We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOSPITALITY, KINDNESS, all in capitals!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie Paardenburg

Brasserie Paardenburg
Amstelzijde 55, Amstel, Amstelveen, The Netherlands
020-4961210
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 93 Restaurants in Amstelveen
Cuisines: French, Italian, International
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Tilburg, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
163 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“HOSPITALITY, KINDNESS, all in capitals!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

A spontaneous family diner. Parking for one car is free and is situated aside the restaurant. At arrival our reservation was already correctly passed.
We were warmly welcomed. The staff was very kind and hospitable.
The food was tasty and nicely prepared, see the photographs and widely available.
The French fries were already cooled, but instantly changed for warm ones when asked for.
Starting on the terrace with a magnificent view over the Amstel river, we went, later in the evening, when the temperature dropped in spite of the heating, inside.
This was no problem at all.
Concluding, a very pleasant stay in a beautiful location with a dedicated staff.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Diederick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“No value for money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

I am surprised about this restaurant. Only 1 piece of bread per person. I ordered 2 appetizers, 2nd one as a main course and this was really no value for money. Small portion, only the beef tartar, no vegetables, no bread/ carbs. We got a small cup of fries and salad to share. My colleague had fish, which was ok, but his vegetables were cold. Surprising for a restaurant in this location. We got the coffee and tea for free because of the cold sides, but I am still negatively surprised about the lack of value for money.....

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chantal_Verbeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
353 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Nice terrace along the Amstel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

A very nice setting along the river Amstel in a small village called outside Ouderkerk a/d Amstel near Amsterdam. We came for the special lobster menu but were disappointed. The lobsters were too small and one of them not cooked enough. The weather was great as was the champagne. The service was slow but the crowd must have had something to do with it. There are several fine restaurants in the area and we will certainly come back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank T-Bird1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
282 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Lovely terrace for sweet summer evenings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The terrace of this restaurant is located directly at the small river Amstel in the very picturesque village of Ouderkerk, close to Amsterdam. The staff is extremely friendly. The core staff is professional, but the ones hired for busy evenings not: we noticed that several dishes first went to wrong tables. The food is OK, nothing special, but you are here for the views! Reserving for the terrace is highly recommended on sunny days.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Catharina45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
74 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Nice restaurant located in a nice place. Food is OK, but nothing special. Service a bit slow.
I have been for dinner and was dark due to winter, but I expect to repeat the experience to valuate the surroundings.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank llepafils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Paardenburg also viewed

Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
 
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
 

Been to Brasserie Paardenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing