We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living Dutch tradition!”

Clara Maria Cheese & Clog Farm
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Clara Maria Cheese Farm and Clog Factory is set in the pastoral polder landscape just southwest of Amsterdam. This historic 160-year old farm creates an inviting atmosphere for visitors to step back into old-world charm. The original barn has been charmingly transformed into the wooden shoe factory and the cheese making room, with a spacious, nostalgic gift shop that has a large variety of Dutch souvenirs. Visitors are welcome to drop in for a tour and to taste a variety of our delicious, freshly made cheese.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking, Food available for purchase
Hambergen, Germany
Level Contributor
165 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Living Dutch tradition!”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Visiting Clara Maria will add knowledge about cheese making. You can see a short video explaining the single steps until milk is changed into cheese. And its all handmade there! You also will see the room, where the cheese is made and may be someone is working there as it was when we visited Clara Maria.
After the information part you can taste different sorts of cheese and of course buy some small loaves. If you are looking for gifts, the gift shop is well equipped.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MMOHZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    41
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Do not miss this!!! Truly amazing”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I went by myself today and wasn't sure what to expect. I asked about a tour and was asked to speak to william! He was not fussed that I was by myself and showed/helped me to make a clog. He answered all of my questions and was so lovely. He then put on a video of how to make cheese. Once the video finished I was walking around the gift shop when he came over and said oh wait you have to try the cheese. He then helped me through a tasting. The tour was free and I was given the clog I made - with my name on it!! There was no pressure to buy anything from the gift shop but it was full of amazing things to purchase so of course - I did!!

Go to clara Maria. It's to get to from amsterdam centrum on the bus (170!) only take about 40 minutes!!! Can't recommend this enough. Brilliant morning!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“CLARA MARIA CLOG WORKSHOP AND CHEESE FARM”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Clara Maria Cheese farm and Clog workshop has been a working farm since 1849 by the same family. It is situated between Lisse and Amsterdam in the Netherlands. As you enter the farm, you will see a traditional dutch farmhouse in pristine condition decorated with ornate framework on top of the windows which can easily be mistaken for awnings. Behind the farmhouse is the original barnhouse where clog and cheese is made - partly by hand and party by machine with hardly a new technology in sight. Both clog and cheese making is demonstrated in various stages to the visitors in the clogroom and cheeseroom respectively. After the demo you are taken to another big wooden barn where once only gouda would have been stored; now it is partly used to store cheese to age and the other half turned into a souvenir shop where you can buy cheese, clogs and other souvenirs before you depart. There are freesian cows on the farm, housed in a massive shed and the visitors are allowed to see and roam around freely. The demo is open not only to tourists but also to school parties. One wonders how long it will be before this craftmanship will totally disappear like others have!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CHUNARAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamberg, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Must Go!”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is a truly Dutch experience. The tour is free which is nice for those looking to be kind to thei wallets. I was lucky to be picked to make a clog during the clog portion of the tour. They engraved it for me as well. It is a nice souvenir to take home. The cheese factory portion of the tour was very interesting as well. The little souvenir shop was great as well. From traditional to cheese little gifts, you can find lots of stuff to buy! The farm was wonderful as well. Go during Spring time if you can. We got to see baby cows and chickens walking around the farm and grazing. This experience has been one of my top experience since living in Europe. So much fun and a great look into the traditional Dutch culture. The staff was very friendly.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank AylaMerisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun tour & cheese tasting”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Clara Maria is a fun place to visit to learn more about clog & cheese making, two essential Dutch traditions. After you get through the tour, you can learn more about the locally made cheese by taking part in a tasting. It's yummy and educational all at the same time. The gift shop is also fun to explore as they have a wide selection of Dutch gifts.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clara Maria Cheese & Clog Farm also viewed

Amstelveen, North Holland Province
 
Amstelveen, North Holland Province
Amstelveen, North Holland Province
 

Been to Clara Maria Cheese & Clog Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing