We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amstelveen
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Amstelveen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here on business last week.

Plus points:
The staff are very friendly and helpful, they make up for most of the short comings.
Rooms are large and clean, as is the hotel.
Shuttle bus to take you to/from local offices
The sister restaurant, Tgerecht, is very good and we ate there several times.
Wifi included in room rate.

Negatives:
The hotel is in the middle of nowhere so best if you have a car if you want to visit anything, although you can take a bus from over the road into Amsterdam.
Breakfast wasn't anything special and a little spartan.
Soundproofing isn't great, especially if you have an adjoining room

Overall it's good enough for a business hotel, you probably won't spend too long there as you'll be in the office or out for dinner.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Choubi_Chin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 351 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

Pros:
- room was spacey, especially bathroom designed for simultaneous use of 2 persons.
- separated closet
- quiet area around the hotel
- really friendly staff (they allowed me to check out at 14.00)
Cons:
- 3.45euro (if you are using ov-chipcard) and 50min one way from CS on metro 51, including 10 min walk from the hotel to the metro station
- if you go to Spinnerij metro station (closest one) first 300 meters does not have organized pedestrian side.
- 5.00euro for day of internet access


Controversial:
- breakfast is served separately for corporate clients at the sunny part of the restaurant while the rest of visitors should share smaller and darker part of it, close to the kitchen.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zmej g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Nice place to stay in Amsterdam. Excellent service, parking lot just round the corner,sufficiently quiet place! Big rooms with veeeery big bathroms! Staff very helpful & girls, who serve breakfast, look like models). Only 25 minutes to the Amsterdam's downtown(straight bus to the Museum Square) and one and half hour to the Sea. Next time in Amsterdam I will stay there without doubt. I recommend this nice hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LevisDettendorfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is a pretty standard hotel in Amstelveen. The staff were all very pleasant and accommodating. The hotel is too hot and uncomfortable, yes you can adjust the radiator in the room but all areas are just uncomfortable. Rooms are very roomy and the beds are comfortable.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank pg003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Great Hotel, nice and quite, big rooms with very large bathrooms and separate loo.

If I had one Niggle the "cooked " part of the breakfast buffet not to good. But the rest of the buffet was great lots of choice.

Great staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: A long way out of Amsterdam if that is where you are visiting but easy to get to bus stop right outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parosgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was our 2nd stay at this hotel and once again we were not disappointed . The staff were very friendly the room was massive (have done another review last year with pictures ) . This time we were placed at the front of the hotel with a balcony . The hotel is on a main road but to be honest it did not bother or interupt our sleep or resting time . The hotel breakfast was lovely with a selection of meats , cheese , rolls , croissants , eggs , fruit and also sausage and beans . The staff in the restaurant were very friendly and every morning there was a pot of coffee on the table and tea on request with fresh pure orange available . The hotel is approximatley 35 minutes away from Amsterdam central but to be honest it is an experiance seeing all different town in between the hotel and city center , one in particular was Amstelveen . The metro was about a ten minute walk from hotel which is a straight walk . For those who dont mind a little walk it lovely . Buying a GVB ticket was the best thing .. We payed 16 euros each but it gave us unlimited travel on the metro and trams so the metro from the hotel was fantastic cause we could go backwards and forwards as and when required and they run every couple of minutes . All said and done this hotel is lovely and this once again was not a disappointment

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoe s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Average hotel if you are in business trip, otherwise is not well connected. I wanted to have dinner outside, and only one restaurant was outside, managed by the same property (I guess), with acceptable food, but extremely slow service. Me and my friends spent 3 hours for the dinner.
Far from the airport or Amsterdam city center, were you need to spend 40 euros for any of those destinations.
If you are in business meetings around then it is OK.
The room was enough, but a bit low average, and the view through the balcony was awful, facing a yard with rests of wood and old machinery.
The bar in the hotel is very small, and very short in offering. This is very bad considering there is nothing around.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llepafils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amstelveen
3 mi away
ibis budget Amsterdam City South
1.7 mi away
Alp de Veenen Boutique Hotel
5.1 mi away
XO Hotels Couture
XO Hotels Couture
#44 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#114 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,540 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
2.3 mi away
Hotel Cafe Restaurant Abina
Hotel Cafe Restaurant Abina
#5 of 6 in Amstelveen
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amstelveen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amstelveen

Address: Bovenkerkerweg 81, 1187 XC, Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amstelveen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Amstelveen
Price Range: $96 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Amstelveen 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Motor Hotel located in suburban area, close to Aalsmeer flower auction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Amstelveen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstelveen Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing