We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One rainy night” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Estalagem do Vale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Estalagem do Vale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sao Vicente
uk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“One rainy night”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2010

Stayed for one night during our tour of Madeira. The hotel was located on the mountainside overlooking the valley. We traveled via the coastal route to get to the hotel and found some of the roads very scary!!

The photos of the hotel and pool area do make the accommodation and facilities look larger than they actually are. The pool and gardens are quite small but the location is tranquil with tremendous views.

We booked a superior room which was very homely and comfortable. Bathroom small but adequate. High standard of cleanliness and comfort throughout the hotel. During our stay the hotel was very quiet only two other parties staying. We did not eat evening meal at the hotel as it was quite costly but found it difficult to find any good restaurants nearby so should have given the hotel a try. Breakfast was very good and cooked to order. Would return is wanting a peaceful location.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank josh213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    49
    25
    7
    2
See reviews for
30
108
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2010

We booked 4 nights but only stayed 3.We warned the hotel to cancel the first night because of the weather (no bus, no phone) and they said no problem.Finally they charged us 4 nights, everyday they said a diffrerent thing. The hotel is very far from the village, you need a transport or paying a taxi which becomes expensive day by day. Breakfast is monotonous and poor.The spa services close at 7.00pm , then if you want to use them, imagine what time you have to arrive there!!! The hotel is very pretentious, internet doesn´t work and the staff is not helpful at all.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ValenciaRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2009

Spent a couple of nights here as part of my weeks holiday in Madeira. although in the north i recommend hiring a car and getting about as the roads are very good. i used econony cars and found them both cheap and reliable. from the airport head for Funchal, Riba Brava, Sao Vicente. Just before you reach Sao Vicente look out for signs for the hotel, so just follow your nose. The hotel is very clean and welcoming and it is truly a mountain retreat! We used the car to travel all around the locality and loved the strand at Sao Vicente with its wonderful breakers and hidden pools. Both dinner and breakfast were of an excellent quality, Just remember the best rooms are with the valley view. We had chosen a mountain view room but we were upgraded at no extra cost. everything is laid back here

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wjnireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2009

This is a smashing place. Although Sao Vicente isn't the most exciting place on the island, this hotel is the perfect base to explore the north and central island, more picturesque and serene than the bustling capital of Funchal. This hotel is the equivalent of a very good 4* hotel in the UK without the pricetag. Good clean rooms, friendly, efficient staff, excellent food and good leisure facilities. Problems with drains noted by other visitors were not encountered during our stay. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to all but those who want a wild nightlife. I would however strongly encourage travellers going beyond Funchal to hire their own car .

  • Liked — cleanliness, views
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank holytrinity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2009

The hotel is on the valley side on the outskirts of Sao Vicente and it is important to catch the signs as you near the village, and not to take the lower road into the centre. Despite the all year round climate, the north is considered out of season in winter, and the hotel is always quiet in January except on Saturday night. We were never the only guests but one of our seven nights saw us being the only ones at dinner, with very few for most of the other nights. As a result we felt very well served by the fifteen or so staff who were in the hotel during our stay!! The facilities were also completely at our disposal.

The staff were excellent, the half board food was the 22euro table d'hote menu, and was good, though the dessert course was usually uninspiring. Breakfast is a la carte when the hotel is very quiet - with a whole range of options cooked to order. The bar serves snacks and cake through the day.

Our only gripe was a slight smell of drains in the otherwise spotless room. The hotel is clean and the decor has a country house ambience despite being modern.

Road communication with the south of the island is very good.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — The inaccessible position
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank moobox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockport
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2009

we came to this hotel on 27/12/08 hoping for a relaxed holiday in a good quality hotel,and this hotel delivered everthing,spotless,great food,great staff,log fire wow,shame about the weather though.one tip if you are thinking of staying here,hire a car!hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did.Don and Di,Stockport 27/12/08

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dlanodStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2008

This hotel is very worthy of its 4 stars. The accommodation, staff and the breakfasts were all excellent. Reasonably sized outdoor, heated pool (covered); the jacuzzi was faulty for three days.
Unfortunately the room we were offered had a bad smell of drains - I suspect a sewage pipe was leaking somewhere. At first we were told that they could not understand why there was a smell and that there were no more rooms available with balconies. We said we could not stay there - and miraculously another room was found that had 'just been cleaned'. Next door were some Americans who had just been throught the same experience. It seemed that all the rooms in the one block were affected, but our new room was fine and we thoroughly enjoyed the rest of the week.
The hotel and grounds are not as large as they appear on the website. We drove past it the first time.
Food is pricey - e.g. stuffed loin of rabbit is 24 euros!
The views are absolutely stunning, but you do need a car unless you intend to stay put in the hotel. It is a good location to explore the north coast and the interior of Madeira.
There is good free Internet access at the hotel, but only one PC in the lounge area. They were happy for me to unplug their PC and connect my laptop which was very helpful.
Sao Vicente is a one-horse town - without the horse! Virtually no shops and just two or three mediocre restaurants on the sea front. Best restaurant we found locally was 'Many', about a mile east along the coast. No swimming at the beach - it is just rocks with quite rough seas; Porto Moniz with its natural swimming pools is probably the best bet. There are a couple of artifical beaches with good sand on the south coast at Calheta and Machico - but it is a drive. Ribeira Brava is easy to reach, with a good road through the tunnel.
The caves at Sao Vicente are not very exciting - a few lava tubes. Not a patch on Cheddar!

  • Liked — Quality of accommodation and scenery
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Peter22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sao Vicente
13.2 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
16.2 mi away
Quinta Splendida
Quinta Splendida
#3 of 14 in Canico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
#1 of 5 in Porto Moniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
20.1 mi away
Quinta do Lorde Resort, Hotel & Marina
13.2 mi away
Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estalagem do Vale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estalagem do Vale Hotel

Property: Estalagem do Vale Hotel
Address: Sitio das Feiteira de Baixo, Sao Vicente, Madeira 9240-206, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Sao Vicente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sao Vicente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Estalagem do Vale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estalagem do Vale is a charming, historical country-house style inn that offers comfortable, “home from home” accommodation in the beautiful setting of the Laurissilva Forest, one of the most idyllic places on Madeira Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Estalagem do Vale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Estalagem Do Vale
Estalagem Do Vale Hotel Madeira Islands/Sao Vicente

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing