals. The staff were exceedingly attentive at all times. The owners were exceptionally friendly people, during the course of both of the evenings the hosts spent time chatting with us with.

Travelling from Moorcroft Manor to the surrounding district was not a problem by car. Sadly due to the weather and limited time we did not get a chance to go over the pass.

Moorcroft Mannor Hotel is outstanding, not just in its setting, but also the nature of the management and staff, it will not disappoint.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dmf30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goolu K, Owner at Moorcroft Manor, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope you can visit again and the weather will be better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

On our december roadtrip and holiday me and hubby stopped over in the southern drakensberg and spent one night at Moorcroft Manor.
The price are a bit steep to be honnest but what a blisfull, stunning and tranquil spot!
The rooms are amazing each with their own door to the front of the hotel where a huge garden and stunning views await.
We walked down to the little dam where we watched sunset over the drakensberg, whereafter we had some drinks on the terrace before having an amazing meal in their restuarant.

After two weeks of traveling and staying in.... more affordable accommodation, we treated ourselvs for our last night and what a treat it was indeed.
The staff are super friendly and helpful. The rooms are exceptionally clean and neat and so are the bathrooms.

definately worth a visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms opens to the garden and have stunning views.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rulenetjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goolu K, Owner at Moorcroft Manor, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again .
Please check our website for special offers in winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Driving down the approach to Moorcroft Manor one can not help being impressed by the grandeur and the beautiful setting of the place. We were greeted by the cool and courteous and very efficient reception staff and immediately shown to our room with parking right outside. We had Room 8 which I believe is the best room, as it has a private patio leading out on to the pool and the huge expanse of lawn on to the lake. The lake is a landscaped attraction with benches to sit on and watch the bird life, and even a small boat to row. The pool itself is small and disappointing and needed cleaning. The view and the picturesque lake make up for it though, and it was nice just to relax on the lawn and sip tea whilst taking in the beauty of nature all around us.
The rooms are very well appointed and clean. Why do they always provide so many cushions in these places? I put them on the floor out of the way. The fan did not work properly. It was either off, or on full and it wobbled precariously. We slept with the patio door wide open. There was the usual tea and coffee station and complimentary sherry. There was a double walk in shower as well as a big bath; very luxurious indeed. The wooden toilet seat was loose and needed fixing. The lush bed covers and curtains and classic dark furniture completed the sense of luxury. There was a turnaround service which we did not need and the staff did a very good job cleaning the room.
The restaurant is a little cramped and lacking in atmosphere but the see thru wine cellar makes up for it. Our waiter was very polite and did his best to meet our fastidious demands at dinner. The food was good if perhaps a bit expensive, and served with fine linen and cutlery.The breakfast buffet was a little limited for the price, but the coffee was good and the staff did a good job keeping up with all the cooked breakfast orders.
However the best part of our stay was watching the fabulous sunsets over the Drakensberg, listening to the bird calls, and walking next to the lake in the expansive grounds at Moorcroft Manor. It is this setting that makes the place.

Room Tip: Take Room 8 if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goolu K, Owner at Moorcroft Manor, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Chris,
Thank you for your very nice review.
Our rock pool is fed with water from a borehole and is cleaned daily in the morning.being a natural pool it would not have the appearance of a blue tiled pool, which would not fit into the landscape.
To answer your question about the numerous cushions......it is mandatory for a 4 star establishment in South Africa to have four pillows and cushions in front of it.
We do hope to see you again.
Regards
Goolu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This well run and beautiful hotel is set in park like manicured gardens and is definitely worth a visit.
The bedrooms are superbly appointed and all those that we saw have double doors to a little veranda with a table and chairs overlooking the gardens and mountains; bathrooms a little dated but well maintained. Family rooms are apparently also available.

The restaurant is excellent and serves mainly locally produced fare - very attentive and professional staff throughout the hotel.

One word of warning - if you’re travelling from Nottingham Road you need a 4x4 in bad or wet weather as the road is dirt and becomes a slippery mud bath! Rather take the long route on the national road as it’s a very scenic drive and tar all the way.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BTB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goolu K, Owner at Moorcroft Manor, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank You for staying with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

The rooms are very nicely furnished. Staff are friendly and helpful and food is ok but over priced.
The entertainment area lacks personality although there is a fire place. It just seems unfinished. The bar is a really poor attempt and much more could be done to improve on this.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goolu K, Owner at Moorcroft Manor, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
I am sorry to hear your experience was average.
I would like to know what you thought was lacking in the bar.
Our guests are important to us and we are always trying to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zug
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

this was just the right place after a very exciting trip through Lesotho to relax for a day and get spoiled by the lovely stuff. moorcroft manor is located in a park like site with a nice little lake and views overlooking the Drakensberg Mountains. Food was very good and the the staff highly professional.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ML1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goolu K, Owner at Moorcroft Manor, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Thank you for staying with us.
Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Himeville
5.2 mi away
Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel
1.4 mi away
Premier Hotel Sani Pass
Premier Hotel Sani Pass
#2 of 2 in Himeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
16.7 mi away
Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Khotso Adventure Farm
Khotso Adventure Farm
#3 of 18 in Underberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.3 mi away
KarMichael Farm Guesthouse
KarMichael Farm Guesthouse
#3 of 8 in Himeville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.8 mi away
Yellowwood Cottage
Yellowwood Cottage
#2 of 8 in Himeville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorcroft Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorcroft Manor

Property: Moorcroft Manor
Address: Sani Road, Himeville 3256, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Himeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Himeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moorcroft Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are perfectly situated to provide rest for the weary but at the same time we are surrounded by places offering activities that suit young and old. Inside one experiences warm luxury and a mere step onto your verandah and the beauty of a rugged country side awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Moorcroft Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorcroft Manor Counry House Hotel Himeville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing