We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable rooms, leisury SPA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marstrands Havshotell
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Marstrand
Gothenburg
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Comfortable rooms, leisury SPA”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Perfectly situated with a glimpse of sea-view. Cosy rooms. Free wi-fi, however, connection was very bad, impossible to use. Friendly staff at SPA. It was nice to be able to take a glass of wine in the pool, and the glass was of glass and not plastic. Good food and helpful staff. I visited hotel with my friends on Friday night. Loud live music made it impossible to have some conversation, and there was no more calm place available. That was a disadvantage.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Egidija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    169
    43
    21
    5
See reviews for
66
182
6
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed in double room. It was a little small with a baby cot, but really nice and the beds were really great. We did not eat in the restaurant but the breakfast was fresh and tasty. Hotell staff was friendly and really helpfull.
Marstrand is a great place to spend a weekend. Amazing nature, nice buildings, nice small shops and lots of places to eat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimenKjaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

After staying at the Avalon Hotel in Gothenburg the two previous nights, we found this hotel to be a little disappointing. The reception/check in area is cold and bland with polite but not particularly friendly staff. Our room was a very long walk from the reception and was very small (on par with budget Parisian hotels!). Bed linen, pillows, towels all very basic quality and synthetic - perfectly ok but this hotel isn't budget by any means! We had a deal that included dinner each night (there for 2 nights). We had no choice of menu but enjoyed both meals. The restaurant has a lovely outlook and staff are friendly and food of a high quality. Take your swimwear as the hotel as a good spa area to relax in. Marstrands is a fantastic place to visit - we loved the area/location and would return. Carparking and wifi are free of charge.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lottie75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We liked this hotel. It has a really nice spa with several pools and sauna. Marstrand village is a great place to spend a weekend. The nature is amazing. The hotellroom was small, so it was a good thing it was a lot to do outside. The breakfast was tasty. We went out of the hotell for dinner, and hjad a lovely meal at the resturant , first you see ,after taking the ferry to the other side.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strofe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Great location just on the water, rooms were very comforatable.

Food in restaurant was excellent with although service was only okay (this is understandable as it was off season).

Breakfast was good but when they say it finishes at 09.30 it finishes at 9.30, which may add a level of stress to your eating.

The spa is the best part of this hotel, great pool and jacuzzi although the sauna and steam rooms weren't hot enough for my liking!

All in all I would return, but be sure to get up early for breakfast and allow plenty of time for dinner:)

Room Tip: Get a room with a view, and order the 4 course set menu for dinner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COCONNO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We stayed here just one night, but had time to enjoy the very nice spa, the very new rooms with high quality beds and the very tasty four course dinner at night. The breakfast was superb as well. We can highly recommed this place!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trelde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

We stayed a night at the Havshotell. It is brand new, and everything looked and smelled clean. The service was friendly, and the dinner in the restaurant was great. The rooms were very new and clean, medium sized, nothing exceptional or noteworthy, but nothing to complain about. The spa experience was fantastic. We just had entry into the spa included in our package. It would have been nice to get the creams and salts and soaps to do their "experience" for real, but it wasn't worth the additional $80 per person. We still used the jacuzzis and saunas and whirlpools, etc. It was a relaxing indulgent few hours. We also took the trip across the bay to hike around on both of the islands. There was great hiking around the backside of the fort, and we enjoyed ourselves.

All in all, it was a great stay, but it was terribly overpriced. But then, there are very few options, so we took what we could get.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank eriktera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marstrand
0.2 mi away
Villa Maritime Marstrand
Villa Maritime Marstrand
#3 of 3 in Marstrand
26 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Marstrand
Grand Hotel Marstrand
#2 of 3 in Marstrand
53 reviews
14.7 mi away
Stenungsbaden Yacht Club
Stenungsbaden Yacht Club
#1 of 2 in Stenungsund
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Nosunds Vardshus
Nosunds Vardshus
#1 of 1 in Nosund
38 reviews
16.4 mi away
Sankt Jorgen Park
Sankt Jorgen Park
#6 of 67 in Gothenburg
646 reviews
19.7 mi away
Upper House
Upper House
#1 of 67 in Gothenburg
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marstrands Havshotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marstrands Havshotell

Property: Marstrands Havshotell
Address: 2 Varvskajen, Marstrand 442 66, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Bohuslan > Marstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Marstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marstrands Havshotell 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marstrands Havshotell is found at the outermost quay before the sea takes over. Here you will find calm, air, surprising food, a salty spa, 98 rooms and value for money packages for evenings, weekends and special occasions. On top of that closeness to the sea and the rocks mixed in with old fashion regional traditions. Welcome to a saltier Marstrand. Under 1 hour from Gothenburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marstrands Havshotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing