We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Marstrand
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Marstrand
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

I stood here for a week during a course. The location is very nice and tge hotel, one of the oldest, is very cosy and nice. The rooms are perfect for...one person but 2 people might not have enough space. The service and food are very good.There is no air conditioning but during night is OK.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oana-Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 64 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

The Grand hotel is an amazing setting for a short break. The island of Marstrand has no traffic and offers great walks, bars, restaurants and nightlife...

The hotel is amazing, the rooms clean and spacious. Our room had a balcony at the front that afforded superb views.

Can't rate it highly enough...

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Oknijbub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Very nice old-fashion but very stylish location for a small business meeting - in a very cosy and informal environment with beautiful surroundings. Would love to go their as a private person (not business). Good distance to Gothenburg, about a 45-min drive. Very service-minded staff, excellent food, lovely rooms, and close to everything. Also had a guiding of Carlstens Fortress, highly appreciated. A perfect place to stay if you come by boat, wonderful harbour. I hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gunilla O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Top service from staf , nice view over the harpor , easy travel by lokal ferry.
Close to the Castle. Real sweden old houses around. Sailing boats from all contries.
Take a room with balcony with old style . Top swedisc lunch.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boekelund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Charming hotel and fantastic cuisine. We climb up to historic Carlsten Fortress on Marstrand and look down upon the island"s colorfoul collection of wooden holiday homes and sailing boats of all shapes and sizes alongside rugged rocks and the navy blue ocean

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marilena24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Lovely room in old fashioned style. Calm on mon-tues. Morning sun on balcony & very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qatten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Marstrand is a wonderful spot on the Swedish westcoast,with its harbour,all the old beautiful houses,the Castle and the Grand Hotel.Its a fantastic enviroment there you go back 100 years.All rooms are different and thats nice.We had a fantastic wiew from our balcony.But it was dirty,hair on the bathroom floor,dust on all the frames and on the floor.No AC,No radio or music.And we had the kitchen area right under and they where very noicy till 0130 in the morning so there was not much sleep.The breakfast was very poor and so was the service.And when i told the staff about it,the defence where there like viper attack.For €260 I want a hell of a lot moore.

Room Tip: Maybee on the topfloor?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mathstellander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marstrand hotels
0.3 mi away
Marstrands Havshotell
Marstrands Havshotell
#1 of 3 in Marstrand
610 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nautic Hotell Marstrand
Nautic Hotell Marstrand
#1 of 2 in Marstrand
43 reviews
0.2 mi away
Soldathotellet
Soldathotellet
#1 of 3 in Marstrand
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Marstrand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Marstrand

Address: 2 Raadhusgatan, Marstrand 442 67, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Bohuslan > Marstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Marstrand
Price Range: $242 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Marstrand 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Marstrand offers a high-class accommodation in a genuine archipelago scenery. The house was built in 1892 as a summer residence for king Oscar II. He spent all his summers here in room number 24. The hotel has ever since that time been well known for its contemporary charm and thoughtful architecture. Today you can enjoy our four-star hotel in the stylish rooms.In our kitchen, Grand Tenan, praised classics such as Fillet of Beef Africana and Tenans´ crayfish au gratin are served. Everything is prepared according to original recipes. You can also enjoy our well-cooked à la carte with a broad variety of meet and seafood dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Marstrand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotell Marstrand Hotel Marstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing