We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Comfy bed, good bathroom, otherwise disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Amstelveen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amstelveen
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Amstelveen
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfy bed, good bathroom, otherwise disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

In no particular order:
The bed was very comfy
The man on the bar was terse and unhelpful
I was in a room with an adjoining door....which didn't shut properly. I therefore heard next door's TV very clearly
Mini bar....but nothing in it!
Good bathroom
Tea and coffee in room.... but when I requested milk sachets I was told I'd have to pay for a glass!
Bar supper (burger) very poor
Reception staff polite but not helpful ("i'm afraid I can't help as I'm the only one here"!
Beer cold and refreshing!
Breakfast adequate but unexciting - but staff delightful.
Lift out of order. Some elderly guests on 3rd floor not offered help with luggage

Room Tip: Try to avoid 302
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    111
    50
    18
    12
See reviews for
37
72
13
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

As you arrive at reception the decor immediately welcomes you to the 1970s. The receptionist reminds you that for the €220 you've paid she can't be bothered to upgrade you, and the restaurant is closed (it's 1 minute past 10pm after all).

There is nothing Grand about this place, and after walking around the area there is nothing open for miles.

Positive points? It's clean and rooms are spacious. But what good is that when the corridors feel like The Shining

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank foaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
239 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was regular nothing special. Regular room, bathroom bigger then regular & appreciate the separated toilet. No internet. Another negative is so far from the main city. Breakfast serve was very ordinary.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Janjust16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I've spent there 2 weeks for business purpose (in 2010), and it was quite good, but there were some things that made it just an average hotel for me. Amstelveen is quite far from Amsterdam, and it was a lot of time to get into the city. Taxi is expensive and there are allways traffic jams in the morning and evening. Metro is far and slow. The hotel is really good, I got the biggest room I've ever been in. There was even a huge terrace for the room. The hotel is well equipped with everything, but only the breakfast was served in the main buillding. The restaurant and all was outside, about 5 mins of walk from there. The area is very calm, which is a good possibility for a running. (I did it and really liked.)

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the corridors has a big terrace. Running to the Amstel river is a good sports a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gyugyesz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I just stayed in this hotel for business purpose close to the Amstelveen office zone. I expected some basic and standard service from a 4 stars hotel : good Internet connection, nice english breakfast (usual well served in The Netherlands), good classic restaurant or room service - in a few words, nothing special considering a 4 stars hotel.
Results :
1. terrible Internet connection : most likely a single poor ADSL shared by all guests, I was even not able to download some PDF.
2. Breakfast : less than basic, forget the beans and sausages, avoid the overburned eggs and the non-fresh orange juice.... and not before 7.15 during business days ! Not even a toaster is available.
3. Dinner : No restaurant inside and no room service : the nearest restaurant close to the hotel (200m) is the TgeregT which is very expensive for microwave cooking meals.
I don't know who delivers this hotel ranking and based on which criteria but definitively the Grand Hotel Amstelveen is just a small 3 stars hotel compared to other hotels in the surroundings.

Last but not least, there was a very large wet sport on the carpet's room near the heater... and it was even not possible to swap for another room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the backyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel as it was within walking distance of family who live in Amstelveen. Friendly staff, big clean rooms but dated. Tea and coffee making faciliies but with paper cups and no milk. Plastic glasses in bathrooms. Beds comfortable. On noisy road. Very little within walking distance. No restaurant on site although one around the corner. Vending machine available for snacks, crisps etc. No room service. Breakfast OK only, nothing special. Unable to get anything on our last day as we had to leave at 07.20 and not serving. Would not even allow coffee/toast.
Would not recommend for a visit to Amsterdam as is too far out, about 45 mins on train Better choices for tourists closer in. OK for business travellers in area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pollydoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a seriously posh hotel, very large bedrooms with separate bathroom - shower and toilet. Hotel has nice little bar and gymnasium. Bad bits no evening dinners and hotel is not on outskirts of a town so completely on its own. Their is a separate restaurant on the site bit pricey but nice food, if going to dine get hotel to book table. Really excellent bus x 2 service to Central Station Amsterdam about every 15 mins ask at reception for print out of timetable. Bus stand has a digital readout of bus times and times down as buses get closer. The system must use GSP and is really accurate. Cost 4 euros to central Amsterdam, poss return tickets are available? All in all really worth a look if visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnMacLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amstelveen
1.7 mi away
Alp de Veenen Boutique Hotel
5.8 mi away
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#112 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,814 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam
3.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Amsterdam Airport
4.5 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#111 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amstelveen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amstelveen

Property: Grand Hotel Amstelveen
Address: Bovenkerkerweg 81, 1187 XC, Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amstelveen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Amstelveen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Amstelveen 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Motor Hotel located in suburban area, close to Aalsmeer flower auction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel Amstelveen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstelveen Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing